Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-02-2016, 02:07 PM
reflekshun reflekshun is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Default Single pan knob on a stereo channel?

I'm looking for a way to use a single pan knob on a stereo channel - the way it works in DAWs such as cubase or logic.

I love that pro tools has two pan knobs for a stereo track, but I also sometimes need to use a single pan knob to get my desired result. A single pan knob relies on pan law which is not possible to easily recreate with the built in multi-mono 'trim' plugin in pro tools. See here to get what I mean:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pan_law

If you try it yourself you'll see quickly how much of a nightmare it is to slide the signal between right and left while keeping levels balanced. Are there any 3rd party plugins that have a simple panning function or is there a way in Pro Tools to have this kind of control over panning?

PS - I have tried linking pan knobs in Pro tools, a great feature but it is a completely different result. A single pan knob attenuates left or right signal level depending on the pan position.

Thanks for any help!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-02-2016, 02:26 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,267
Default Re: Single pan knob on a stereo channel?

You can link the panners
https://youtu.be/5QZyH_bO0LI
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-02-2016, 02:35 PM
reflekshun reflekshun is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Default Re: Single pan knob on a stereo channel?

Thanks amagras, I mentioned in the original post that I have tried linking panners, this has a very different end result / function to a single pan knob.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-02-2016, 02:48 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,267
Default Re: Single pan knob on a stereo channel?

Oops, missed that, sorry.
There are 3 different ways to link the panners, are you saying that none if them worked for what you want?
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-02-2016, 02:58 PM
reflekshun reflekshun is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Default Re: Single pan knob on a stereo channel?

No worries amagras! It's difficult to explain / understand to be honest!

A single pan knob balances the L and R channels by attenuating L or R channels.

Dual pan knobs treats the L and R channels as if they are on separate tracks. So the L and R channel information will always be present and never attenuated. If you pan both L and R to the left for example, the R channel information will be bunched up over the L channel. This is not good for a lot of stereo sources, especially when they have ambience / reverb on them.

I hope this makes sense but it is really difficult to explain!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-02-2016, 03:37 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,267
Default Re: Single pan knob on a stereo channel?

Why don't you try routing your stereo track into 2 mono busses and control each channel's volume separately? I hope you find what you're looking for, there are some panning plugins out there too.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-02-2016, 03:48 PM
reflekshun reflekshun is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Default Re: Single pan knob on a stereo channel?

Can you suggest any panning plugins? I tried flux stereo plugin but even the single pan knob on that does dual panning haha.

I'll look at separating the audio files and controlling their volume separately. Though I would need to create a stereo buss for the audio to go back into if I wanted to do any further processing on the stereo track.

I'm currently using the Multi-mono gain plugin from Avid which is close enough to what I want, just terrible to work with when you want to go through an 80 track mix project and quickly play with panning and get a rough mix together! Gonna go on a panning plugin hunt! Any suggestions welcome!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-02-2016, 04:00 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,267
Default Re: Single pan knob on a stereo channel?

Are you talking about Avid Trim plugin?

I've heard good things about Goodhertz panpot but it's only for Mac. Hofa4U have some stereo tools too and A1audio has one free but I don't know if they will work for what you want. Good luck, hopefully some folks with more understanding of the topic than myself can help
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-02-2016, 04:07 PM
reflekshun reflekshun is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Default Re: Single pan knob on a stereo channel?

Awesome suggestions, thank you so much amagras they look like they are exactly what I'm looking for. Can't thank you enough!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-02-2016, 04:26 PM
reflekshun reflekshun is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Default Re: Single pan knob on a stereo channel?

A1Stereo Control has just about every option you'd want with pan controls. Highly recommended for anyone who's looking for a solution to this, and it's free:

http://www.alexhilton.net/A1AUDIO/in...1stereocontrol

Thanks to Amagras for suggesting this one. Hard to find these kind of things!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MC Mix-Stereo channel right side panning priorytools Artist Series 3 08-29-2012 09:54 AM
LFE channel panning? czorro Post - Surround - Video 6 09-09-2010 09:49 AM
Cueing Stereo Channel with one Wedge and Reversing Phase on a Stereo Aux 0675477985@orange.fr VENUE Live Sound Systems 1 11-20-2008 04:29 PM
bouncing problems with regular & automated panning Marvin the android 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 02-22-2008 03:18 AM
Can't insert a stereo plug-in without creating a stereo aux channel?! Kickin.da.speaker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 03-22-2002 01:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com