Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-05-2016, 06:08 PM
Mikey MTC Mikey MTC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 552
Default Advice needed for ICON problem

I've got a 32 fader D-Control setup here laid out as fader pack > centre section > fader pack.

As of yesterday the left fader pack no longer displays any LEDs at all, except for CF which must be on a separate circuit.

So to be clear - the faders and pots are fine and working perfectly but aside from that, it LOOKS like it's dead because there's no lights. Using the utility LED test, there's no red or yellow or green and the meters on the bridge are dead too.

So I'm assuming it's a single failure somewhere that drives all the LEDs but wouldn't mind a confirmation if someone knows for sure, possibly having seen this before.

I'm possibly going to look at selling the big fella soon anyway. I still love it to bits but it's just too big for my current digs. So if anyone's interested or knows someone interested, I'd be happy to start a dialog. I'd pay for whatever repair is required with the authorised technician here in Australia to get it ship-shape before selling.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-05-2016, 06:36 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Advice needed for ICON problem

yes, the all the LEDs are on a single 5V PSU
sounds like yours went bad
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-05-2016, 08:39 PM
Mikey MTC Mikey MTC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 552
Default Re: Advice needed for ICON problem

Thanks Craig. Grrrr!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-06-2016, 01:32 PM
francois francois is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 811
Default Re: Advice needed for ICON problem

Hi Mikey Do it yourself it is very easy to replace ,avid has pdf on how to do it
Changed all my PSU on mine and I m not a tech
__________________
PT 2018.4 -HDX1- OSX 10.14.5-MacPro 12 core 3.46
64 Gig ram- D-command 24-Trinnov Dmon
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-06-2016, 03:49 PM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 862
Default Re: Advice needed for ICON problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by francois View Post
Hi Mikey Do it yourself it is very easy to replace ,avid has pdf on how to do it
Changed all my PSU on mine and I m not a tech
Did they all fail around the same time?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-06-2016, 07:57 PM
Mikey MTC Mikey MTC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 552
Default Re: Advice needed for ICON problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by arche3 View Post
Did they all fail around the same time?
Yes. So clearly one single part or group of parts has failed.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-06-2016, 07:59 PM
Mikey MTC Mikey MTC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 552
Default Re: Advice needed for ICON problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by francois View Post
Hi Mikey Do it yourself it is very easy to replace ,avid has pdf on how to do it
Changed all my PSU on mine and I m not a tech
Thanks Francois.
I looked at the tech manual and I think you're being too hard on yourself! It doesn't look like an easy job for an unskilled idiot like me at all!

I can see a good few hours there with lots of little screws littered everywhere. I might try and find a techy friend who I can wrangle in to help.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-06-2016, 09:57 PM
francois francois is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 811
Default Re: Advice needed for ICON problem

it's only screws no major soldering . I had 2 fail at 3 month interval so I decided to change them all so i don't have to open them for a while
__________________
PT 2018.4 -HDX1- OSX 10.14.5-MacPro 12 core 3.46
64 Gig ram- D-command 24-Trinnov Dmon
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-06-2016, 10:40 PM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 862
Default Re: Advice needed for ICON problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by francois View Post
it's only screws no major soldering . I had 2 fail at 3 month interval so I decided to change them all so i don't have to open them for a while
Is the power supply an off the shelf part from an electrics supplier? Or did you have to get it from avid?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-07-2016, 12:16 AM
PTPerson PTPerson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Down Under
Posts: 559
Default Re: Advice needed for ICON problem

Speak to Jeff Knight at Technical Workshops,

He's a nice cat and knows his stuff.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any driver updates needed for ICON and PTHD10? kdramsey ICON & C|24 5 11-05-2011 06:31 AM
ICON advice for a colleague macaholic ICON & C|24 7 03-03-2011 03:45 PM
Advice needed! opethrockz Pro Tools 9 3 02-08-2011 07:07 PM
Worldclock Problem !!! Advice needed ! jeam25 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 03-11-2008 08:22 PM
New Icon D-Control - Install Advice? GlennR01 ICON & C|24 0 01-13-2007 01:57 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com