Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-05-2016, 10:18 AM
joelrockstar19 joelrockstar19 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 50
Default Upgrading setup from Pro Tools 8 to 12

Hi everyone, I'm planning on buying the PT12 upgrade from LE here. I'm running my current setup through a 2009 Core Duo iMac, but I want to setup PT12 on my 2015 Macbook Pro (2.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, quad core). Is this laptop going to run well with my Mbox 3 Pro assuming I buy the FW adapter? Also, I am using a FW ext hd, would i be better off these days finding a new thunderbolt drive / usb3 etc? I admit I am skeptical that daisy chaining my hd and Mbox through a conversion cable will work very well. Thanks in advance
__________________
15" Retina Mid-2015 Macbook Pro
2.2 GHz Intel Core i7, 16GB DDR3 RAM
macOS Sierra 10.12.6
Mbox 3 Pro - Pro Tools 2018.1.0
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-05-2016, 10:44 AM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,321
Default Re: Upgrading setup from Pro Tools 8 to 12

The Thunderbolt firewire adapter works at least as well as firewire did on a motherboard. USB 3 is more than fast enough and I'd look for it to be supported a lot longer than firewire.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-05-2016, 10:52 AM
joelrockstar19 joelrockstar19 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 50
Default Re: Upgrading setup from Pro Tools 8 to 12

Thanks for the quick reply. USB3 sounds great to me too, I'd like to keep with something more portable instead of my FW hd. I do have a USB3 dongle, but are any portable drives nowadays sufficient as an external hd?
__________________
15" Retina Mid-2015 Macbook Pro
2.2 GHz Intel Core i7, 16GB DDR3 RAM
macOS Sierra 10.12.6
Mbox 3 Pro - Pro Tools 2018.1.0
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-05-2016, 12:14 PM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,321
Default Re: Upgrading setup from Pro Tools 8 to 12

I use a G-tech
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-05-2016, 12:31 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Upgrading setup from Pro Tools 8 to 12

get the TB>FW adapter to have for when you need it
if you are not going to be moving around a Dock like his is nice to have http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16815108024

Run your mBP3 until you find something else you like
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would you buy this setup? Upgrading from 10 to 12 on Mac. cknific Pro Tools 12 4 12-04-2015 02:17 AM
MIDI SETUP takes long to SETUP and doesnt SETUP DartagnanSosa87 MIDI 3 01-28-2013 12:02 PM
Upgrading from Pro Tools 7.4 to Pro Tools 9 - missing iLok authorization Peoples888 Pro Tools 9 8 01-13-2012 09:04 AM
Upgrading to Pro Tools 8 o_c_d 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 11-27-2009 10:41 PM
Upgrading My Setup... Have Questions CallitSleep 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 08-18-2007 07:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com