Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-07-2019, 04:39 PM
jglunt2112 jglunt2112 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: San Simon, AZ
Posts: 155
Default SSD + 7,200 RPM drive

I just bought a SSD to install as my C drive in my Windows 10 computer. My data/audio drive is a 7,200 RPM drive, already in the computer. It just dawned on me to ask, will these two be compatible? Unfortunately, I can't supply a Sandra report because that computer is down at the moment while I do some other work on it. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-07-2019, 05:04 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,663
Default Re: SSD + 7,200 RPM drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by jglunt2112 View Post
I just bought a SSD to install as my C drive in my Windows 10 computer. My data/audio drive is a 7,200 RPM drive, already in the computer. It just dawned on me to ask, will these two be compatible? Unfortunately, I can't supply a Sandra report because that computer is down at the moment while I do some other work on it. Thanks.
As long as they're formatted correctly there will be no issue running the two types of drives together. A lot of people run mixed-drive systems with ssd's and spinners. Check out my profile to see the system I run.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-07-2019, 05:08 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,155
Default Re: SSD + 7,200 RPM drive

No compatibility problems, but what kind of drive is the spinner? If it's a green or similar drive - powers down - not good. Best spinner: Western Digital Caviar Black with 64 mb cache.

I have 2 SSDs and a WD Black in my W10 Audio computer and 1 SSD and 2 WD Blacks in my Work computer.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-07-2019, 05:24 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,442
Default Re: SSD + 7,200 RPM drive

You have exactly what make/model/spec SSD drive? Connected exactly how? Via SATA II? SATA III? PCIe 2? PCIe 3? Different types of SSDs have performance can vary by factors of several times. You may be better off running everything, including sessions, on that SSD drive if it is a super fast. PCIe/NVMe drive,

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 09-07-2019 at 07:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-07-2019, 08:53 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,917
Default Re: SSD + 7,200 RPM drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
.... You may be better off running everything, including sessions, on that SSD drive if it is a super fast. PCIe/NVMe drive,
And large enough as you would need atleast 1TB to run PT/OS/Recording but the Sample Libraries might be best to run on any good second drive like a T5 SSD or if you cant afford a larger SSD a WD Caviar Black spinner in a USB3 case as the libraries usually take up lots of space on the drives and that space may be needed to use for recording instead
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-07-2019, 08:57 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,442
Default Re: SSD + 7,200 RPM drive

... or I know maybe folks could actually just state clearly what they have and then requests for help would have a chance of getting get coherent useful suggestions....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-08-2019, 01:45 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,109
Default Re: SSD + 7,200 RPM drive

What's the fun there? Asking exact question is half the answer already.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-08-2019, 05:13 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,663
Default Re: SSD + 7,200 RPM drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
You have exactly what make/model/spec SSD drive? Connected exactly how? Via SATA II? SATA III? PCIe 2? PCIe 3? Different types of SSDs have performance can vary by factors of several times. You may be better off running everything, including sessions, on that SSD drive if it is a super fast. PCIe/NVMe drive,
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
... or I know maybe folks could actually just state clearly what they have and then requests for help would have a chance of getting get coherent useful suggestions....
Calm down Darryl. The op isn't asking about performance per se but will drives of two completely different ways of operating work together in the same system. That's all. Sometimes people just ask simple questions without any further needs/wants. Sometimes they just have simple needs - not everybody is in this to work at a professional money-making level you know.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-09-2019, 10:20 AM
jglunt2112 jglunt2112 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: San Simon, AZ
Posts: 155
Default Re: SSD + 7,200 RPM drive

Thanks to each of you for your help, especially to musicman 691. You hit the nail on the head. Here's a link to the SSD I purchased as my program drive. https://www.crucial.com/usa/en/storage-ssd-mx500

The spinner is a WD. Specs per receipt from the computer's purchase in 2013 are as follows: 1 TB HARD DRIVE -- 32M Cache, 7200 RPM, 6.0Gb/s - Single Drive. It is NOT a green drive. (Sorry, I should have stated that in advance.) The system is Windows 10 version 1903. I'm running Pro Tools 12.5. CPU is an Intel 17-3770 (I think. I upgraded that from the original i5 and, as I stated, I cannot currently access that computer.) If I have to, I could buy a matching SSD for my data drive, but I'm an old guy living on social security, so I'd rather not spend the money. Know what I mean?

Will they work together? Perhaps the best way is for me to just try. Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-09-2019, 11:16 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,663
Default Re: SSD + 7,200 RPM drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by jglunt2112 View Post
Thanks to each of you for your help, especially to musicman 691. You hit the nail on the head. Here's a link to the SSD I purchased as my program drive. https://www.crucial.com/usa/en/storage-ssd-mx500

The spinner is a WD. Specs per receipt from the computer's purchase in 2013 are as follows: 1 TB HARD DRIVE -- 32M Cache, 7200 RPM, 6.0Gb/s - Single Drive. It is NOT a green drive. (Sorry, I should have stated that in advance.) The system is Windows 10 version 1903. I'm running Pro Tools 12.5. CPU is an Intel 17-3770 (I think. I upgraded that from the original i5 and, as I stated, I cannot currently access that computer.) If I have to, I could buy a matching SSD for my data drive, but I'm an old guy living on social security, so I'd rather not spend the money. Know what I mean?

Will they work together? Perhaps the best way is for me to just try. Thanks again!
Tell me about Social Security - both the wife and I have been on it for a few years now. So spending money is tight as I don't make a hell of a lot through the recording avenue. Oh I get the odd commission but that's it.

Back to the topic - those drives will work together just fine. Just make sure that they're formatted for regular Windows use. I wouldn't trust a new drive to be formatted the way you need it for Windows and it doesn't take long to format a drive.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!

Last edited by musicman691; 09-09-2019 at 03:34 PM. Reason: changed Mac OSX references to Windows
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MacBook Pro models for PT11+a 2nd internal drive-no external drive needed VRW macOS 1 09-22-2014 02:35 PM
"DAE can't get audio from drive fast enough. Drive may be too slow or fragmented, or iminzayne 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 16 04-15-2010 11:28 PM
Is an external drive superior to a 2nd internal drive for recording with Protools? beyoutofull1 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 4 03-03-2010 07:08 AM
Why is my LaCie external 80 gig, 7200 rpm firewire hard drive an invalid drive to be Fucius General Discussion 4 03-20-2002 12:26 AM
Hard Drive Performance Dual Processors and Dedicated Audio Drive j_jayzatuc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 08-03-2000 06:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com