Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Old 06-09-2005, 11:50 AM

Default Question about Master Fader levels- help

Hopefully I can explain this so that it makes sense. Forgive me, I am fairly new to home recording. After I record a song, when opening a master fader track I find that if I set its level so that it is as hot as possible without it going into the red, after I bounce to disk the result is a track with a volume not as high as I would like, at all, its quite low actually. So what I've done is set the master fader level so high that the levels go into the red(usually considerably higher than 0db) and I get more volume, and I don't hear any clipping or distortionn or anything bad. But I guess I'm wondering if this is still a bad idea and if I should just stick the low levels, and count on mixing and mastering elsewhere to raise the levels? And is it unusual that the levels tend to be kinda low even though the master fader is showing hot levels? Is there something else I may be doing wrong? Also, if I'm in the red, why am I not hearing clipping or anything wrong, should I not worry and just do what I'm doing, cause the stuff is sounding quite good any way? I've played it for people and they applaud the sound quality. But I do have a friend who told me to always keep the master fader at 0db, or else you get distortion, is that true? is that something that's noticeable to the ears, and necessary to prevent? As you can see I am a novice.
Old 06-09-2005, 12:13 PM

Default Re: Question about Master Fader levels- help

you need a limiter on that master fader then you can bring up the average level without it digitally clipping. try maxim from digidesign or the L1/2 from waves.