Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-16-2010, 07:44 AM
pwillis pwillis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 13
Default Digi 02 noise, noise, noise!

I have this constant din of really annoying (and loud) digital noise which sounds like ever changing, badly tuned orchestra of mice inside my Digi 02 unit. Squeaking, squawking, constantly fluctuating, sometimes pulsing noise.

Doesn't matter if PT is open or not.

Signal flow . . .

Mac G5 > Firewire>Digi 02> Powered Monitors.

Thoughts?

Thanks in advance!

P
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-16-2010, 09:13 AM
BRH BRH is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 733
Default Re: Digi 02 noise, noise, noise!

First....what is a Digi02?
Try moving your FW cable around.
Possible RF interference from unbalanced cables.
Possible AC problem.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-16-2010, 01:03 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,642
Default Re: Digi 02 noise, noise, noise!

This could be a couple things - a bad power supply is most likely. There was an Apple program a few years ago to get them replaced under warranty, but I'm not sure you can still do that.

I would call them and find out. Here's more info:

http://support.apple.com/kb/TS2033?viewlocale=en_US
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-16-2010, 02:09 PM
pwillis pwillis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 13
Default Re: Digi 02 noise, noise, noise!

Interesting comment about the Apple power supply. Now that you mention it, it kinda makes sense based on a coupe of other problems I've been having. I'll definitely check out the link. Thanks so much!

BRH . . . I've moved and replaced firewire cables and power cables with no such luck. An A/C problem is always possible especially since I'm in a residential area and the electrical is a little dated. Either way, it sounds as though both responses here are suggesting a power issue so, that'll be my start point.

Thanks so much to you both!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
White Noise, distortion, pops, loud noise in Pro tools 9 and mbox mini Bigpit Windows 1 09-09-2013 10:26 AM
Audio Recording Noise Test on a new laptop.How do I reduce fan/system noise? PeterGreen Pro Tools 10 24 01-23-2013 07:38 AM
Attn: Drumkit from Hell experts: noise noise noise Smelt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 07-30-2003 07:31 AM
Noise floor (Signal to Noise Ratio)...Please explain this term Roy Howell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 10-05-2001 01:54 AM
Fast panning produces noise like a noisy pan pot! Is this "Zipper noise?" Jules Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 03-02-2000 04:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com