Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-06-2006, 03:22 AM
martian martian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: hong kong
Posts: 337
Default Re: AVtransfer ? fairlight MT file to PT5?

If anyone is interested and able I have placed an MT and matching ML file in a folder at the above ftp

I am a bit concerend because the prodigy will embedd a mix file in the MT file- would love to see it working before I shell out on a PC just to see the demo and find out it doesn't .... don't call me cynical but if there's a bit of bother crossing files between Avid and Protools as many recent threads seem to suggest.

In an earlier comment someone suggested AVtransfer and digitranslator - digitranslator is 500 bucks but is it necessary? AV transfer is a bit more shock proof at converting between differering OMF's and avids and Fairlights and AKai etc.... If it adds a PT format it would make my day and maybe somebody else's here !!!!

Fairlight is ancient history now I know but ome versions of Fairlights had something called "file exchange" - and provided your files didn't have "illegal " characters it would export ( slowly) PT 5 sessions from your standard fairlight project-

Anyways would appreciate it if some one could spend 10 mins downloading and seeing if they do work...

cheers

martin
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-10-2006, 11:33 AM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,169
Default Re: AVtransfer ? fairlight MT file to PT5?

Had a chance to download your project and it works fine in AVTransfer (I sort of thought it would as it is a Fairlight product!). I don't have the ProTools plug but I could read the ML/MT fine and output any of the options I do have.

Pete Gates
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-10-2006, 08:38 PM
martian martian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: hong kong
Posts: 337
Default Re: AVtransfer ? fairlight MT file to PT5?

so the ML file is definitely needed?

I'm going to have to see if I can get a PC - tho I'm wondering about those new imac's - maybe windows will run on them and I'd be away!!!

looks like it's 1000 US $ to buy the whole thing and export to protools!

thanks pete!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-10-2006, 10:58 PM
minister's Avatar
minister minister is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,807
Default Re: AVtransfer ? fairlight MT file to PT5?

would VIRTUAL PC work?
__________________
Tom Hambleton CAS
Ministry of Fancy Noises
IMDb
Undertone on Facebook
Undertone Custom Sound Libraries

"Groupable markers would be epochal!"
-Starcrash
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-12-2006, 05:36 AM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,169
Default Re: AVtransfer ? fairlight MT file to PT5?

>>so the ML file is definitely needed?
Yes, AVTransfer can only read/write ML files though it does get the raw audio it needs from the MT file. I don't know why it can't read/write MT files directly - it is a drag.

I don't know if it can run under Virtual PC, I don't have that on my Macs.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-12-2006, 06:20 AM
martian martian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: hong kong
Posts: 337
Default Re: AVtransfer ? fairlight MT file to PT5?

turns out an old colleague of mine is now working for AVtransfer as a programmer - moved from editing cartoon network promo's to hard core C++

anyways upshot is they have just put out a beta version which reads the MT file directly! Cos it did seem odd not reading the MT file directly especially as the audio was inside the MT file ... maybe they were trying to tie you up to a fairlight ( digidesign'd never do something like that (cough cough !) - I remember AV transfer pretty much opened most horror permutations of OMF and reconformed them - Also the beta has the protools 5 export option too.. as well as AAF

I'm going to see if it will run on Virtual PC cos that would be terrific if it did.. He said some versions do on older Virtual PC .. waiting to hear more..

cheers

mart
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
omf to fairlight Fritz Post - Surround - Video 4 07-18-2005 09:51 AM
Fairlight MFX v Protools HD T666 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 43 02-23-2005 01:54 PM
Fairlight anyone? Strider General Discussion 6 02-25-2002 10:24 AM
Exchanges with Fairlight J. S. Bach Tips & Tricks 1 07-13-2000 12:28 AM
Exchanges with Fairlight J. S. Bach General Discussion 0 07-12-2000 07:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com