Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-03-2012, 07:19 PM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,254
Default Which installer for 10.3?

So which installer to you use to install 10.3? The instructions say that 10.3.1 is a FULL installer. Is that accurate?

2. Is there any reason that I even need 10.3 with a good running 10.2 with an HD Accel system?

Thnx, G
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer/Musician
http://www.gregives.com
https://pro-labs.imdb.com/name/nm1170521/?ref_=sch_int

Protools 2021.3 Ultimate HD Native Thunderbolt Avid MTRX
Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Mojave 10.14.6, Digital Performer 9.5.2, Logic Pro X 10.6.1

Last edited by DigiTechSupt; 10-04-2012 at 09:22 AM. Reason: Moved from "10.3.1 install issues?" since that thread was about a specific issue.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-03-2012, 08:23 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,792
Post Re: 10.3.1 install issues?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gives View Post
So which installer to you use to install 10.3? The instructions say that 10.3.1 is a FULL installer. Is that accurate?
Guessing you meant... uninstall 10.3? You'd typically use the Uninstaller that was installed with your current version. Look in Pro Tools > Pro Tools Utilities.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gives View Post
2. Is there any reason that I even need 10.3 with a good running 10.2 with an HD Accel system?
Thnx, G
We recommend checking the Read Me to see what was fixed so you can decide if you would benefit from the update. If not, and 10.2 is working well for you, then it's fine to stick with that version.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-03-2012, 10:21 PM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,254
Default Re: 10.3.1 install issues?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
Guessing you meant... uninstall 10.3? You'd typically use the Uninstaller that was installed with your current version. Look in Pro Tools > Pro Tools Utilities.



We recommend checking the Read Me to see what was fixed so you can decide if you would benefit from the update. If not, and 10.2 is working well for you, then it's fine to stick with that version.
Nope.. I was asking if I am on 10.2 which installer should I use?
I have not installed either one. Thnx, G
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer/Musician
http://www.gregives.com
https://pro-labs.imdb.com/name/nm1170521/?ref_=sch_int

Protools 2021.3 Ultimate HD Native Thunderbolt Avid MTRX
Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Mojave 10.14.6, Digital Performer 9.5.2, Logic Pro X 10.6.1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-04-2012, 09:20 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,792
Post Re: 10.3.1 install issues?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gives View Post
Nope.. I was asking if I am on 10.2 which installer should I use?
Sorry I missed your question... regardless of what version you are on, after uninstalling your current version you would run the 10.3 installer or the 10.3.1 installer depending on which version you want.

Quote:
which installer to you use to install 10.3?
The 10.3 installer from this page.

Quote:
The instructions say that 10.3.1 is a FULL installer. Is that accurate?
Yes, 10.3.1 is a full installer (not an updater).
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-04-2012, 12:07 PM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,254
Default Re: 10.3.1 install issues?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
Sorry I missed your question... regardless of what version you are on, after uninstalling your current version you would run the 10.3 installer or the 10.3.1 installer depending on which version you want.

The 10.3 installer from this page.

Yes, 10.3.1 is a full installer (not an updater).

Thnx, An reason for me to update. I can't really see from the "Read Me" for my uses. Everything is pretty solid here with Lion 10.7.4 and and HD Accel system. Don't want to rock the boat -:)
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer/Musician
http://www.gregives.com
https://pro-labs.imdb.com/name/nm1170521/?ref_=sch_int

Protools 2021.3 Ultimate HD Native Thunderbolt Avid MTRX
Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Mojave 10.14.6, Digital Performer 9.5.2, Logic Pro X 10.6.1
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-04-2012, 12:13 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,792
Post Re: 10.3.1 install issues?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gives View Post
Thnx, An reason for me to update. I can't really see from the "Read Me" for my uses. Everything is pretty solid here with Lion 10.7.4 and and HD Accel system. Don't want to rock the boat -:)
If your system is performing well for your workflow, and there isn't a specific change listed in a later release's Read Me that applies to you, then it's perfectly acceptable to stay on your current installed version.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-05-2012, 08:02 AM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,254
Default Re: 10.3.1 install issues?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
If your system is performing well for your workflow, and there isn't a specific change listed in a later release's Read Me that applies to you, then it's perfectly acceptable to stay on your current installed version.
Thanks for your comments! That's my thinking also. I love the updates and am a fan of them, but not having any problems at all with all of the projects I do here.

G
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer/Musician
http://www.gregives.com
https://pro-labs.imdb.com/name/nm1170521/?ref_=sch_int

Protools 2021.3 Ultimate HD Native Thunderbolt Avid MTRX
Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Mojave 10.14.6, Digital Performer 9.5.2, Logic Pro X 10.6.1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HFS+ installer 10.2 Audio_Vision Windows 1 07-11-2012 03:56 PM
The installer was unable to launch the PACE system files installer - Help please buzz302 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 3 02-14-2012 09:05 AM
PT 8.0 installer mbkorn 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 05-26-2011 11:12 AM
Is there a seperate Windows 7 64 PT 8 installer (other than WinXP installer) RuffinMedia 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 05-26-2010 09:43 PM
ProTools Installer/Un-Installer Bug? thias Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-18-2006 08:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:23 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com