Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Old 06-29-2020, 03:57 PM

Default Keyboard wont make sound in MIDI-USB

I'm new to Pro Tools, and I can't figure out why my Yamaha M08 keyboard won't make any sound when it's hooked up with a USB. I'm trying to record in MIDI so that I can use Virtual Instruments instead of the preset sounds on the keyboard. I downloaded the appropriate driver (I know because the keyboard was making sound when I had Pro Tools First, but when I upgraded to the full version of Pro Tools 12 it stopped working). I also tried:

- Making sure the MIDI Thru box is checked in Options
- Making sure my device is recognized in Input Device Drivers and that all the boxes are checked
- Making sure the Track Enable button is on on my Instrument Track
- Making sure my Device Driver is recognized in my Device Manager on my computer
- Using MIDIOX to detect the signal of my keyboard (it does)
- Making sure my keyboard is on lol
- Making sure MIDI editor is working on its own
- Making sure my playback engine is set up correctly
- Making sure i can still record in audio by plugging my piano into my interface

There aren't any levels shown when i hit the keys. I'm fuming at this point, but I'm sure that it's some noobie mistake I'm making so please help me figure this out so that I can regain my sanity thanks
Old 06-29-2020, 04:03 PM

Default Re: Keyboard wont make sound in MIDI-USB

Correction: I'm actually using Pro Tools 2020, don't know if that changes anything though
Old 06-29-2020, 04:46 PM

Are you trying to record MIDI to a MIDI track?... if so you won't hear anything.