Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Old 06-09-2020, 02:34 AM

Default Slate Digital VMR

HI , i am an experienced musician but a relative novice when it comes to Pro Tools. I have been looking into Slate digital's VMR plugin software but i am am not savvy enough to know if this is the right move. Can anyone please let me know if this is a worthwhile product to incorporate into my system or are the Plugins that come with PT just as good ? Cheers, GJM
Old 06-09-2020, 02:47 AM

Default Re: Slate Digital VMR

PT plugins do the job but dont really add colour or ”analog emulations” like UAor Slate etc

What PT version do you use as it is somewhat important.

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Old 06-09-2020, 03:53 AM

HI , thanks for your reply, i believe it is 12.3
Old 06-09-2020, 07:04 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by GJmoulder View Post
HI , thanks for your reply, i believe it is 12.3
Great so not Pro Tools first right? The free version then. The reason I asked is that PT First is limited to non 3rd party plugins and only plugins bought from Avid store so thats why since Slate wouldn’t have opened in the free PTF version.

If I were you I would demo a few different options like Slate WMR and some PluginAlliance and maybe some KUSH Audio etc and listen to the difference in sound and pick the ones that sounds good to your music and ears as there are thousands of emulations of say a 1176/LA2-A and so on so best way to make sure would be to demo some compressors and EQ’s and put the equivalent Avid plugins on the same track and mute and unmute the plugins to get a better feel for the different tonal capabilities before you buy.