Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-14-2013, 02:59 AM
music project music project is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: ISRAEL
Posts: 160
Default midi to score translation problem... please help

lets say i play a midi note with a musical length of 1 quarter.

for some reason the score editor shows me 4 16 notes with ties connecting them.

any soltution to this problem ?

i guese it's some midi data or quantizing data that must be not filtered as it should be or some perefences or configuratin ....

any suggestions ?

please help...
__________________
2009 8 core mac pro "nehalem" with 6GB ram, 002R, command 8, pt 10.3.5
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-14-2013, 01:38 PM
rossi68 rossi68 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 307
Default Re: midi to score translation problem... please help

Maybe your grid-setting is 16?
Try setting grid to quarter note
__________________
RME UFX Presonus digimax FS Mindprint Envoice Sony DMX r100 Lots of mics LOTS of drums
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-17-2013, 07:15 AM
music project music project is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: ISRAEL
Posts: 160
Default Re: midi to score translation problem... please help

grid is in quarter note everywhere : in the rdit window and in the track display options in the score editor.

still the same problem.

i realy need to solve this....

anybody ?
__________________
2009 8 core mac pro "nehalem" with 6GB ram, 002R, command 8, pt 10.3.5
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-17-2013, 08:37 AM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,368
Default Re: midi to score translation problem... please help

I see you're using PT8. PT8 was the first version of PT to have a score editor, so it's possible this is a bug that has since been fixed. I just tried to reproduce the problem but I can not get a quarter note to display as tied 16th notes like you're describing. Maybe someone with a PT8 installation can test this for you?
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-17-2013, 11:05 PM
music project music project is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: ISRAEL
Posts: 160
Default Re: midi to score translation problem... please help

my info was not up to date, sorry.

i am using pro tools 10.3.5
__________________
2009 8 core mac pro "nehalem" with 6GB ram, 002R, command 8, pt 10.3.5
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-18-2013, 06:49 AM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,368
Default Re: midi to score translation problem... please help

Can you post your session file somewhere online? I can check it with 10.3 7 and see if the problem is reproduced here.
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-19-2013, 07:25 AM
music project music project is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: ISRAEL
Posts: 160
Default Re: midi to score translation problem... please help

i sent you a private messege with a download link
__________________
2009 8 core mac pro "nehalem" with 6GB ram, 002R, command 8, pt 10.3.5
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A Big Problem in my Score Editor hangar79 Windows 2 04-24-2013 01:43 AM
MIDI - re-spell accidentals in Score Editor, and MIDI zoom nhwinni Pro Tools 9 4 09-08-2011 11:14 AM
how can i put out a score of a free time midi performance? notation problem. music project 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 12-11-2008 01:27 PM
Problem with a certain frequency in a mix translation Torchlight Tips & Tricks 10 11-17-2007 11:34 AM
midi file translation software dos3.1 to mac tiger nightingale MIDI 1 08-14-2006 04:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com