Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-17-2009, 01:46 AM
music project music project is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: ISRAEL
Posts: 160
Default solution ! disabling hyperthreading on new mac pro running windows

when running PT LE on "nehalem" or i7 processors there is no option to select using less then the maximum number of cores in the setup menu.

this causes errors and stability issues and leave not enough breathing room for the windows os for backround stuff.

on PC you can disable hyperthreading in the "bios" and then "unlock" the cpu options in PT.

since there is no "bios" on macs, the only way to disable hyper threading running windows on a new mac pro "nehalem" using bootcamp is as follows :

right click "my computer" > properties > advanced > startup and recovery > settings > edit

you have to edit you boot.ini file:

first, copy the last line and paste it under so you'll have two identical lines.
this loads up a dialog on start up where you can chosse what line to use so in case the new one fails you can recover.

now, on the new line you created add:

"/numproc=8"

save

mine is an 8 core machine so my only option was to work with 16 cores.

after making the change to the boot.ini file i can select between 1 thru 8 cores to be assigned to PT.

if you have a 4 core machine just add: "/numproc=4" as the number of your phisical cores.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/170756/ (scrolll down).
__________________
2009 8 core mac pro "nehalem" with 6GB ram, 002R, command 8, pt 10.3.5
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-17-2009, 08:55 AM
dougied dougied is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Omahaha, Nebraska, U.S.A.
Posts: 609
Default Re: solution ! disabling hyperthreading on new mac pro running windows

Quote:
Originally Posted by music project View Post
when running PT LE on "nehalem" or i7 processors there is no option to select using less then the maximum number of cores in the setup menu.

this causes errors and stability issues and leave not enough breathing room for the windows os for backround stuff.

on PC you can disable hyperthreading in the "bios" and then "unlock" the cpu options in PT.

since there is no "bios" on macs, the only way to disable hyper threading running windows on a new mac pro "nehalem" using bootcamp is as follows :

right click "my computer" > properties > advanced > startup and recovery > settings > edit

you have to edit you boot.ini file:

first, copy the last line and paste it under so you'll have two identical lines.
this loads up a dialog on start up where you can chosse what line to use so in case the new one fails you can recover.

now, on the new line you created add:

"/numproc=8"

save

mine is an 8 core machine so my only option was to work with 16 cores.

after making the change to the boot.ini file i can select between 1 thru 8 cores to be assigned to PT.

if you have a 4 core machine just add: "/numproc=4" as the number of your phisical cores.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/170756/ (scrolll down).


Where do you get 16 cores from 8? It's a Dual Quad Core which means there are a total of 8 cores and not 16. 2x4=8
__________________
Mac Pro Dual Quad 2.8Ghz 2008
MacBook Pro i7 2012
OSX 10.8.5 - OSX 10.7.5
Pro Tools 10.3.7 - 11.1.2
6GB RAM
Universal Audio Apollo Quad!!!
Eleven Rack
Focusrite Octopre MKII
Yamaha HS80s
Rockit RP5 Monitors w/ RP10 sub
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-17-2009, 10:07 AM
music project music project is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: ISRAEL
Posts: 160
Default Re: solution ! disabling hyperthreading on new mac pro running windows

from apple's site:


The virtue of virtual cores.

The new Intel Xeon “Nehalem” processors support Hyper-Threading, which allows two threads to run simultaneously on each core. So an 8-core Mac Pro presents 16 virtual cores that are recognized by Mac OS X. Performance is enhanced because Hyper-Threading enables the processor to take better advantage of the execution resources available in each core.

apparently, hyper threading is enabled by default.
__________________
2009 8 core mac pro "nehalem" with 6GB ram, 002R, command 8, pt 10.3.5
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-18-2009, 01:04 AM
Ducatista Ducatista is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 28
Default Re: solution ! disabling hyperthreading on new mac pro running windows

Quote:
Originally Posted by music project View Post
from apple's site:


The virtue of virtual cores.

The new Intel Xeon “Nehalem” processors support Hyper-Threading, which allows two threads to run simultaneously on each core. So an 8-core Mac Pro presents 16 virtual cores that are recognized by Mac OS X. Performance is enhanced because Hyper-Threading enables the processor to take better advantage of the execution resources available in each core.

apparently, hyper threading is enabled by default.

hey!

Why are you using windows on the mac? I have the biggest dilemma whether I stick with LE8 on mac or windows.
Also, how many cores do you select for pro tools to use out of the 8? Do you get any buffer errors with that many? I am building an i7 this week hoping to run LE8 without hickups.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-18-2009, 01:52 AM
music project music project is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: ISRAEL
Posts: 160
Default Re: solution ! disabling hyperthreading on new mac pro running windows

hey ducatista.

i am running windows on my mac because i use some windows only plug ins in my projects, like edirol orchestral and other stuff.

i assign 7 cores out of the 8 for PT, and so far it is stable.

in general PT 8 is still not that stable as a software.

hoping the next cs updates will make it more stable, more rtas efficiant and able to make better use of the multi core platform.
__________________
2009 8 core mac pro "nehalem" with 6GB ram, 002R, command 8, pt 10.3.5
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-02-2009, 03:56 AM
Milkyway Milkyway is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Default Re: solution ! disabling hyperthreading on new mac pro running windows

Is there any way that you can use Landlord Insurance only apps on a mac if you dont use windows?? I knwo that it seem s silly question but i thought there might be a certain way around it that you might know of??

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-02-2009, 09:15 AM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: solution ! disabling hyperthreading on new mac pro running windows

Quote:
silly question
You got it
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Solution To Running LE in Windows 7 64-Bit cwsand 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 11-12-2009 07:04 PM
Win XP: BIOS disabling or Device Manager disabling ?? mandal 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 11-23-2007 04:11 AM
Xgrid solution for Le users running out of CPU ? DESVED 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 12-02-2004 12:38 PM
disabling hyperthreading tstone 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-01-2003 01:34 PM
Hey Support... I´m still waiting for a solution... Plugins don´t running well... Renan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-02-2002 11:09 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com