Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Old 08-12-2013, 11:40 PM

Default Long Time PT User; Brand New Rig

Ok, so I've been using pro tools for 13 years; but I just built a brand new rig.
Mac mini, i7 2.6ghz 16 ram, Saffire Pro 40 interface.
Went from using PT 5.2 on OS 9, to PT 11 - so obviously a learning curve for me.
I have some general questions:
1) should I use the thunderbolt adapter for the interface (thunderbolt to fw 800 to fw 400) Or just go straight FW into the mini?
2) can I have the internet on my studio computer? I've seen where avid recommends that you turn the wi fi OFF - does that mean just during PT use, or forever?
3) Should I elevate the mini for cooling?
4)I've got old sessions from PT 5 - and I also used SD II audio files in those sessions - will PT 11 load those sessions up and convert the files, or are those sessions all lost forever?

I suspect that I'll be on here a lot over the next several months. thanks for your patience.
PT 11
NI Komplete 9
Yes, I used a 1999 G4 and 001 PT 5.2 for 13 years!
Old 08-13-2013, 12:43 AM

Default Re: Long Time PT User; Brand New Rig

Quote:
Originally Posted by ohmy View Post
Ok, so I've been using pro tools for 13 years; but I just built a brand new rig.
Went from using PT 5.2 on OS 9, to PT 11 - so obviously a learning curve for me.
1) should I use the thunderbolt adapter for the interface (thunderbolt to fw 800 to fw 400) Or just go straight FW into the mini?
2) can I have the internet on my studio computer? I've seen where avid recommends that you turn the wi fi OFF - does that mean just during PT use, or forever?