Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-18-2015, 01:14 PM
studiojimi's Avatar
studiojimi studiojimi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,115
Default Need an opinion on use of Mavericks

My hard drive crashed after a few years of solid service. I have an October 2015 clone back up so i'm stable. I purchased a solid state drive and would like to use it as my system drive.

Is mavericks worth having for PT 10 use? if not i can easily clone my new solid state from my clone back up and be up and running but there is a part of me that would like a fresh installed system as safari has had some glitches for me in my current working system on both my burned out drive and my cloned backup.

So fresh install with Mavericks yes or no. and if yes who has the install cuz mac doesn't!
__________________
CAZADOR RECORDING
PT10.3.10/HD6/192w16in/MTN.LION OS 10.8.5 / Westmere MacPro 8 Core W/20gRAM MAGMA-PE6R4/TDM&RTAS/WAVES Platinum/UA/Eventide Plugs/I usually record at 88.2
With GOD as my partner. . . I need to make my plans LARGER.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-18-2015, 02:08 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,664
Default Re: Need an opinion on use of Mavericks

I have a USB installer for 10.9 - maybe I can upload it to google drive- if you get good feedback about it from other users

I am still on 10.8.5 and I have an install of 10.9 just in case
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-18-2015, 02:12 PM
studiojimi's Avatar
studiojimi studiojimi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,115
Default Re: Need an opinion on use of Mavericks

i'm trying to see what mavericks could bring and AVID says "NOT" supported so why would i or should i

i'm just tossing this around to see what others know

and i appreciate all comments and help
__________________
CAZADOR RECORDING
PT10.3.10/HD6/192w16in/MTN.LION OS 10.8.5 / Westmere MacPro 8 Core W/20gRAM MAGMA-PE6R4/TDM&RTAS/WAVES Platinum/UA/Eventide Plugs/I usually record at 88.2
With GOD as my partner. . . I need to make my plans LARGER.

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-18-2015, 02:15 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,664
Default Re: Need an opinion on use of Mavericks

I heard some people say it ran great under 10.9 you just couldn't uninstall the program
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-18-2015, 02:22 PM
studiojimi's Avatar
studiojimi studiojimi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,115
Default Re: Need an opinion on use of Mavericks

if there is no advantage why bother?
__________________
CAZADOR RECORDING
PT10.3.10/HD6/192w16in/MTN.LION OS 10.8.5 / Westmere MacPro 8 Core W/20gRAM MAGMA-PE6R4/TDM&RTAS/WAVES Platinum/UA/Eventide Plugs/I usually record at 88.2
With GOD as my partner. . . I need to make my plans LARGER.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-19-2015, 09:27 AM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,322
Default Re: Need an opinion on use of Mavericks

Stick with Mountain Lion, Mavericks doesn't have anything that will be better.
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-19-2015, 11:32 AM
c-tone c-tone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,091
Default Re: Need an opinion on use of Mavericks

Quote:
Originally Posted by studiojimi View Post
if there is no advantage why bother?
Since you mentioned Safari, it is running much better for me with Mavericks than it was with Mountain Lion, and PT10 is running fine. It's worth trying out, just make sure you have a clone of your old system so that you can revert if you want.

If you had ever downloaded Mavericks, it can still be re-downloaded from the App Store, otherwise, you will need to find the installer somewhere (from a known reputable source such as a friend who got it from Apple.)
__________________
www.clifnorrell.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-20-2015, 12:57 AM
tonwurm's Avatar
tonwurm tonwurm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: europe
Posts: 725
Default Re: Need an opinion on use of Mavericks

I´m running 10.3.10 with HD3 on Mavericks for several months now. main reason was lack of compatibility with some apps (f.e. logic x) with mountain lion and of course safari, which runs much better on mavericks. all is working good so far, though there are some issues if using dsp cache if cards are maxed out. so I deactivated dsd cache, which always seemed tom make PT instable and I´m happy. I don´t use any controller or other peripherals so I do not knew if there exist problems with compatibility.
__________________
Mac Pro 2010 - PT10 HD3, PT12 HD, Logic X, DP 7, VEPro, OSX 10.9.5 / 10.12.6
MacBook Pro - Logic X, Mainstage
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-20-2015, 07:55 PM
Larold Larold is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 217
Default Re: Need an opinion on use of Mavericks

How do you deactivate DSD cache? What is that?

Thanks,

Larold
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-20-2015, 09:18 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,664
Default Re: Need an opinion on use of Mavericks

Disk Cache- and I don't think that you can
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need your opinion on that :-) ! FireFab General Discussion 1 12-19-2012 02:17 PM
Hey i need your opinion on that!! FireFab Post - Surround - Video 0 01-31-2012 06:09 PM
your opinion on PRE vs. 96 Nils Groth Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 06-29-2006 08:00 PM
OT: I need your opinion francois Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 02-17-2006 06:30 AM
Your opinion here please... Threnody 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-30-2002 05:56 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com