Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Old 04-25-2005, 10:00 AM

Default Plasma screen delays

i've heard various scare stories about big lags with plasma screens when syncing to audio - does anyone have experience of this?
Is it a problem when spotting with mixtures of viewing screens (TFT, LCD etc)?

Thanks!
Old 04-25-2005, 11:21 AM

Default Re: Plasma screen delays

Follow this link:
http://duc.digidesign.com/showflat.p...=624583&Forum=

It will tell you what you need to know.
IMDB http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0401937/
Like everything in life, there are no guarantees just opportunities.
Old 04-25-2005, 12:44 PM

I'd just like to mention something about the plasma delay issue. I've been using a plasma for a few months now. Yes I was concerned about the sync. But here's what I've been doing with decent results. I contacted the manufacturer to get the exact delay (milliseconds or samples) and did the math to figure out a sample offset I could use with Time Adjuster on my master fader. Now, while someone may chime in here and say that's not really a great way to do it. It was simple, cheap, and dare I say - effective. I've had zero complaints thus far about any sync issues from video editors or clients, so I guess that's a good thing. (BTW, I work on mostly Commercial and Corporate projects)