Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-25-2005, 10:00 AM
sonicam sonicam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: London
Posts: 30
Default Plasma screen delays

i've heard various scare stories about big lags with plasma screens when syncing to audio - does anyone have experience of this?
Is it a problem when spotting with mixtures of viewing screens (TFT, LCD etc)?

Thanks!
__________________
http://www.sonicamusic.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-25-2005, 11:21 AM
dr sound's Avatar
dr sound dr sound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 2,145
Default Re: Plasma screen delays

Follow this link:
http://duc.digidesign.com/showflat.p...=624583&Forum=

It will tell you what you need to know.
__________________
Marti D. Humphrey CAS
aka dr.sound
www.thedubstage.com
IMDB http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0401937/
Like everything in life, there are no guarantees just opportunities.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-25-2005, 12:44 PM
amiller amiller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Posts: 210
Default Re: Plasma screen delays

I'd just like to mention something about the plasma delay issue. I've been using a plasma for a few months now. Yes I was concerned about the sync. But here's what I've been doing with decent results. I contacted the manufacturer to get the exact delay (milliseconds or samples) and did the math to figure out a sample offset I could use with Time Adjuster on my master fader. Now, while someone may chime in here and say that's not really a great way to do it. It was simple, cheap, and dare I say - effective. I've had zero complaints thus far about any sync issues from video editors or clients, so I guess that's a good thing. (BTW, I work on mostly Commercial and Corporate projects)

However, having said that, I've also split my video so it goes out to a regular CRT as well. So for checking any critical sync points, I can simply bypass the Time Adjuster and check sync on my regular TV. It's a nice little "fail-safe." I should also mention that it seems to work fine even when adding the Canopus ADVC 100 to the mix, and yes I read a chunk of that thread (was it Richards?) about the sync tests... It's all a bit frustrating, but so far this seems to be working. I'd like to hear from others using Plasmas effectively, or if anyone has some suggestions as to how I might improve this setup, feel free...

Also, I've heard a better way to do this might be to insert a hardware audio delay in your monitor path (was a bit pricey for me at the time). Check the link Marty posted. BTW, Marty what did you think of NAB? Sorry I couldn't call you, got busy but I'll be in touch...
__________________
PT 12.7 HDX 2/Mac OS 10.10.5
2012 Mac Pro 3.46GHZ/64GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-25-2005, 12:49 PM
dr sound's Avatar
dr sound dr sound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 2,145
Default Re: Plasma screen delays

Quote:
Check the link Marty posted. BTW, Marty what did you think of NAB? Sorry I couldn't call you, got busy but I'll be in touch...
dr sound replies:
I din't get a chance to go to NAB even though I had round trip tickets and a pass. I was "temp dubing" a Big Movie and it lasted 3 days so I couldn't make the show.
__________________
Marti D. Humphrey CAS
aka dr.sound
www.thedubstage.com
IMDB http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0401937/
Like everything in life, there are no guarantees just opportunities.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-25-2005, 01:18 PM
minister's Avatar
minister minister is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,816
Default Re: Plasma screen delays

i do almost the same thing that amiller does. i found out the delay from the manufacturere and calculated the offset, but i use VVTR which allows me to set an offset like the QT non AV/mojo setup in PT. i just double-checked my offset using richard's SYNCHECK. and like amiller, i check critical sync, well all sync, on my CRT. if you saw my room, you'd know why it was a good solution for me.

i have had no complaints or problems. and...i am also a composer who has no problems with this setup bnecasue i am not imposing a delay in the audio.
__________________
Tom Hambleton CAS
Ministry of Fancy Noises
IMDb
Undertone on Facebook
Undertone Custom Sound Libraries

"Groupable markers would be epochal!"
-Starcrash
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-25-2005, 03:27 PM
Richard Fairbanks Richard Fairbanks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,861
Default Re: Plasma screen delays

Hi minister and amiller! How do you fellows deal with the sync issue when watching DVD or video tape? Do you run audio through Pro Tools for that also? Or is the delay not bothersome enough under those less critical circumstances?

minister, was the info you got from the manufacturer accurate?
__________________
Call me by my real name, "Postman"
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-25-2005, 05:22 PM
amiller amiller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Posts: 210
Default Re: Plasma screen delays

Actually Richard it just doesn't apply to me. At least not at this point. I don't use a DVD player and if we use a VHS tape, we simply run it on a regular TV. That's very rare these days. To check the mix, I'm set up so that my alt ref speakers are directly wired to my CRT (playing out of PT)... Otherwise I'm sure the sync would drive me crazy. I was just reminded of how awful it is when at NAB and trying to watch a few minutes of a presentation on a plasma and that 2 frame delay was present.... Ugh!

BTW, I made sure that the info I got for what the sync offset was, came straight from the engineers who were in on the design process. Although it took a bit to get there...
__________________
PT 12.7 HDX 2/Mac OS 10.10.5
2012 Mac Pro 3.46GHZ/64GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-25-2005, 06:59 PM
The Chinese The Chinese is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 603
Default Re: Plasma screen delays

Quote:
Quote:
Check the link Marty posted. BTW, Marty what did you think of NAB? Sorry I couldn't call you, got busy but I'll be in touch...
dr sound replies:
I din't get a chance to go to NAB even though I had round trip tickets and a pass. I was "temp dubing" a Big Movie and it lasted 3 days so I couldn't make the show.
Don't worry Marti-

You didn't miss much. Digi's presence wasn't that big, although the D-Command was great. It was kinda sad to see how shriveled the Euphonix, SSL, and Harrison booths were. Neve didn't even go. Apple Dominated the day by offering FC5 with some Sound Design upgrades to Soundtrack.
-Todd
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-26-2005, 04:27 AM
Richard Fairbanks Richard Fairbanks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,861
Default Re: Plasma screen delays

cool
__________________
Call me by my real name, "Postman"
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-26-2005, 08:17 AM
minister's Avatar
minister minister is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,816
Default Re: Plasma screen delays

hi richard!

like amiller, i had a hard time getting an answer...but i boiught it through a rep who was connected. was it accurate? well, i made a slight adjustment after i got your box. i would say that they were conservative in their information to me. of course, my igniter card has a delay on it as well, every card does...i think...so i have to add that in as well.

for the less critical dvd viewing, the delay doesn't bother me as much. i have a zenith, and the delay is a little less with this display. i am contemplating an inexpensive delay for dvd play back. but i'll tell you, i never show clients my work from a dvd, i show them my work form PT and the igniter, then hand them a dvd. right now, i am just checking things and watching movies for fun and research.

plasmas are a problem. but my room is too shallow for a large CRT or projector solution. i had a larger room and more money, i would do it differently. but now that i have it figured out, i am happy. if i had a mojo or av option, i'd be looking at other options.
__________________
Tom Hambleton CAS
Ministry of Fancy Noises
IMDb
Undertone on Facebook
Undertone Custom Sound Libraries

"Groupable markers would be epochal!"
-Starcrash
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plasma TV screen Studio Studio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 03-20-2010 10:26 AM
TC Window and Plasma screen burn in soundworx Post - Surround - Video 1 09-08-2007 12:01 PM
Anybody using plasma televsion screen for monitors losttimestudios Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 10-06-2005 07:58 AM
Using A Plasma Screen Phil A Post - Surround - Video 18 03-12-2005 05:50 AM
Adjusting audio to video delay for Plasma screen ? Aquarius Post - Surround - Video 0 05-13-2004 02:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com