Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-06-2006, 08:05 PM
spicyitaliano spicyitaliano is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 948
Default Phantom power for Listen Back?

Just a quickie fellas -

I've got a Crown PZM out in the live room. I'm wiring it into the listen back input on the back of the Control|24 (next week). Do I need an outboard phantom power/mic pre for this mic input, or is phantom power supplied for this input already on the console? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-07-2006, 12:14 AM
Scott Goldberg Scott Goldberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SF Bay Area USA
Posts: 1,066
Default Re: Phantom power for Listen Back?

I don't think so. Try going into the utility function of the board, there's a monitor section which has a submenu for talkback, listenback, and I think "stereo" but my point is that I think that you can just turn it on or off there. I say this to you, with a LOT of "I'm not real sure if this will help" in my answer because I only know some about this because I just fixed a talkback problem that I've had a since my board was new. It was intermittent on my board AND I just fixed a loss of talkback on a Pro Control that had been out for two years the same way last Wednesday, simply by resetting the thing in utility mode. So, long story short, I know for sure that talkback and listenback can be turned on or off on these control surfaces, and unless there is a preamp or phantom button hiding somewhere on the back of the board with printing near it saying listenback, and I know I have never seen one on either board, I think you are in good shape. Best of luck and I hope that helps and isn't just a lot of blabber.
__________________
Scott Goldberg
Gold Recordings
http://www.goldrecordings.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-07-2006, 12:17 AM
spicyitaliano spicyitaliano is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 948
Default Re: Phantom power for Listen Back?

Thanks Scott. To be honest with you, being in "good shape" is having phantom power! I need it to power the PZM in the room. I searched through all the documentation with no luck. I guess I'll have to call one of the Oompa Loompas that work at Digidesign.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-07-2006, 05:53 AM
Scott Goldberg Scott Goldberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SF Bay Area USA
Posts: 1,066
Default Re: Phantom power for Listen Back?

My pleasure,. Sorry if I didn't help any. But if you feel like it, you try the e-mail tech support. I know it's slower, but It happens to be run by a friend of mine I worked with for years, and he's probably one of the sharpest "oompa loompa" that ever "doompity dahh'd." When he used to be on phone tech support, all of us guys, up here in the bay area where they all work, would call at 8 AM just because we knew that we'd get him on the phone first. Just a thought, although ever so clouded as I've been up most of the night and I'm seeing those oompa loompas right now! Peace and best of luck!
__________________
Scott Goldberg
Gold Recordings
http://www.goldrecordings.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
002R Faults + power harness + no phantom power DaveSB 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-26-2009 01:10 AM
recording with phantom power *and* without phantom power simultaneously SweetSoulSound 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 08-22-2008 07:40 PM
Phantom power and mic with power supply? hotstuff 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-20-2005 12:56 PM
Phantom power switch on the back of the 002R ???? rgriff 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-02-2004 06:52 PM
002 Rack- Phantom power button on back!??? JPS 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 07-02-2003 12:06 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com