Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-25-2002, 02:51 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 2,908
Default +4db to -10db?

+4db balanced signal from main outs of the 001
into
+4db balanced analogue mixer input
through mixer master fader into
-10db amp input
and I just have the master fader on the mixer down at around -20 to -30db.

The reason I do it this way is that I think it is my most quiet signal route, and its a good way to route different other signals to headphones an so on. Flexibilty is the key.

I cant hear clipping or anything I dont like.

I’m not doing anything wrong, am I?
__________________
Signature...? – I think my face and full name is more than enough.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-25-2002, 11:14 PM
BeatlesFan BeatlesFan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: west coast
Posts: 9
Default Re: +4db to -10db?

Is the output of the mixer running to the -10 amp a -10 output or a +4 out? You didn't say...

Beatles Fan
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-26-2002, 12:21 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 2,908
Default Re: +4db to -10db?

+4.
Thats the point, it its attenuated by the master fader.
[img]images/icons/confused.gif[/img]
__________________
Signature...? – I think my face and full name is more than enough.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-26-2002, 06:21 AM
ckerian ckerian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Denver
Posts: 992
Default Re: +4db to -10db?

I run all my outs of my digi001 (+4 and -10) into my board which is set at -10 (mackie 24-8) and it works good for me. Faders 1 and 2 are turned down a bit. Remember those digi001 outs 1 and 2 are the only +4 on the thing. The others are -10 and ALL thre inputs are +4. It's kinda retarded if you ask me.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-26-2002, 08:36 AM
AverageJoe AverageJoe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 779
Default Re: +4db to -10db?

I'm a bit confused about this- aren't inputs 3-8 selectable (-10 to +4) via the hardware control panel (or whatever it's called- the thing with the input sliders)??

What about this scenario- my preamp has 2 outs, one labelled +4, one labelled -10. I currently come out of the +4 out to input 6 on the 001, and pull the input gain slider on input 6 to the +4 setting. Works fine, but would I get different performance coming out -10 and pulling the slider up to the -10 spot?

sorry to add another question to this post.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-26-2002, 01:18 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 2,908
Default Re: +4db to -10db?

Quote:
my preamp has 2 outs, one labelled +4, one labelled -10. I currently come out of the +4 out to input 6 on the 001, and pull the input gain slider on input 6 to the +4 setting. Works fine, but would I get different performance coming out -10 and pulling the slider up to the -10 spot? [/QB]
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">This is exactly what the hardware setup faders are for. 001 can acommodate both levels and anything inbetween. If you have a +4db output, then you should use it, and set these faders accordingly. This level will get you a hotter, quieter signal than -10db.

I try to explain my uncertainty again:
My amp recieves -10 input.
My mixer recieves and puts out +4.
To avoid overdriving the amp, the max I can set the master fader to is about -20db.
I could make the mixer run at -10, and have the master fader at more normal levels, but would get a lesser quality signal thru the mixer busses.

I actually think this setup is OK, but I just wanted to check if anybody knew of problems with it.
__________________
Signature...? – I think my face and full name is more than enough.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-26-2002, 01:47 PM
jamlaw jamlaw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 212
Default Re: +4db to -10db?

This is so stupid. I just went and bought a 24 channel 1/4 inch balanced snake. I've got my RME ADI-PRO 8 AD/DA converter so I can run 16 outputs to my board. The extremely retarded thing is the 001 outputs 1 and 2 are +4 and balanced but 3-8 are unbalanced? Why

My Mackie board let me deal with it though - becuase the tape returns allow you to pick +4 or -10 for groups of 8. Heres how I return em -
Analog 1-2 to channels 15 and 16, balanced cables (tape returns 9 to 16 set at +4)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-26-2002, 01:50 PM
jamlaw jamlaw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 212
Default Re: +4db to -10db?

oopps

Heres how I return em -

Analog 1-2 to channels 15 and 16, balanced cables (tape returns 9 to 16 set at +4)
ADAT 1-8 to channels 17-24, balanced cables (tape returns 17-24 at +4)
Analog 3-8 to channels 25-30, unbalanced cables (tape returns 25-32 set at -10)

I guess this is the right way to do it - but it is now not very intuitive. Dumb!!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-26-2002, 02:17 PM
ckerian ckerian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Denver
Posts: 992
Default Re: +4db to -10db?

I have been bitching this bitch since I got mine as well. I too run an adat and a digi001 into a 24 channel 8 bus board and I just run the digi001 into ins 9-16 and keep faders 1 and 2 turned down just a little (and set to -10), I notice no problems although when i record to tracks 1 and 2 I do notice they are way hot but then again I have my outs set to -10 so i can record to my LX20 adat as well. The bus outs on the 24-8 are as stupid as the outs on the digi001. you can change then in groups of 4 so there is really no way for me to have the digi001 (ins@+4) and the adat (ins at -10) be set at the same level... ergghhh what a mess.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-26-2002, 04:11 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 2,908
Default Re: +4db to -10db?

Quote:
my preamp has 2 outs, one labelled +4, one labelled -10. I currently come out of the +4 out to input 6 on the 001, and pull the input gain slider on input 6 to the +4 setting. Works fine, but would I get different performance coming out -10 and pulling the slider up to the -10 spot? [/QB]
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">This is exactly what the hardware setup faders are for. 001 can acommodate both levels and anything inbetween. If you have a +4db output, then you should use it, and set these faders accordingly. This level will get you a hotter, quieter signal than -10db.

I try to explain my uncertainty again:
My amp recieves -10 input.
My mixer recieves and puts out +4.
To avoid overdriving the amp, the max I can set the master fader to is about -20db.
I could make the mixer run at -10, and have the master fader at more normal levels, but would get a lesser quality signal thru the mixer busses.

I actually think this setup is OK, but I just wanted to check if anybody knew of problems with it.
__________________
Signature...? – I think my face and full name is more than enough.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
-10db +4DB switch on 003 I/O 5-8? paul_g 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 10-31-2010 05:15 PM
How do I know if I'm -10db or +4db? Badertime@hotmail.com 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 01-18-2010 03:40 AM
192 -10db snake groovenix Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-24-2006 10:34 AM
+4db / -10db question? Digitalkidd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 07-02-2006 05:26 PM
Digi001...-10DB or +4dB? kCmCg 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 08-15-2002 09:46 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com