Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-06-2011, 07:07 AM
montreal montreal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Posts: 432
Default recording at half speed...

hey guys, noob's leader here..

i want to record an audio file at half speed in protools...

i know that its possible thrue CMD+shift+space bar but my question is how do i have to set my tracks ?

i mean, lets say the audio file is on track 1. i want to record the audio file at half speed in pro tools on lets say track 2.

what am supposed to do on the output/input etc to make that working ? coz i tried and the only thing im recording is silence ....?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-06-2011, 08:07 AM
montreal montreal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Posts: 432
Default Re: recording at half speed...

someone has an idea ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-06-2011, 09:37 AM
montreal montreal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Posts: 432
Default Re: recording at half speed...

How come it appears pretty impossible to obtain an answer on this forum these days ??????????????????
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-06-2011, 10:43 AM
tom1325 tom1325 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22
Default Re: recording at half speed...

Hi, unless I've misunderstood your question, you would just route the tracks as you usually would, so for example
Track 1 output = Bus 1-2 (For example)
Track 2 input = Bus 1-2

I aplogize if this is not what you meant.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-06-2011, 11:13 AM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default

When u record that way, the audio will be an octave up; so u'd need something like Serato or u could use EA to pitch it correctly...

Sent from EPIC 4G using Tapatalk On'eim...
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-06-2011, 11:36 AM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,310
Default Re: recording at half speed...

Quote:
Originally Posted by montreal View Post
hey guys, noob's leader here..

i want to record an audio file at half speed in protools...

i know that its possible thrue CMD+shift+space bar but my question is how do i have to set my tracks ?

i mean, lets say the audio file is on track 1. i want to record the audio file at half speed in pro tools on lets say track 2.

what am supposed to do on the output/input etc to make that working ? coz i tried and the only thing im recording is silence ....?
If you play a file at half speed and record it at half speed, you'll end up with an identical copy at the same speed as the original.

If you really want to varispeed, look in the Audiosuite menu for the Time Shift plugin and use it to varispeed down 12 semitones.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.4.

Pro Tools HD Native 2020.3, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-06-2011, 08:02 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,851
Default Re: recording at half speed...

And as said above, no special IO setting is needed.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-07-2011, 03:19 AM
montreal montreal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Posts: 432
Default Re: recording at half speed...

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom1325 View Post
Hi, unless I've misunderstood your question, you would just route the tracks as you usually would, so for example
Track 1 output = Bus 1-2 (For example)
Track 2 input = Bus 1-2

I aplogize if this is not what you meant.
Thanx a lot my friend !! it was just what i was looking for

Noob Leader
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-07-2011, 03:22 AM
montreal montreal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Posts: 432
Default Re: recording at half speed...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Top Jimmy View Post
If you play a file at half speed and record it at half speed, you'll end up with an identical copy at the same speed as the original.

If you really want to varispeed, look in the Audiosuite menu for the Time Shift plugin and use it to varispeed down 12 semitones.
Thanks a lot !! varispeed is the key for keeping quality... i was using polyphony like a the real noob leader i am... and result was [bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep]... now its just perfect
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Half Speed Recording layres Tips & Tricks 1 03-02-2010 12:07 PM
Recording at Half Speed. SamuelAdams 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 09-14-2005 07:44 PM
recording at half speed SamuelAdams 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-01-2005 01:38 PM
half speed recording murr Tips & Tricks 2 11-18-2004 01:46 AM
Half-Speed Recording mdimmm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-15-2004 05:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com