Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-12-2015, 03:03 PM
SVRecords801 SVRecords801 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 3
Default Pro Tools 12.3 not responding way too often! Please help


Hi,
I recently purchased and installed pro tools 12 perpetual license and am having problems where Pro tools runs very slow and pretty much anytime I click anywhere on the screen or do anything at all, it freezes up and says not responding in the top of the screen for a few minutes.

Note: There is not a cd or dvd in my drive

Please help. Thank you

pro tools 12.3
asus laptop
intel i7 2.6ghz
8gb ram
64bit windows 8.1
1tb internal hd
5tb external hd (Lacie D2 Usb 3.0 7200 Rpm)
focusrite scarlett 2i4
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-12-2015, 03:14 PM
sw rec sw rec is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,660
Default Re: Pro Tools 12.3 not responding way too often! Please help

Asus has a habit of putting floppy drive controllers in their motherboards, whether there's a floppy drive present or not. Go into BIOS and see if there's a floppy you can disable.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-12-2015, 03:42 PM
SVRecords801 SVRecords801 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 3
Default Re: Pro Tools 12.3 not responding way too often! Please help

I went into bios and didnt see any floppy drive. Any other suggestions? I really need to get this figured out soon before I go crazy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-12-2015, 03:55 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,859
Default Re: Pro Tools 12.3 not responding way too often! Please help

Hey

I would try to start PT with nothing connected to the computer.

Just the ilok and nothing else. Download www.Asio4all.com and use that as a driver for the internal soundcard.

Some of the Focusrite interfaces have been problematic and I would start by doing this and then add on part at a time.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-12-2015, 04:36 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,373
Default Re: Pro Tools 12.3 not responding way too often! Please help

Is there a CD or DVD in a drive?

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-12-2015, 04:39 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,859
Default Re: Pro Tools 12.3 not responding way too often! Please help

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
Is there a CD or DVD in a drive?

Cheers,
He said no in the first post
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-12-2015, 04:45 PM
ronwasserman's Avatar
ronwasserman ronwasserman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,850
Default Re: Pro Tools 12.3 not responding way too often! Please help

Everytime someone has only 8GB of ram these kinds of things happen and yes, I know Avid says 8GB is fine.

Just my 2 cents.
__________________
Ron Wasserman
http://www.ronw.com
http://www.imdb.me/ronwasserman
http://www.fishertheband.com
Mac Pro (Late 2013) 3.5 GHz 6-core Intel Xeon E5 - 32 GB Ram / 1TB Flash Storage - Avid HD I/O - Latest Mac OS - HDX3 - Latest PT Version.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-12-2015, 06:32 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,952
Default Re: Pro Tools 12.3 not responding way too often! Please help

Quote:
Originally Posted by ronwasserman View Post
Everytime someone has only 8GB of ram these kinds of things happen and yes, I know Avid says 8GB is fine.

Just my 2 cents.
The more RAM the better, but as a side note, I've run sessions off my MBA that has 4Gb RAM on it. No issues whatsoever.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-12-2015, 06:44 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,859
Default Re: Pro Tools 12.3 not responding way too often! Please help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
The more RAM the better, but as a side note, I've run sessions off my MBA that has 4Gb RAM on it. No issues whatsoever.
Same here but with 80+ tracks and many plugins on rMBP with 8GB ram and 512GB SSD so if you have 8GB ram this shouldn't be an issue at all.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-12-2015, 08:12 PM
Quickdraw Quickdraw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 60
Default Re: Pro Tools 12.3 not responding way too often! Please help

If you haven't already go through and disable any unnecessary services and start up items.
Try pulling up task manager and see if there is a CPU spike.
make sure you have the most recent graphics driver installed.
Check windows update, recently there have been a lot of updates that tend to hang on install and mess with stuff until you manually install them.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 12 not responding spr0ut Pro Tools 12 14 09-04-2016 12:56 PM
Pro Tools 11 doesn't work,Sesions open then pro tools stop responding tronic21 Pro Tools 11 6 07-31-2015 02:27 AM
Pro Tools LE 8.0.3 Not Responding!! iamJayTech 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 06-16-2010 09:40 PM
Pro Tools NOT RESPONDING? advision205 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 20 03-15-2010 12:32 PM
Pro Tools not responding soulsparkpro 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-16-2005 08:07 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com