Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-15-2019, 03:14 PM
aadvance aadvance is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 5
Default Soft Keys No Longer Execute Keystrokes

EDIT: I've found the Eucon commands for moving edit selections, but now when I program the below example as a soft key shortcut (e.g., moving selection up, muting the clip selected after moving up, then moving selection down), it only mutes the clip that was initially selected before initiating the soft key shortcut and completely ignores the command to move up. I had upwards of 20 soft keys programmed, and now only parts of these work. If I'm missing something please do point it out (EUCON is enabled in the Prefs).

OG POST
After I upgraded EuControl to 19.5 my soft key shortcuts don't work, specifically my keystrokes, but functions that I programmed as EUCON commands still work fine.

Example:
Ctrl-P (Move edit selection up) => Cmnd-M (Mute selection) => Ctrl-; (Move edit selection down)

That sequence no longer works. I can use the EUCON command of Mute Clip as a replacement for the Cmnd-M keystroke, but I see no EUCON command for moving edit selection, so the other shortcuts never get done.

I can't go back to 18.3 because I also updated the PT Control app on my iPad, and conveniently the app no longer works with 18.3. I understand that doing the physical keyboard shortcuts still work fine, but I created that shortcut (amongst others that no longer work) so that I only have to press one button to have that entire sequence happen instantaneously. Please help!!

Specs:
Mac Pro 6,1, OSX 10.14.4 Mojave
PT 2018.12
EuControl 19.5
Avid Artist Mix

Last edited by aadvance; 05-15-2019 at 03:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-15-2019, 04:17 PM
aadvance aadvance is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 5
Default Re: Soft Keys No Longer Execute Keystrokes

Just tried a whole slew of keystrokes as soft keys, none work anymore, I can only program Eucon commands. Way to f*$& something else up Avid...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-15-2019, 05:18 PM
mattrixx mattrixx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide - Australia
Posts: 796
Default Re: Soft Keys No Longer Execute Keystrokes

Keystrokes are definitely working here.
Is the command focus on the correct window? Just a thought.
__________________
Matt McKenzie-Smith
mattrixx.net
SourceConnect - mattrixx
AVID Collab user - mattrixx
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-15-2019, 05:36 PM
aadvance aadvance is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 5
Default Re: Soft Keys No Longer Execute Keystrokes

Where command focus is really wouldn't matter because entering the full keystroke should work regardless of where command focus is (ex: move edit selection up is just "p" with command focus on timeline, but Ctrl-p does the same thing regardless of where command focus is). All my soft keys had the full-on keystroke entered instead of just where command focus was, and now they don't work.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-15-2019, 05:39 PM
mattrixx mattrixx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide - Australia
Posts: 796
Default Re: Soft Keys No Longer Execute Keystrokes

Understood.. Mmm, mine are all working as they should. Chains of keystrokes etc.
__________________
Matt McKenzie-Smith
mattrixx.net
SourceConnect - mattrixx
AVID Collab user - mattrixx
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-15-2019, 08:33 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,063
Default Re: Soft Keys No Longer Execute Keystrokes

Working here.

Try a complete uninstall (using the installer's option for uninstall) and then reinstall of Eucontrol.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-16-2019, 07:29 AM
aadvance aadvance is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 5
Default Re: Soft Keys No Longer Execute Keystrokes

Unfortunately I've done an uninstall and reinstall of Eucontrol, PT Control app, and PT in varying combinations, and nothing is bringing it back to where it was before. Sucks, but I guess I learned the hard way that if it ain't broke don't fix it...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-19-2019, 12:16 AM
mrtomcat mrtomcat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Studio City
Posts: 225
Default Re: Soft Keys No Longer Execute Keystrokes

I want to add to this.
I just got a new mac mini and reinstalled everything Eucon 2019.5
Now when creating user page controls my macros using keys as part of it won't work anymore...
example:
New Playlist -> Eucon Command new playlist (works)
/n (return) to close the dialog (does not work)
I tried the enter key as well... same results

Funny enough when I hit the softkey twice, the first time the New Playlist dialog comes up and the second time it closes. This should happen with just one softkey press.

Please fix!
__________________
Mixing/Producing/Recording
PT Ultimate 2019.5
Wavelab Pro 9.5
UAD Satellite Octo Thunderbolt,
Apollo Twin Duo,
HDX Card running in Sonnet TB3 expansion box,
2x Avid I/O Analog 16/16,
4x Artist Mix, Avid Dock, PT Control,
Mac Mini 2018 32gig ram 1 TB SSD 6 Core running Mojave,
lots of outboard gear
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Soft Keys walter rohrbach Pro Tools | Control 2 05-11-2019 12:26 AM
How to Adress Function Keys >F12 from the S6 (Soft Keys) innenhofstudios Pro Tools | S6 3 05-08-2019 06:34 AM
Soft Keys creativecontrol Pro Tools | S6 8 12-18-2017 02:34 PM
Why no Soft Keys on S3? jacko Pro Tools | S3 15 02-09-2016 07:43 PM
'R' and 'T' keys no longer zoom in and out. DeweyDewey Pro Tools 9 2 08-18-2014 06:18 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com