Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-08-2017, 05:41 PM
danander11 danander11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4,012
Default "Initialize midi engine" error on startup

Heya.. after not using PT for awhile I tried firing it back up last night, without success..

When I try to start PT, it hangs at "initialize midi engine".

I've searched around for answers but nothing has worked so far.

I have trashed the Digi prefs, made certain drivers and firmware are up to date..

There is nothing in my SysDrive/Library/audio/Midi Drivers folder either.

Just sure of what to do now.. I had the same issue a year or two ago and can't remember what it was that fixed it, but I remember it being relatively simple... and things worked great until this past week.. (though I've hardly used this setup for six months or so).

Any suggestions?

Thanks!

OSX 10.10.3
PT 12.7.1
Lynx Aurora 16
Lynx AES16e (PCIe)
__________________
Here I am,
after time not long...
and thankful for the break,
What I found when I got there,
was that I couldn't stay away!

Hobo Shave!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-10-2017, 11:39 PM
danander11 danander11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4,012
Default Re: "Initialize midi engine" error on startup

Thanks to Paul at Lynx it's now sorted.. I had to roll the AES16e firmware back to a previous version. Everything is peachy now!
__________________
Here I am,
after time not long...
and thankful for the break,
What I found when I got there,
was that I couldn't stay away!

Hobo Shave!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro tools 9 crashes at startup "Bus error" in thread "MainThread", at address 0x0 danball macOS 2 09-26-2011 04:49 PM
Worthless error "unable to initialize the..." Bodie Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 06-29-2011 10:01 AM
"Audio Engine Play Startup Deadline Was Missed"... Johnjohnjohn Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 07-07-2009 12:05 PM
Digi: update on "missed audio engine startup deadline" H-man 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-05-2009 11:54 AM
"Can't Initialize DirectIO" Error AMIII, Win 2K rpoulos Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 01-22-2003 07:06 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com