Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-28-2016, 10:13 AM
deanrichard deanrichard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Waukesha, WI
Posts: 841
Default New license not authorizing Pro Tools 12.6 after activating it

After reading about others problems installing 12.6, I decided it best to check my iLok account to see if a new PT license was available. Sure enough, a new license for 10,11,12 was in my account. So I surrendered my previous 10,11,12 license and installed the new one. My license is supposed to be valid until well into 2017.

So thinking I've got the latest license. I download Pro Tools, then install. I start up Pro Tools, and get:
"You are trying to run a newer version of PT than your license allows. (More stuff.)"

Seriously, Avid??????

First off, why should the license change? Secondly, if you're going to change it, fix it!!!!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-28-2016, 10:24 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,186
Default Re: Another iLok license issue

It is best to open a support case to get this corrected since account info might be required.

You can do so from your Avid Account.
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-28-2016, 10:38 AM
deanrichard deanrichard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Waukesha, WI
Posts: 841
Default New license/bundle not authorizing Pro Tools 12.6

My situation appears to be worse. Much worse. You see they actually did put a license upgrade in my iLok account. And I upgraded my iLok license, surrendering my old one.

And now it doesn't work. I'm dead in the water for PT12.

This is insane. Does Avid even have a quality assurance department?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-28-2016, 10:53 AM
poem poem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 52
Default Re: 12.6 released!!!

I've received the license in my ilok and it's activated but protools 12.6 kept saying I don't hv any license in my ilok....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-28-2016, 10:56 AM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 8,342
Default Re: New license bundle not authorizing Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by deanrichard View Post
...I upgraded my iLok license, surrendering my old one... And now it doesn't work. I'm dead in the water for PT12.
I see the Pro Tools Perpetual Bundle (with 10/11/12) activated on your iLok.

So that is not authorizing 12.6?

What version of iLok License Manager is installed?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-28-2016, 10:58 AM
T-Low T-Low is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 320
Default Re: 12.6 released!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by poem View Post
I've received the license in my ilok and it's activated but protools 12.6 kept saying I don't hv any license in my ilok....
same here
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-28-2016, 11:01 AM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 8,342
Default Re: 12.6 released!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by poem View Post
I've received the license in my ilok and it's activated but protools 12.6 kept saying I don't hv any license in my ilok....
Can't find your account based on your community email. Best to start a support case via your Avid account > Access The Support Center
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-28-2016, 11:19 AM
deanrichard deanrichard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Waukesha, WI
Posts: 841
Default Save yourselves! It's too late for me

PT 12.6 is a demonic force that will cast you into the depths of Pro Tools hell, rendering your PT 12 system useless. Unless you enjoy being tortured and abused, and want to have a useless system, I strongly suggest people hold off on PT 12 until this mess is sorted out.

It's too late for me, the demons have my soul. I can only flounder and wail, trying to once again create a usable system.

Save yourselves!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-28-2016, 11:23 AM
mbafmike's Avatar
mbafmike mbafmike is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Frankfurt/Germany
Posts: 28
Default Re: Save yourselves! It's too late for me

My condolences.

How about some details regarding your demonic experience?

For that other sheeps have a chance to see the light one day.

*popcorn*
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-28-2016, 11:38 AM
deanrichard deanrichard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Waukesha, WI
Posts: 841
Default Re: Save yourselves! It's too late for me

After reading that PT 12.6 requires an upgraded license to work (why????) I went to my iLok account. Sure enough, there was a new PT 10,11,12 license. I upgraded. It required me to surrender my old license, but the new one was installed. So far everything looked great. My perpetual license should be valid for upgrades well into 2017.

I downloaded and installed PT 12.6. Should be fine, right? I followed all the rules. But no, upon running PT 12.6 I get a message (paraphrasing) "Your license does not allow you to run this version of Pro Tools", etc.

So I tried installing the latest Application Manager, thinking that might help. Silly me. It won't connect, and spins indefinitely, never connecting. I'm convinced App Mgr was written by Satanists who hate computers and DAWs.

I'm busy this afternoon, but will follow up with support soon. I'm sure they are swamped, this can't be a short phone call.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbafmike View Post
My condolences.

How about some details regarding your demonic experience?

For that other sheeps have a chance to see the light one day.

*popcorn*
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"You do not have any licenses in your account" launching Pro Tools 12 Ed8423 Licensing & Accounts 11 07-24-2017 08:00 PM
Problem with PT9 license and PT10/11 activating ballbreaker333 Getting Started 5 06-16-2014 03:10 AM
Having trouble authorizing iLok and downloading license to my iLok Ofentse Morris Windows 1 08-20-2012 03:36 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com