Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-10-2009, 10:32 AM
stainless stainless is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA, USA
Posts: 561
Default Output to a Buss or send to a buss

probably a pretty elementary question- when would it be more advatageous to keep the tracks output to analog1/2 and take a send to a buss, rather than just sending the output to a buss?

or would take a send while keeping the 1/2 out be akin to duplicating a track and using one "dry" and treating the other?

sometimes I think I make more work for myself....

and a pleasant Good Friday to you all!
__________________
Stainless - G5 2.3x2, 5 GB RAM, 1.5TB, OSX 10.5.x and 8.0 002R/D8, MC Control/MC Mix, etc, etc, etc
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-10-2009, 03:06 PM
Sven62 Sven62 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Warrenton, VA
Posts: 116
Default Re: Output to a Buss or send to a buss

There should be more knowleageable responses to this than mine.

But, for me, I use Sends to bus delays and reverbs. Output to a bus/Aux track in order to group multiple tracks (like drums). Output all your drum tracks to one Aux track labelled "Drums". Then you have one channel/fader for drums..... then use a Send to reverb/delay.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-10-2009, 03:48 PM
andyj4308 andyj4308 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 121
Default Re: Output to a Buss or send to a buss

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sven62 View Post
There should be more knowleageable responses to this than mine.

But, for me, I use Sends to bus delays and reverbs. Output to a bus/Aux track in order to group multiple tracks (like drums). Output all your drum tracks to one Aux track labelled "Drums". Then you have one channel/fader for drums..... then use a Send to reverb/delay.
Snap. I'll also use Ouput bus/aux to bounce tracks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-10-2009, 10:26 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,810
Default Re: Output to a Buss or send to a buss

I will almost always leave the drums assigned to L/R and add aux sends to feed a stereo bus with a compressor(choose wisely to avoid latency induced comb filtering). Both BF76 and the Waves SSL compressor work great for this.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-10-2009, 11:57 PM
danander11 danander11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4,012
Default Re: Output to a Buss or send to a buss

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
I will almost always leave the drums assigned to L/R and add aux sends to feed a stereo bus with a compressor(choose wisely to avoid latency induced comb filtering). Both BF76 and the Waves SSL compressor work great for this.

Hmmm... I'm a bit drowsy right now but I want to make sure I understand...


You are creating a stereo (or two mono) AUX channels and sending the drum signal to them, then compressing it? then blending the two at the master?

I'll do this for delay, reverb, etc... but have never thought to use the same technique for compression.

What is the benefit of going this route? (I'll be trying this out right after a nap).

MANY thanks!

Peace!
__________________
Here I am,
after time not long...
and thankful for the break,
What I found when I got there,
was that I couldn't stay away!

Hobo Shave!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-11-2009, 04:28 AM
Phil Ogden Phil Ogden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,107
Default Re: Output to a Buss or send to a buss

Quote:
Originally Posted by danander11 View Post
Hmmm... I'm a bit drowsy right now but I want to make sure I understand...


You are creating a stereo (or two mono) AUX channels and sending the drum signal to them, then compressing it? then blending the two at the master?

I'll do this for delay, reverb, etc... but have never thought to use the same technique for compression.

What is the benefit of going this route? (I'll be trying this out right after a nap).

MANY thanks!

Peace!
Done correctly, parallel compression adds 'body' to the sound without squashing the life out of the dynamics.

To return to the original post. One way to look at it is to use sends when you want to vary the amount of 'processing' undertaken on the audio by adjusting the sends level.

Bussing track outputs is more appropriate when you're applying processing uniformly and globally.

http://www.myspace.com/philogg
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aux buss path going to wrong buss? pqlior@mac.com macOS 3 10-10-2013 08:50 AM
shortcut on putting buss output on several channels at once. broken81 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 19 02-08-2008 08:43 PM
Dithering when recording buss output to track BackAtTheLab Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 09-22-2006 01:50 AM
Output Buss not working HELP!! *DELETED* liquid002rw 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-16-2005 09:51 AM
how to show your send levels in buss section ? mersisblue 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 15 04-22-2004 12:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com