Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 08-15-2007, 01:21 AM
matchlessgift matchlessgift is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 23
Default Re: Project mix problem

Ok i'm taking it over to my mates soon to D/load the update as i cant get an ADSL connection where i live. I'm going away on holiday for a week on Friday so i'll let you know how i go when i get back. I'm also getting another 2 gig of memory this week with a 500G external hard drive.

Another quick question will the extra memory give me the ability to have more audio tracks on a PT session? At the moment i'm only able to have 32, which really isn't enough by the time i bring in seperate tracks from my MPC.

Thanks again.
__________________
IMAC Intel Core 2 duo 4G RAM
OS 10.4.11
Project Mix I/O
M-Powered PT 7.4
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 08-15-2007, 07:47 AM
bradch00 bradch00 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lions Bay, Canada - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 1,180
Default Re: Project mix problem

Hopefully the OSX upgrade gets the Project Mix I/O problem solved.

To break the 32 voice limit on M-Powered you need to purchase the Music Production Toolkit, which (among other things) gives you the ability to expand M-Powered to 48 tracks. There's more information here as the MPT gives you more than just the expand track capability.

http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?...00&itemid=4865

Now whether the memory upgrade will allow you to do that all depends on how much you load your tracks with individual plug-ins, EQ, compressors, etc. Memory really helps with VIs and general processing. I have the Music Production Toolkit and although I don't think I've actually sat down and counted my largest session, I have come close to the 48 audio tracks. The official position of digi in regards to 48 audio tracks is that you need 2 drives. So far this hasn't been the case with me (I'm running 1 FW400 External drive), anyway here's the info for that (see Firewire 400 Drives);

http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?...4&itemid=23143

Good luck with the OSX update
__________________
Pro Tools 12, Studio One V3.x
iMac 27" 5k i7 4Ghz, 32GB RAM 1TB Flash (OS X 10.10.x)
OWC Thunderbay Mini (4TB SSD)
Interface: Antelope Audio Zen-Studio
Presonus Faderport & Faderport 8
Black Lion Sparrow Mk2 A/D, FMR-RNP-RNC, MIDI Xpress 128
BM5A, KRK VXT4, Equator D5
Macbook Pro 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD Audio(mobile rig)
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 08-23-2007, 04:35 PM
matchlessgift matchlessgift is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 23
Default Re: Project mix problem

Ok so i installed the combo update as per the link but the ProjectMix still doesn't show up in the Midi Device setup. Although now when i go to Peripherals and select HUI under "receive from" and "send to" it has an option for "Predefined > IAC Driver bus1" which it did not before. If that is selected under both "receive" and "send" i get the same pop up menu as the other guy is getting ie. Protools is unable to communicate with HUI etc. I am aware this isn't what i'm supposed to be using anyway so i just went back to selecting "none".

So i'm not sure where to try next?
__________________
IMAC Intel Core 2 duo 4G RAM
OS 10.4.11
Project Mix I/O
M-Powered PT 7.4
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 08-24-2007, 09:53 AM
bradch00 bradch00 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lions Bay, Canada - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 1,180
Default Re: Project mix problem

Sorry to answer this with (yet another) question, but.... from the ProjectMix I/O Control application (not the firewire application), look on the options panel. Do both;
Enable External MIDI port and Enable Firewire MIDI port, have check marks?
__________________
Pro Tools 12, Studio One V3.x
iMac 27" 5k i7 4Ghz, 32GB RAM 1TB Flash (OS X 10.10.x)
OWC Thunderbay Mini (4TB SSD)
Interface: Antelope Audio Zen-Studio
Presonus Faderport & Faderport 8
Black Lion Sparrow Mk2 A/D, FMR-RNP-RNC, MIDI Xpress 128
BM5A, KRK VXT4, Equator D5
Macbook Pro 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD Audio(mobile rig)
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 08-24-2007, 04:06 PM
matchlessgift matchlessgift is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 23
Default Re: Project mix problem

No they werent checked but thats because when i go to check them it says "cannot find ProjectMix control ensure all cables are connected properly", but when i go back into options and try and check them again it works.
Note that whenever i try to click any buttons eg. play or solo etc.. it pops up with a "configure play" or solo etc. Also the rainbow wheel cursor is constantly on and off the whole time the ProjectMix control is up like it is still trying to find it or communicate with it. Also when ever you shut the control down and start it up again both the enable ports are unchecked again.
So with both of them checked i still have no option for ProjectMix in either AMS or Midi Controllers.
__________________
IMAC Intel Core 2 duo 4G RAM
OS 10.4.11
Project Mix I/O
M-Powered PT 7.4
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 08-24-2007, 07:08 PM
bradch00 bradch00 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lions Bay, Canada - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 1,180
Default Re: Project mix problem

OK, I think we're onto something... (honestly don't know what, yet) but I'll see if I can get mine in the same state.... and I'll get back to you...

BTW, you have tried both FW ports, yes, silly perhaps, but who knows...

Would you mind if we tried reseting the ProjectMix to factory?
Shutdown the iMac
on the ProjectMix I/O;
Press the setup key, press the "sel" key under Factory Def. then press the "sel" key under "yes".
power down the projectMix I/O
power up while pressing the "aux 1" button (Pro Tools mode)

Power up the iMac...
Check AMS, etc...
__________________
Pro Tools 12, Studio One V3.x
iMac 27" 5k i7 4Ghz, 32GB RAM 1TB Flash (OS X 10.10.x)
OWC Thunderbay Mini (4TB SSD)
Interface: Antelope Audio Zen-Studio
Presonus Faderport & Faderport 8
Black Lion Sparrow Mk2 A/D, FMR-RNP-RNC, MIDI Xpress 128
BM5A, KRK VXT4, Equator D5
Macbook Pro 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD Audio(mobile rig)
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 08-24-2007, 08:59 PM
matchlessgift matchlessgift is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 23
Default Re: Project mix problem

I have no option to go to factory default under setup, all i have is the LCD contrast setting. This is getting weirder, maybe there is a problem with the project mix?
Yeah i tried changing the firewire port before and that does not help.
__________________
IMAC Intel Core 2 duo 4G RAM
OS 10.4.11
Project Mix I/O
M-Powered PT 7.4
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 08-24-2007, 09:31 PM
bradch00 bradch00 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lions Bay, Canada - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 1,180
Default Re: Project mix problem

If there's no option to reset to factory under setup, then I think we're dealing unit that's not functioning properly, I'm afraid I don't have any more tricks to try. I would contact the dealer, see if they have a floor unit you can try out and see what the difference is.

I reset my unit this evening just to make sure it worked before I posted the last reply and everything is good here.
Sorry man, if I had hair I'd be pullin' out now.
__________________
Pro Tools 12, Studio One V3.x
iMac 27" 5k i7 4Ghz, 32GB RAM 1TB Flash (OS X 10.10.x)
OWC Thunderbay Mini (4TB SSD)
Interface: Antelope Audio Zen-Studio
Presonus Faderport & Faderport 8
Black Lion Sparrow Mk2 A/D, FMR-RNP-RNC, MIDI Xpress 128
BM5A, KRK VXT4, Equator D5
Macbook Pro 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD Audio(mobile rig)
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 08-25-2007, 07:34 PM
matchlessgift matchlessgift is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 23
Default Re: Project mix problem

Yeah thanks anyway man, i took it down to my dealer yesterday along with the IMac to see if they can nut it out. The weird thing is my mate has a ProjectMix as well which he bought at the same time i did from the same place i did and his doesnt have that factory reset option either. So i don't know maybe they are slightly different out here in OZ.

I'll let you know what they find out.
__________________
IMAC Intel Core 2 duo 4G RAM
OS 10.4.11
Project Mix I/O
M-Powered PT 7.4
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 08-26-2007, 10:12 PM
bradch00 bradch00 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lions Bay, Canada - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 1,180
Default Re: Project mix problem

Yes, do let me know the out come, maybe they are different units out there....

However, I do have one question, as the projectMix Control is not communicating with the unit, how did you update the firmware? When the unit is turned on, the LCD will display the firmware revision, what is it?
__________________
Pro Tools 12, Studio One V3.x
iMac 27" 5k i7 4Ghz, 32GB RAM 1TB Flash (OS X 10.10.x)
OWC Thunderbay Mini (4TB SSD)
Interface: Antelope Audio Zen-Studio
Presonus Faderport & Faderport 8
Black Lion Sparrow Mk2 A/D, FMR-RNP-RNC, MIDI Xpress 128
BM5A, KRK VXT4, Equator D5
Macbook Pro 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD Audio(mobile rig)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A problem with project from another comp. emersonrailroad Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 04-06-2009 02:09 AM
Project mix install problem 40bends Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 01-19-2008 10:17 PM
Monitering problem with project mix Chewits Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 07-18-2007 02:28 PM
Problem with HUI and my Project Mix I/O fooloof Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 02-10-2007 10:36 AM
Saving project to CDR problem. rdpete General Discussion 2 11-23-2000 01:06 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com