Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-11-2005, 04:08 AM
toddm7 toddm7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: LA, CA - Oak Hill, VA
Posts: 135
Default Changing tempo w/out changing midi performance???

Is there a way in pro tools to change the tempo without altering the timing of the midi performance?

I recorded some tracks along to some pre-recoded audio without setting the tempo. I now need to go back and clean up some stuff using the grid and a little quantize, but now when i used the indetify beat function to get the correct tempo, my midi plays slow and out of time with the original audio. Is there a way?

PT 6.9

Thanks in advance.
__________________
HP Laptop
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-11-2005, 04:39 AM
bb_aus bb_aus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,689
Default Re: Changing tempo w/out changing midi performance???

you can with Pro Tools 7
Quote:
Sample-based MIDI tracks allow MIDI events to stay locked to time code regardless of session tempo changes
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-11-2005, 04:42 AM
toddm7 toddm7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: LA, CA - Oak Hill, VA
Posts: 135
Default Re: Changing tempo w/out changing midi performance???

Thanks. A good reason to upgrade.
__________________
HP Laptop
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-11-2005, 08:48 AM
jofromabove jofromabove is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 181
Default Re: Changing tempo w/out changing midi performanc

You can also use the TC/E tool on the midi region to get that midi back on beat.
j
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-11-2005, 10:51 AM
toddm7 toddm7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: LA, CA - Oak Hill, VA
Posts: 135
Default Re: Changing tempo w/out changing midi performanc

Quote:
You can also use the TC/E tool on the midi region to get that midi back on beat.
j
Thanks. How? When I selected a midi region, the time strectch tool had no effect.
__________________
HP Laptop
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-11-2005, 11:11 AM
jofromabove jofromabove is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 181
Default Re: Changing tempo w/out changing midi performanc

Did you use the TC/E-trimmer tool?
Its done just as you timetrim audio. Midi track has to be showing regions.
j
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-12-2005, 10:35 AM
casperfun casperfun is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 489
Default Re: Changing tempo w/out changing midi performance???

well I have PTLE 7.0. But I you can use the newly implemented tick based recording to keep your your audio and midi the same when changing tempo.

PTLE 6.9 implementd tick & sample based recording. The tick part was new.

Best as I can remember, change some little panel button into a diamond I think in the channel. I used it for a song.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to Change tempo but without changing existing midi data tempo? Einsteinwannabe Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 09-18-2010 06:58 AM
Changing MIDI Tempo ? polaredit 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-14-2007 03:52 PM
changing tempo without changing pitch Sharabelle Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 02-10-2007 05:19 PM
midi and tempo changing dubman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 05-03-2005 03:57 PM
changing tempo without changing midi wizdoom 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-20-2004 05:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:51 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com