Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-18-2004, 04:23 AM
markharding markharding is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3
Default mbox input hardware failure

One of the inputs of my mbox has apparently failed at a hardware level - I believe it would be a leaky capacitor on the input. The signal is at a very low level and distorted. Has this problem happened before, and is there a particular component associated with the failure? I would otherwise just replace all the input capacitors.

I'd appreciate anybody else's experience

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-18-2004, 02:07 PM
DJ Insomaniac DJ Insomaniac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 1,282
Default Re: mbox input hardware failure

On my MBox, i remeber channel 1 being a real pain. If i ever moved it, i would have to wiggle around the cable i was feeding into it (1/4") so that i would get the signal on that channel back. My guess was that the 1/4" input on ch. 1 just came loose from the rest of the unit.

It did things like that a lot.
__________________
Sam Ejnes
Mix Technician, Freelance Sound Editor/Re-recording Mixer
samejnes.com | IMDb | Analog Jitter

rMacBook Pro 2.2 gHz Core i7, 10.10.3
16 GB RAM
MOTU 828mkII, PT 12.1 HD
Axiom 61, 2xArtist Mix
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-20-2004, 05:31 AM
markharding markharding is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3
Default Re: mbox input hardware failure

Spot on. Intermittent connection in switch of insert point socket. Corrected by inserting and removing plug. www.markharding.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox2 hardware registration failure kurfen Pro Tools 9 1 02-06-2012 06:58 AM
PT 6.4 TDM on G5: hardware communication failure masterboyle Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-28-2005 12:32 PM
002 Hardware failure...Validating, blank screen... CF Buck 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-16-2005 05:15 PM
warning - G5 hardware failure - READ THIS! jeremyroberts Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 23 07-17-2005 08:55 AM
Output/Input Section Failure Red Room Recorders ICON & C|24 1 03-17-2002 12:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com