Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-20-2019, 02:14 PM
agent525 agent525 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Roswell
Posts: 4
Default Pro Tools Ultimate Will Not Open

I can not get the program to open, I get this message every time I try to open it.

Could not complete your request because Assertion in "E:\ Code\ 238951\ ProTools\ AAE\ Source\ AAX\ CFicAAXWidget.cpp", line 994.

(Use the Copy button to copy this message to the clipboard.).

Can anyone help me on this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-20-2019, 02:26 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 8,339
Default Re: Pro Tools Ultimate Will Not Open

Welcome to the community.

This is typically a driver/engine related error. Please try launching PT then immediately hold the N key until the Playback Window opens. If this doesn't help please reply with complete system details.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-20-2019, 02:37 PM
agent525 agent525 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Roswell
Posts: 4
Default Re: Pro Tools Ultimate Will Not Open

It almost opened up then close out with no error.

OS Name Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Version 10.0.18362 Build 18362

OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation

System Manufacturer Dell Inc.
System Model XPS 15 7590
System Type x64-based PC
System SKU 0905
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i9-9980HK CPU @ 2.40GHz, 2400 Mhz, 8 Core(s), 16 Logical Processor(s)
BIOS Version/Date Dell Inc. 1.2.3, 7/23/2019
SMBIOS Version 3.2
Embedded Controller Version 255.255
BIOS Mode UEFI
BaseBoard Manufacturer Dell Inc.
BaseBoard Product 0T8KGX
BaseBoard Version A00
Platform Role Mobile
Secure Boot State On
PCR7 Configuration Elevation Required to View
Windows Directory C:\Windows
System Directory C:\Windows\system32
Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume1
Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "10.0.18362.356"
Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 32.0 GB
Total Physical Memory 31.7 GB
Available Physical Memory 21.2 GB
Total Virtual Memory 36.5 GB
Available Virtual Memory 23.4 GB
Page File Space 4.75 GB
Page File C:\pagefile.sys
Kernel DMA Protection On
Virtualization-based security Not enabled
Device Encryption Support Elevation Required to View
Hyper-V - VM Monitor Mode Extensions Yes
Hyper-V - Second Level Address Translation Extensions Yes
Hyper-V - Virtualization Enabled in Firmware Yes
Hyper-V - Data Execution Protection Yes


Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-20-2019, 08:17 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 8,339
Default Re: Pro Tools Ultimate Will Not Open

What audio hardware (and driver version) are you using?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-21-2019, 07:56 AM
agent525 agent525 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Roswell
Posts: 4
Default Re: Pro Tools Ultimate Will Not Open

Audio built in Dell XPS 15 laptop

Realtek Audio
Driver Realtek Semiconductor Corp
Driver Version 6.0.1.8652
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-21-2019, 08:57 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,424
Default Re: Pro Tools Ultimate Will Not Open

Quote:
Originally Posted by agent525 View Post
Audio built in Dell XPS 15 laptop

Realtek Audio
Driver Realtek Semiconductor Corp
Driver Version 6.0.1.8652
I am pretty sure that is a non-ASIO device—Did you install ASIO4ALL and configure it to use/wrap that device? What exact option are you seeing in the Playback Engine dialog. Screenshots of the playback engine dialog and the ASIO4ALL control panel may help if you are stuck.

You will be better off getting a dedicated interface with an interface vendor supplied ASIO driver. If you describe what you are doing, and price range, folks here can recommend interfaces to you.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-21-2019, 08:59 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,853
Default Re: Pro Tools Ultimate Will Not Open

If you dont have an interface for audio which you really should look into try downloading Asio4all which is a free virtual asio driver ”band-aid” and not seen as an ”instead” of a audio interface but a temp fix.

It is a widespread used software so no crap malware.

www.asio4all.com

Edit: LOL Great Minds Think Alike!!

Saw you posted after I published my post so even better for the OP as we said the same thing in slightly different way.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools Standard->Pro Tools Ultimate Cross-grade clarifications. Akiz Licensing & Accounts 8 08-30-2019 10:34 AM
Latency with Pro Tools Ultimate vs. regular Pro tools 2018 DualCoreX2 macOS 5 04-25-2018 08:17 AM
Pro Tools Ultimate YYR123 General Discussion 13 04-08-2018 10:24 PM
Vista Ultimate 64 (the ultimate dissapointment) Filmusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 08-03-2009 04:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com