Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #141  
Old 09-12-2019, 03:55 AM
cmbourget cmbourget is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Métis-sur-Mer, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 552
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

In any case, ARA is only an example. When I think (and I already mentioned that elsewhere in this blog) that I do not move 2 markers at a time .... without cutting / pasting! and that I can not associate an automatic solo with the active track (I have to do Shift S until the end of the time), and that I can not make additional keyboard shortcuts (at least extra, it would be nice, without changing existing shortcuts) and therefore no macros! And that, for noon, I have to open windows with drop down menus ....!
__________________
Pro Tools Vanilla 2019, Cubase 10, Samplitude Suite Pro X4

PC Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2667 v2 8 cores
3.33 GHz 64 Go, full SSD

Prism sound Atlas and 2 Focal Solo Be + Sub

www.claudemarcbourget.com
www.metis-islands.com
Reply With Quote
  #142  
Old 09-12-2019, 03:57 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,897
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmbourget View Post
additional keyboard shortcuts
There are external tools available for what you want. PT already has a million shortcuts and adding more is always going through this filter: is it possible/easy/feasible with Avid Control Surfaces? Like it or not, everything must be able to do with a S6
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #143  
Old 09-12-2019, 03:59 AM
@tention @tention is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cologne / Germany
Posts: 162
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Seriously, I prefer slow and steady over fast and buggy as hell.
__________________
SOUND!
Reply With Quote
  #144  
Old 09-12-2019, 04:13 AM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 863
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

ARA would be worth the ultimate yearly maintenance fee. Just 1 thing a year would be acceptable to me.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #145  
Old 09-12-2019, 05:29 AM
Akiz Akiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 98
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by @tention View Post
Seriously, I prefer slow and steady over fast and buggy as hell.
Define slow. Slow as the 2019 release fiasco?

Slow development, can be applied in a model like the previous one, where Avid could take all the time they need, to release the new version with added features, bug fixes etc.
User had the choice to upgrade or not, depending of how attractive the new version is.

When the model is, grab the cash in advance, giving no clue of what to expect next (development wise), under deliver or deliver nothing at all for 6 months (half the annual fee gone) .....then no....they don't have the time luxury to be slow.
Better hire more people, get some voodoo gods in play, work their ass off to make it happen......i don't care...it is their problem to solve.


Cheers!
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1 "Late 2013", 12 Core 2.7 Ghz, 32Gb Ram, 1Tb SSD, MacOs 10.14.4 "Mojave", Apollo Twin Quad, Avid Artist Mix, ProTools 2019.6.
Reply With Quote
  #146  
Old 09-12-2019, 05:39 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,897
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akiz View Post
Define slow. Slow as the 2019 release fiasco?
Yes, that was a fiasco.

Slow development IMO would be one release every quarter. Guaranteed release every three months. Whatever bugfixes and/or new features are ready for release would be included. I could commit to updating my production system every three months, no problem. Especially if I could predict that geek weekend. That would also make me trust the release has been properly beta tested.

Monthly release? Not going to happen as long as Avid uses volunteer beta team. That is just impossible. And would not trust that the quality is on par.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #147  
Old 09-12-2019, 05:51 AM
cmbourget cmbourget is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Métis-sur-Mer, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 552
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
There are external tools available for what you want. PT already has a million shortcuts and adding more is always going through this filter: is it possible/easy/feasible with Avid Control Surfaces? Like it or not, everything must be able to do with a S6

Personally, I prefer the keyboard and I would like this possibility. Cheaper than an S6 ...

I had controllers of all kinds, including the Artist series, and I used PT Control. This compensates for the lack of direct possibilities in PT, but with Cubase, for example, I do not need a controller. All that an S6 does (except the studio decoration) is possible by the keyboard. Only addition: a quality expression pedal for automation, then a Komplete keyboard. Everything is here.

Only regret in memory of PT: the extraordinary function of gain clip. I still have trouble adjusting to it without it, because Cubase, like Studio One, does not show the direct effect of the gain curves on the shape of the waves. Samplitude, yes. And the management of clips overlays. PT is unbeatable on this point.
__________________
Pro Tools Vanilla 2019, Cubase 10, Samplitude Suite Pro X4

PC Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2667 v2 8 cores
3.33 GHz 64 Go, full SSD

Prism sound Atlas and 2 Focal Solo Be + Sub

www.claudemarcbourget.com
www.metis-islands.com
Reply With Quote
  #148  
Old 09-12-2019, 05:52 AM
Akiz Akiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 98
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Slow development IMO would be one release every quarter. Guaranteed release every three months. Whatever bugfixes and/or new features are ready for release would be included. I could commit to updating my production system every three months, no problem. Especially if I could predict that geek weekend. That would also make me trust the release has been properly beta tested.
Agreed! This sounds like a plan.
You know something.....they could skip a quarter too, if a feature is big enough that needs time to implement/test or a bug persists and risks total stability of the software at release. No one is against that. Unfortunately this isn't the case so far and they have to address it somehow.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Monthly release? Not going to happen as long as Avid uses volunteer beta team. That is just impossible. And would not trust that the quality is on par.
Again agreed, it would make no sense at that rate. Not even Apple can do that with Logic.

There must be a middle ground, your proposal sounds feasible to me, makes sense and will make things definitely better....


Cheers!
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1 "Late 2013", 12 Core 2.7 Ghz, 32Gb Ram, 1Tb SSD, MacOs 10.14.4 "Mojave", Apollo Twin Quad, Avid Artist Mix, ProTools 2019.6.
Reply With Quote
  #149  
Old 09-12-2019, 05:54 AM
cmbourget cmbourget is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Métis-sur-Mer, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 552
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akiz View Post
Define slow. Slow as the 2019 release fiasco?

Slow development, can be applied in a model like the previous one, where Avid could take all the time they need, to release the new version with added features, bug fixes etc.
User had the choice to upgrade or not, depending of how attractive the new version is.

When the model is, grab the cash in advance, giving no clue of what to expect next (development wise), under deliver or deliver nothing at all for 6 months (half the annual fee gone) .....then no....they don't have the time luxury to be slow.
Better hire more people, get some voodoo gods in play, work their ass off to make it happen......i don't care...it is their problem to solve.


Cheers!

Very fair, I think so too.
__________________
Pro Tools Vanilla 2019, Cubase 10, Samplitude Suite Pro X4

PC Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2667 v2 8 cores
3.33 GHz 64 Go, full SSD

Prism sound Atlas and 2 Focal Solo Be + Sub

www.claudemarcbourget.com
www.metis-islands.com
Reply With Quote
  #150  
Old 09-12-2019, 11:42 AM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,779
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akiz View Post
Better hire more people, get some voodoo gods in play, work their ass off to make it happen......i don't care...it is their problem to solve.
But when they don't solve it (and they don't), it becomes your problem.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Update Module Firmware message after 3.7 update WildHoney Pro Tools | S6 1 10-21-2017 11:28 AM
Sierra 10.10.6 - To COMBO update - or App Store Update ? Seafoam_Green macOS 4 09-15-2017 01:19 PM
HD Native cant Update Firmware after installing PT9.0.5 Update Aditu Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 72 11-27-2012 03:57 PM
10.3 Update - Windows shutdown issue has returned. Update at your own risk. crm0510 Windows 14 09-19-2012 01:50 PM
10.5.6 update. Is it safe to apply the system update from 10.5.5? SBCCMusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 02-02-2009 02:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com