Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #121  
Old 09-11-2019, 10:32 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,811
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by massivekerry View Post
Nope. I will probably never need those Voice Packs. I haven't in 25 years of using Pro Tools... and Catalina likely won't run on my existing CheeseGrater, teeing me up for a helluva upgrade expense that I'm not prepared for.
I meant once the dreaded HDX Voice Upgrade is out your card can support 384 voices without extra packs. Also meant the computer you are planning to get next that only likely runs Catalina ... well ... most likely requires PT supporting Catalina
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #122  
Old 09-11-2019, 10:33 AM
cmbourget cmbourget is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Métis-sur-Mer, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 552
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
You don't use Mojave? Many share the opinion that stability of 2019.5 is best ever Avid-branded PT

No, I'm with Windows 10. And it's stable, I must say. But stability is maintenance, not development. It's worth something, but not the price paid in subscription, which (do not forget) is an additional cost after basic purchase.
__________________
Pro Tools Vanilla 2019, Cubase 10, Samplitude Suite Pro X4

PC Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2667 v2 8 cores
3.33 GHz 64 Go, full SSD

Prism sound Atlas and 2 Focal Solo Be + Sub

www.claudemarcbourget.com
www.metis-islands.com
Reply With Quote
  #123  
Old 09-11-2019, 10:37 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,811
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmbourget View Post
No, I'm with Windows 10. And it's stable, I must say.
Okay then. You'll benefit from Catalina support later on, because of Avid's cross-platform development. It means things on Windows side are also going to be fully 64bit compatible before Microsoft enforces 64bit-only like Apple is doing now.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #124  
Old 09-11-2019, 10:39 AM
cmbourget cmbourget is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Métis-sur-Mer, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 552
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Seriously, we all know Avid has dropped the ball this year not being able to deliver their Voice Upgrade in 2019.1 when it was originally planned to be out. It needed to be postponed to 2019.3 and just before release they realised too big a percentage of HDX cards would fail the firmware update for some reason, so it got postponed again and released as 2019.5 without HDX firmware update.

Not defending, just making the point that Avid is half a year behind schedule due to this HDX Voice Upgrade fiasco, and they need to get it done before they need to start working on Catalina compatibility.

So likely all we see this year is HDX Voice Upgrade release and a late december bugfix release. Just being realistic here. Catalina support most likely not this year.

I understand, and it can happen in any business. But if it's a problem for Avid, it's also difficult for paying subscribers. In this case, the companies explain the situation and offer compensation to their subscribers (as an extension of their subscription). That's what I do myself in business, if one of my promised plans has failed.
__________________
Pro Tools Vanilla 2019, Cubase 10, Samplitude Suite Pro X4

PC Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2667 v2 8 cores
3.33 GHz 64 Go, full SSD

Prism sound Atlas and 2 Focal Solo Be + Sub

www.claudemarcbourget.com
www.metis-islands.com
Reply With Quote
  #125  
Old 09-11-2019, 10:42 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,811
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmbourget View Post
I understand, and it can happen in any business. But if it's a problem for Avid, it's also difficult for paying subscribers. In this case, the companies explain the situation and offer compensation to their subscribers (as an extension of their subscription). That's what I do myself in business, if one of my promised plans has failed.
You have a fair point here. In a perfect world Avid would admit they are half a year behind and extend every support plan accordingly. Not getting any deeper into this though. Whatever I say people are calling me fanboi
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #126  
Old 09-11-2019, 10:44 AM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,778
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmbourget View Post
No, I'm with Windows 10. And it's stable, I must say. But stability is maintenance, not development. It's worth something, but not the price paid in subscription, which (do not forget) is an additional cost after basic purchase.
Your comments have been spot-on.
Reply With Quote
  #127  
Old 09-11-2019, 10:52 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,811
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmbourget View Post
But stability is maintenance, not development.
Might be as the rest of the world understands it, but in IT world there are no software maintenance teams, all coding is development be it fixing old issues or inventing new ones.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #128  
Old 09-11-2019, 10:56 AM
massivekerry massivekerry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 69
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
I meant once the dreaded HDX Voice Upgrade is out your card can support 384 voices without extra packs. Also meant the computer you are planning to get next that only likely runs Catalina ... well ... most likely requires PT supporting Catalina
Yeah, but for me, the computer is... later, and I don't even need the 384 voices. What I do need NOW is for them to fix the things they broke that I depend on, and it would be nice if they were able to implement some features that have been requested (on IdeaScale and beyond) for quite some time.

That is, if they're going to bill me $400/year.
Reply With Quote
  #129  
Old 09-11-2019, 10:59 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,811
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by massivekerry View Post
What I do need NOW is for them to fix the things they broke that I depend on
I'm sure you have support cases open for your problems..? Half of your 400-a-year is for support which you can now use as much as you need to, not having to think about the cost of a single ticket
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #130  
Old 09-11-2019, 12:06 PM
zion's Avatar
zion zion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,042
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
What is the promise Avid has broken that you are referring to?

Surely you must not mean their 2019.1 release slipping to 2019.3 and then 2019.5 because they do not promise any specific release, those dot-one and dot-three were only rumors confirmed by Avid.
Well when they first started the new upgrade model they did promise bug fixes would continue at no charge.
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6 | Studio One 4.5 Pro | Pro Tools 12.5.2 HD | Apollo X8 | UAD Octo Sat | UAD Quad Sat | Mac Mini 2018 i7 | 16GB Ram | 512GB SSD | Mojave 10.14.3 | OWC ThunderBay 4 | Drives’s Samsung EVO 860 + 840 + Crucial M4 SSD | Plugins | UAD, Softube, Waves, Nugen, Fabfilter, SSL, Lexicon, Eastwest, NI KOMP 9 ULT, PSP, IKMulti, Antares, Celemony, Slate Dig, etc | AKAI Pro Adv 61 | PreSonus Fader Port | Townsend Labs Sphere L22

Last edited by zion; 09-11-2019 at 12:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Update Module Firmware message after 3.7 update WildHoney Pro Tools | S6 1 10-21-2017 11:28 AM
Sierra 10.10.6 - To COMBO update - or App Store Update ? Seafoam_Green macOS 4 09-15-2017 01:19 PM
HD Native cant Update Firmware after installing PT9.0.5 Update Aditu Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 72 11-27-2012 03:57 PM
10.3 Update - Windows shutdown issue has returned. Update at your own risk. crm0510 Windows 14 09-19-2012 01:50 PM
10.5.6 update. Is it safe to apply the system update from 10.5.5? SBCCMusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 02-02-2009 02:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com