Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-07-2019, 02:12 PM
Markrosoft Markrosoft is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 44
Default Plugin Window Disappears if I select another Track

Either updating to 2019.5 or deleting my preferences is causing something I've never experienced: if I open a plugin window and then just select a different track (NOT another plug-in, but literally just select another TRACK) the plugin window I opened disappears.

So, just to make this clear... I open Kontakt on a track called Piano. Then I just click on a track called cello and my Kontakt piano disappears.

This never used to happen and for the life of me can't find where the setting is to change this back to the normal behavior - a plugin window stays open until you close it or open another plugin. I know I can click the red box to leave the plugin open but again, I'm looking to return it to the default behavior.

Does anyone know where this preference can be changed?? Thank you for your help!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-07-2019, 02:47 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,062
Default Re: Plugin Window Disappears if I select another Track

It has to do with Eucon. Do you use a Eucon controller (is it turned on in Peripherals)? There are a lot of options now on how plugin windows (and pan and send and etc.) operate when a track is brought to attention.

You just need to go through them to find what works for you in Eucontrol.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-09-2019, 08:12 AM
Markrosoft Markrosoft is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 44
Default Re: Plugin Window Disappears if I select another Track

Thank you - you are totally right. For anyone else coming across this problem, you just go into EuControl Settings -> General -> and then unclick "Close Windows on Workstation When Exiting."

Thanks again BScout.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-25-2019, 12:32 PM
glennaudio glennaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 116
Default Re: Plugin Window Disappears if I select another Track

thanks for this solution. this was driving me crazy!!!
__________________
MacPro 5,1: 12-core 2.93 GHz 48GB RAM OS X 10.12.2 | Pro Tools HDNative 12.7.1 | HD I/O 8x8x8 | UA 4-710D | Avalon VT737 | Waves Diamond | Komplete 12 Ultimate Collector's | Kontrol S61 | Maschine Studio | Eleven Rack | Pro Tools Control w/ 9.7" iPad Pro | Pro Tools Dock
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-25-2019, 09:30 PM
DAWgEAR's Avatar
DAWgEAR DAWgEAR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: California, USA
Posts: 329
Default Re: Plugin Window Disappears if I select another Track

Thanks from me too!
__________________
Pro Tools HD Native 2019.6 | HD Omni | iMac Pro: 10-Core 3.0 GHZ - 64 GB - 2 TB - Vega 56 | Sonnet Echo Express SE II for PT HD Native PCIe and UAD 2 Quad PCIe card | Pro Tools Dock
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-26-2019, 12:42 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,779
Default Re: Plugin Window Disappears if I select another Track

And there are many of us who are seeing this behavior randomly. There was a thread about it when 2019.5 was first released. A Eucon update around that time did help but unfortunately it's back again.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-31-2019, 11:02 AM
magnumpraw magnumpraw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1
Default Re: Plugin Window Disappears if I select another Track

Holy smokes, thank you!! This has been driving me insane!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-15-2019, 10:48 AM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,723
Default Re: Plugin Window Disappears if I select another Track

Yeah, this has been driving me crazy for 5 months! I checked EuControl Settings a bunch of times and didn't see the setting. That preference should be renamed from "Close Windows on Workstation when Exiting." To "Close plug-in Windows when selecting another track".

I'm so glad someone figured out what setting that was.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools 12.8.3 HDX Mac OS 10.12.6
Mac Pro Quad 3.2 Nehalem with 32 GB RAM
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Keyboard shortcut to arm/select next midi track in mix window ronwasserman Pro Tools 12 2 01-25-2018 01:32 PM
Plugin window follow select? jasenj1 ICON & C|24 2 10-08-2014 07:39 AM
No "Select Next Track" key command for mix window? Benny_Cha_Cha Pro Tools 11 3 08-17-2014 07:38 AM
Is there a way to automatically bring a track you select into view in the edit window Focuret Artist Series 4 01-05-2013 01:48 PM
clicking Apple + Auto on a track plugin window Pete Gates Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-09-2005 10:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com