Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-30-2018, 01:01 PM
baranger1 baranger1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12
Default 003 console LCD random characters-Help

My 003 console lcd shows random characters in the offline mode after its been on a few hours.
If turn it on and off or switch to the midi map and back the characters disappear for an hour or more.
Does any one know of this problem or what the issue could be?
It does this stand alone as well.

Thank you for any help.
Bill Ruppert
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-30-2018, 08:52 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,801
Default Re: 003 console LCD random characters-Help

Not sure what's going on, but you need to have some more info:
#1-this one is crucial*** DO NOT "hot-patch" the 003(plug or unplug the FW cable). Doing this can(and usually will) fry the FW circuit in the 003, the FW controller in the computer, or both
#2-the 003 does not have a "stand-alone" mode(the 002 did, but the 003 does not).
#3-what computer is it? Does it have an approved FW chip installed(post a Sisoft Sandra Lite report if this is a PC as that can reveal hardware compatibility problems). The 2 most common FW controller chips are VIA and TI(Texas Instruments) and VIA often will not work.

#4-is this a new problem and the 003 worked fine recently, or it a new(to you) setup?
#5-(for PC) have you tried all 3 of the firewire drivers that are available? Avid recommends the Legacy firewire driver, but that never worked for me. Of the other 2 drivers(if you tell the computer, "Let me choose from a list" in the driver update menu), the driver that worked when I had my 003 was the "T.I. Compliant driver(the 3rd option turned the 003 surface into midi note messages).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-31-2018, 07:17 AM
baranger1 baranger1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12
Default Re: 003 console LCD random characters-Help

Hi Dave!
By stand alone I mean the random numbers and characters show up after the 003 is on for a few hours in "offline" mode. They also appear after a few hours with the 003 not being connected to the computer at all!
So this is not a computer issue.

The characters are $, numbers, letters and even Japanese characters.
When used with Pro Tools the console is fine and the characters are gone.
They vanish in offline mode if I hit the midi map button or turn the console off and on again.
It could be the power supply is going or a leaky cap some where.
I was just very surprised to see no else had reported this issue!
Thanks Bill
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-31-2018, 08:34 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,801
Default Re: 003 console LCD random characters-Help

Aha Given that, it could be a PSU issue, or a connection issue. Given the age, this might be a sign to start saving for a new interface
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For anyone who is having the random white noise burst / random distortion problem Philly 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-23-2010 04:56 AM
Random Graphic Characters in Audio Regions - PT TDM 6.2.3 ChrisMitchell Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 05-21-2008 11:25 AM
PCI Buss SPiking... random random....HELP!! s0nguy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 3 04-04-2006 09:36 AM
-9073 and -6086 DAE Errors RANDOM, RANDOM, RANDOM mikerica101996 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-13-2004 01:08 PM
OFFICIAL!! Random mute bug not random!! Gwyn ap Harri 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 14 10-09-2003 10:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com