Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-15-2018, 01:44 PM
danander11 danander11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4,012
Default Minimum recording latency for Windows?

After being on a Mac for ages I am thinking of jumping to windows... will someone tell me please what the minimum latency is that I can set for recording using the windows version of 2018?

Thanks
__________________
Here I am,
after time not long...
and thankful for the break,
What I found when I got there,
was that I couldn't stay away!

Hobo Shave!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-15-2018, 02:10 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,810
Default Re: Minimum recording latency for Windows?

Depends on the sample rate and the interface(99% of my work is 24/48). I can't give you specific numbers, but I can tell you that a properly tweaked Windows machine will track a full band at a 64 buffer without issue and without audible latency(subject to plugin choices). By choosing plugins carefully, Delay Compensation can be kept between 0 samples and 7 samples(my IK bass amp plugin) and with a firewire interface(003) headphone latency is ALMOST never mentioned(there was this one guy......). Now with HD/Native, headphone latency is NEVER mentioned at all(and I am doing 6 stereo headphone mixes from the session). My session templates do have many hi-latency plugins in place, but they are made inactive until its time to mix

Also, recording midi from keyboard controllers also works great, with no perceived latency in the phones(here again, I choose VI plugins that are low-power while tracking, such as MiniGrand instead of Keyscape).

Bottom line is; you can do pretty much anything and everything on a Windows rig, just as you can on a Mac, but the hardware needs to be chosen carefully(get the incorrect motherboard and you are SOL) and there are a few more system tweaks to consider(BIOS is something that Mac users don't deal with AFAIK). DO NOT buy a PC from the typical computer or big box store. Buy from someone that specializes in Pro Tools builds. I highly recommend pro-tools-pc.com(and yes, you can even get a PC with Thunderbolt)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-15-2018, 02:35 PM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,321
Default Re: Minimum recording latency for Windows?

The very real latency advantage of Macs ended beginning with system X.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-15-2018, 04:06 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,919
Default Re: Minimum recording latency for Windows?

Window 10 here. Latency is never brought up by clients at all.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-15-2018, 07:04 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,666
Default Re: Minimum recording latency for Windows?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
Window 10 here. Latency is never brought up by clients at all.


Well the OP should have stated what interface he is using......HDX doesn’t qualify for Latency pro/con because it doesn’t have any
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-16-2018, 02:30 AM
danander11 danander11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4,012
Default Re: Minimum recording latency for Windows?

Thanks Gents.. I really should drop by more often. I've forgotten how many of you I actually miss chatting with.

I'm going to stick pt on Win 10 tonight and play with it for a day or three and see how it feels..
__________________
Here I am,
after time not long...
and thankful for the break,
What I found when I got there,
was that I couldn't stay away!

Hobo Shave!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-16-2018, 07:51 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,919
Default Re: Minimum recording latency for Windows?

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
Well the OP should have stated what interface he is using......HDX doesn’t qualify for Latency pro/con because it doesn’t have any
Hi Daniel,

I also don't have latency issues with HDN on Windows.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-16-2018, 07:53 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,919
Default Re: Minimum recording latency for Windows?

Quote:
Originally Posted by danander11 View Post
Thanks Gents.. I really should drop by more often. I've forgotten how many of you I actually miss chatting with.

I'm going to stick pt on Win 10 tonight and play with it for a day or three and see how it feels..
It's good seeing you back, Dan. How have you been lately?
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-19-2018, 01:01 AM
danander11 danander11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4,012
Default Re: Minimum recording latency for Windows?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
It's good seeing you back, Dan. How have you been lately?
Good Tom, thanks! How's about yourself? I really need to stop by my next trip through LA.. We're planning for a year from now but we'll see.

Not done much other than editing/tuning for the last few years but I'm setting up a small song-writing office at home for myself and my 12 y.o. He's just started at a performing arts high school, (they start in year 7 here), and he'll need to know how to record/edit/etc...

plus.. I just want to write some songs.
__________________
Here I am,
after time not long...
and thankful for the break,
What I found when I got there,
was that I couldn't stay away!

Hobo Shave!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-19-2018, 07:13 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,919
Default Re: Minimum recording latency for Windows?

Always fun to remember the old Route 66 Burma Shave days.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Odd latency issue - even when H/W Buffersize set to minimum SimL Windows 1 04-11-2018 07:34 AM
Minimum System for Recording Only seanmccoy macOS 45 09-18-2017 12:02 PM
Field Recording Minimum Requirements gblentz Windows 7 11-18-2012 09:04 AM
What's the minimum laptop for recording? pixel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 11-30-2003 10:38 PM
Whats the difference between Low Latency recording and recording on low latency with Dead River Studio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-25-2002 01:22 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:38 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com