Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-15-2013, 08:26 PM
gamblor gamblor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 92
Default clip gain on multiple tracks at once?

is this possible?
example, bass amp and di, both need some clip gain.
can i do both at once?
i haven't been able to figure that out yet.
highlighting both tracks didn't do it.
group didn't do it.
keybd shortcut?

thanks...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-16-2013, 12:26 AM
P,B,S P,B,S is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: themoon
Posts: 286
Default Re: clip gain on multiple tracks at once?

highlight all the tracks you want, then use the selector tool to adjust them.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-16-2013, 03:55 AM
bad jitter bad jitter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Tellus
Posts: 1,367
Default Re: clip gain on multiple tracks at once?

Not front of my PT rig now, but If I remember right, higlighting the regions you wan to adjust and control-shift mousewheeling the cg value adjusts them all.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-16-2013, 04:33 AM
Phil Ogden Phil Ogden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,107
Default Re: clip gain on multiple tracks at once?

You can group clips across multiple tracks. That way a single clip gain adjustment affects all similarly.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-16-2013, 08:22 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,606
Default Re: clip gain on multiple tracks at once?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gamblor View Post
is this possible?
example, bass amp and di, both need some clip gain.
can i do both at once?
i haven't been able to figure that out yet.
highlighting both tracks didn't do it.
group didn't do it.
keybd shortcut?

thanks...
Group the tracks, select the regions, then shift-control- up or down arrow will trim clip gain as a group. You can also do it by displaying the clip-gain line in views and trimming with standard automation trim tools, but I find this less convenient.

best,
rich
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-16-2013, 09:09 PM
gamblor gamblor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 92
Default Re: clip gain on multiple tracks at once?

cool.
using the clip gain line with groups worked.
but not the up down arrows. caused mac screen to zoom in or out.
now, does it need to be in 'show clip gain line'?
or can you do it somehow with only the little clip gain fader?

thanks for all the input and help...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-17-2013, 03:56 AM
Phil Ogden Phil Ogden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,107
Default Re: clip gain on multiple tracks at once?

Yes if you use the method I outlined above i.e group the clips not the tracks.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-17-2013, 08:55 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,606
Default Re: clip gain on multiple tracks at once?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gamblor View Post
...
but not the up down arrows. caused mac screen to zoom in or out....
or can you do it somehow with only the little clip gain fader?

thanks for all the input and help...
Check your keyboard system prefs - you've probably got a system shortcut for screen zooming. Shift-ctrl-arrow will change grouped clip gains and display via clip gain fader.

best,
rich
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-17-2013, 10:20 AM
bad jitter bad jitter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Tellus
Posts: 1,367
Default Re: clip gain on multiple tracks at once?

OK, now front of my MacBook. First, you don't have to create any (track or clip) groups for the trick. Just select the regions you want to adjust and while pressing control and shift down use mouse wheel to adjust the level of their clip gain. Or like I am doing now with MacBook, using trackpad with two fingers instead of mouse wheel. Works great, is one of my favorite features and I use it almost every day.

What I don't like though, is that sometimes when adjusting clip gain you lose the numerical value shown in the clip, and I don't know how to get it back. Anyone knows?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT10 Clip gain - multiple clips adjust at once? willco macOS 6 12-09-2018 08:39 AM
Clip gain on clip groups: bug or feature? idris Post - Surround - Video 6 01-02-2013 10:48 PM
Clip gain multiple clips workflow cjwalker Pro Tools 10 0 10-12-2012 02:53 AM
Clip Gain won’t update in real time during playback on Elastic Time tracks yanos macOS 0 06-03-2012 03:48 PM
Gain on multiple tracks? gastrocnemius 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 12-06-2008 02:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com