Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-08-2017, 06:40 AM
Fezzter Fezzter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Denmark
Posts: 23
Default PT12 & Audient ID14 incompatible?

Hi,

So I just sold my Eleven rack to get a new primary interface, and I chose the ID14 from Audient over the Scarlett 6i6.

After I went through the installation of the drivers and software from the Audient website I opened up one of the projects I'm currently working on. I did notice that it took a bit longer to open than usual, but nothing too bad. When trying to playback i get the error message: "Pro Tools could not initialize the Audient USB ASIO driver" and then prompts me to confirm that it is set up correctly. Then when I try to close Pro tools it takes forever to close the project, and most of the times it does not respond and I have to force it to close.

I checked that the ID14 was not set to be the primary soundcard for windows, as I read that could be an issue (Even though that was not a problem with my 11Rack). And I always check that my soundcard is set to the same sample rate as the project I'm opening, even though it seems the ID software sets this automatically.

I tried uninstalling the drivers and ID softaware to see if I could get PT to behave on it's own. This works fine. Projects open and I can playback and edit fine, so the problem is definitely the ID software. I just donøt know if there is windows og Pro tools component that I missed or simply isn't compatible.

If anybody has any solution or insights it would really be appreciated, as it is currently imporssible for me to work on anything in this situation.

I'm running PT12 on a PC with windows 7 ultimate.
__________________
Pro Tools 12
Windows 7 ultimate
Intel Core i5-4670, 3,4 GHz
8GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-08-2017, 07:19 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 10,786
Default Re: PT12 & Audient ID14 incompatible?

Try launch PT with the "N" key and choose the ID14 when prompted.

See if that helps and it stays connected.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#ninjakittenshatecrunchyleaves

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-08-2017, 07:31 AM
Fezzter Fezzter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Denmark
Posts: 23
Default Re: PT12 & Audient ID14 incompatible?

Yeah, I tried that several times. sometimes I'm able to get it to playback in a session, and everything seems to be working. then I try and open another project and I'm back where I started.
__________________
Pro Tools 12
Windows 7 ultimate
Intel Core i5-4670, 3,4 GHz
8GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-08-2017, 08:57 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 10,786
Default Re: PT12 & Audient ID14 incompatible?

And you are running as admin and still have these problems?
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#ninjakittenshatecrunchyleaves

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-08-2017, 09:44 AM
Fezzter Fezzter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Denmark
Posts: 23
Default Re: PT12 & Audient ID14 incompatible?

As far as I can remember, yes. I think I set it so that pro tools always runs as admin. I just find it strange that my 11rack has been running fine with no problem on 6 year old drivers
__________________
Pro Tools 12
Windows 7 ultimate
Intel Core i5-4670, 3,4 GHz
8GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-08-2017, 11:23 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 33,965
Default Re: PT12 & Audient ID14 incompatible?

Audient connected to a USB2 or USB3 port? Try another port? If all you have on the computer are USB3 ports, maybe try a USB2 hub? If none of this helps, I would start a conversation with Audient

As a "last ditch", you could try ASIO4ALL, but its not a "great" solution
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-09-2017, 12:07 AM
Fezzter Fezzter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Denmark
Posts: 23
Default Re: PT12 & Audient ID14 incompatible?

I did think of the USB2 vs 3 thing last night, haven't tried it yet, though. Will do when I get home. I just figured it might be best to use the newest USB3 port, as i remember seeing someone saying that worked wonders with his scarlett interface. This is another brand, though...
Also tried the ASIO4ALL drivers. that just seemed to confuse the system even more. Not that it made it worse, but it didn't help either.

I'm currently waiting for Audient to get back to me.
__________________
Pro Tools 12
Windows 7 ultimate
Intel Core i5-4670, 3,4 GHz
8GB RAM

Last edited by Fezzter; 01-09-2017 at 12:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-09-2017, 11:06 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,889
Default Re: PT12 & Audient ID14 incompatible?

While this won't help you it may give you some hope. Some time ago I tried to help a radio cluster with their new Audient and new install of Pro Tools on PC. Audient had told them there would be no problem with their interface and Pro Tools. We tried everything possible to get it to work. When they contacted Audient again, they finally admitted their driver was the issue and quickly sent them a new one. Problem solved.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audient iD22 with PT12 and Windows Zoster91 Third Party Interfaces 1 12-27-2016 03:51 PM
Audient id14 Interface & Great River Pre-amp i/o jortiz7 Pro Tools 11 7 12-16-2015 02:02 PM
Audient iD22 persuader Third Party Interfaces 8 11-14-2015 02:07 PM
Any experiences with the Audient 8 Channel mic pre lampmusic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 04-02-2009 09:24 PM
pro control vs audient speedyk5 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-23-2002 04:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com