Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-17-2014, 10:39 AM
Giftofsound Giftofsound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 84
Default 003 with PT9 CPTK crashes

Hi guys,

I have a crash almost twice a day that forces my to restart the 003 and the pro tools and its becomming a major slowdown with clients.

Is there anyone that can help me identify and learn to avoid this crash?

Here is part of the crash log:

Code:
Process:         Pro Tools [6193]
Path:            /Applications/Digidesign/Pro Tools/Pro Tools.app/Contents/MacOS/Pro Tools
Identifier:      com.digidesign.ProTools
Version:         9.0.6 (9.0.6f82)
Code Type:       X86 (Native)
Parent Process:  launchd [250]

Date/Time:       2014-01-17 12:37:08.555 -0500
OS Version:      Mac OS X 10.6.8 (10K549)
Report Version:  6

Interval Since Last Report:          59141469 sec
Crashes Since Last Report:           938
Per-App Interval Since Last Report:  48613193 sec
Per-App Crashes Since Last Report:   222
Anonymous UUID:                      291C523C-F3EA-4639-BBB6-73990EB4C03C

Exception Type:  EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGBUS)
Exception Codes: KERN_PROTECTION_FAILURE at 0x0000000000000000
Crashed Thread:  0  Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread

Thread 0 Crashed:  Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread
__________________
Matt R. Sherman
Re-Recording Mixer/Sound Editor
http://www.giftofsound.ca
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-17-2014, 11:57 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 32,884
Default Re: 003 with PT9 CPTK crashes

A crash report is of little help with zero details about the system
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-18-2014, 01:30 PM
Giftofsound Giftofsound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 84
Default Re: 003 with PT9 CPTK crashes

Thanks! My bad heres more info about the system!

Mac pro 2x 2.26 quad core intel xeon

8 gigs of ddr 3

Running osx 10.6.8

Has a blackmagic intensity pro for pcie video out

3 x 1TB WD caviar black drives in the system

and 1 WD 4 TB external drive (USB)

Only firewire connected is the 003.

I have an avid mix and avid control hooked up via ethernet as well

Please let me know if there is anything else you need to help solve this! Thanks!
__________________
Matt R. Sherman
Re-Recording Mixer/Sound Editor
http://www.giftofsound.ca
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-19-2014, 08:29 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 32,884
Default Re: 003 with PT9 CPTK crashes

Trash prefs?
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-20-2014, 08:48 AM
Giftofsound Giftofsound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 84
Default Re: 003 with PT9 CPTK crashes

I have already trashed prefs :-(

This issue happens 2-3 times a day. Mainly when closing a session.

The only way to get PT back up and running is a full reboot of the system and the 003.

Thanks please help!
__________________
Matt R. Sherman
Re-Recording Mixer/Sound Editor
http://www.giftofsound.ca
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-20-2014, 10:39 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,776
Default Re: 003 with PT9 CPTK crashes

Are you using the 11.0 drivers from here:http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/d...02-003-Drivers

Are you running the latest version of PT 9 available in your Avid account?

Joel
__________________
Jame Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Intel S5000PSL / 2 x Xeon E5450 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / M-Audio Project Mix IO

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-22-2014, 11:37 AM
Giftofsound Giftofsound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 84
Default Re: 003 with PT9 CPTK crashes

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoelG View Post
Are you using the 11.0 drivers from here:http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/d...02-003-Drivers

Are you running the latest version of PT 9 available in your Avid account?

Joel
Yes am completely up to date.
__________________
Matt R. Sherman
Re-Recording Mixer/Sound Editor
http://www.giftofsound.ca
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-22-2014, 12:48 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 11,186
Default Re: 003 with PT9 CPTK crashes

Can you post a complete crash report, paste across several posts if you need to. A crash report without any stack traces is virtually useless.

Does this only happen with one session? If so, then it's likely corrupted, if so go back to the last workign backup of your session, or create a new session and import the current session content/media into that.

If not, you need to exclude plugins, temporarily move all third party plugins out of their RTAS folder. Trash prefs and databases. Start Pro Tools. Does the problem still happen? If that stopped the problem then put the plugins back in batches to see if you can find the culprit. (you have to do this, just disabling a Plugin within Pro Tools is not sufficient).

If not unisntall everything... Pro Tools (with uninstaller clean option), plugins etc. and reinstall them all again.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-22-2014, 04:40 PM
Giftofsound Giftofsound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 84
Default Re: 003 with PT9 CPTK crashes

Thanks kindly! It does seem to be restricted to one session after further testing! I have imported the session data into a new session and it still seems to happen. Problem is, the crash occurs after heavy mixing and full days, so its hard to reproduce when I am alone! Ill get the full crash report in here as soon as it re-appears! Thanks you so much!
__________________
Matt R. Sherman
Re-Recording Mixer/Sound Editor
http://www.giftofsound.ca
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-22-2014, 05:11 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 11,186
Default Re: 003 with PT9 CPTK crashes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Giftofsound View Post
Thanks kindly! It does seem to be restricted to one session after further testing! I have imported the session data into a new session and it still seems to happen. Problem is, the crash occurs after heavy mixing and full days, so its hard to reproduce when I am alone! Ill get the full crash report in here as soon as it re-appears! Thanks you so much!
No problem. And I know what a PITA this can be, even when you think you proved its one things it comes back. And with other crashes recently of Pro Tools 11 folks have had the worst case of things that need some combination of corrupted session and specific plugins. Make sure you are making daily (or more) full backup of your session and saving them elsewhere, and that those backups include all media/content as well.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT9 + CPTK upgrading to 11 with CPTK functionality but without hardware? Race Pro Tools Software (Mac) 1 09-18-2013 08:23 PM
PT10.0.1 and CPTK only there's no CPTK features unlocked Oblivion777 Pro Tools 10 Discussion 8 02-28-2012 08:55 AM
CPTK 1 + CPTK 2 question boabyd23 Pro Tools Software (Mac) 2 10-24-2011 06:13 AM
Why buy CPTK? dccarson Pro Tools 9 Discussion 4 11-18-2010 04:05 PM
Original CPTK works as CPTK 2 ? JanuS Pro Tools 9 Discussion 5 11-08-2010 08:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com