Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-26-2011, 05:54 PM
papacriss papacriss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tucson Arizona
Posts: 7
Default Arturia Spark and Pro Tools 9.0.3

Help! Please!
Below is a post I did at Arturia. I'm desperate for a handle on the problem so please excuse any terseness, I'm just frustrated. Also, this forum won't let me load the pictures so I had to edit the text there. Sorry.
-----
I may be new to the recording arts but I have a degree in electronics and I’ve been trained and certified for every Apple System and OS since 1982. I work in all kinds of environments solving all kinds of software, hardware and network problems and I know it just can’t be this ridiculously difficult to get a Spark to work in Pro Tools 9.0.3.

Let me be clear on what I’m looking for. I need to know that, yes, the Spark is currently not so much compatible with Pro Tools 9.0.3 and the expected fix will be out in so may days/weeks/months … OR… Spark is fine, but I need to do X,Y or Z to make it work with Pro Tools …OR… Spark has compatibility issues with X,Y,Z hardware or software …OR… Pro Tools has an issue that Avid is working on and an update will be out in the next so many days/weeks/months …OR… that I am making all of the newbee mistakes in one go and the following clearly written English language documents will set me on the correct path so I can quit mucking around with this expensive studio and actually let the fellow who owns it ply his incredibly talented craft.

Currently the Spark will run fine in the standalone software. Nice, but not what I’m interested in. I want the Spark to put down MIDI on one track and its audio on another just like I do with the Arturia 49 Laboratory Experience. Sometimes the Spark will kind of do that, but mostly it won’t. Mostly it just crashes Pro Tools.

I have dumped all the Audio MIDI Setup prefs and even created a new setup in AMS. I have dumped the Pro Tools prefs several times. I have even reinstalled the Spark drivers and done the 1.1.1 update again. I have run PT with zero, none, nada other plug-in’s except the Arturia ones. PT crashed when I tried to bring the Spark in on an instrument track. I ran PT with just the Spark plugin. PT crashed when I launch the Spark plug-in. The Spark window opens but instead of spinning the connection indicator and making a connection with the Spark, the plug-in does nothing for about 4 seconds then bam! Pro Tools crashes.

If I open an existing project that has the Spark already loaded in an instrument track it will make contact most of the time. If I deactivate the Spark in the instrument track, then re-activate it, Pro Tools crashes. If I create a new instrument track inside a project that works with the Spark and then try and load the Spark into a new instrument track, PT crashes. Obviously it didn’t always do this, but even for the few times it did load properly it would eventually crash or not depending on the east wind and time of day.

The only difference between now and when I could at least launch Spark in PT is that I installed all of the updates for the Arturia Origin (took it from 1.0.7 to 1.3.5). Everything else is the same and incredibly stable.
I have tried using a wall wart for power and midi cables to the MOTU Express 128 and found that NOTHING will see the Spark if the USB cable is not plugged in. That too strikes me as ODD, it is a MIDI device after all. Below is the rest of the information. Of note, after I did the Spark 1.1.1 update both this last time and the very first time, it placed a grayed out update controller at the top of the Audio MIDI Setup.

Thanks for any and all help and or suggestions, we really do want to keep the spark.
-Chris

System
Mac Pro 2 X 2.26 Quad-Core Intel Xeon
10.6.7 - 6 gig ram - 4 TB over 5 drive (SATA, USB & FireWire).
MOTU- Two 2408, HDX-SDI, Express 128
Arturia Spark, 49 Laboratory, Origin (all current updates)
Electrix Warp Factory
Focusrite and Benchmark pre's
Tascam recorders, Alsis ADAT, JLCooper controllers
Furman signal router, headphone monitor
Pro Tools 9.0.3 plus a few expensive plug-ins.

MIDI
I added a blank MIDI instrument in the pictures below just to show what the controller connections are detected as. Normally there is nothing attached to the Spark or UpDate controller. Also, I put the Analog Laboratory on MIDI cables and a wall wart since its primary usage is to control the Origin.
The UPGRADER (Spark 1.1.1 upgrade) is always grayed out but why is it even showing up?

The Spark shows TWO sets of ports. The left are the Public In and Public Out. The right are the Private Ports in and out.
The ports are of course unchangeable.

Note: When I do the MIDI test, it is only the Private In port that indicates that it is active. That may be normal but since there is no documentation on that part, I can only guess.


Pro Tools 9.0.3

The SPARK shows up as a Controller in the Predefined sub section with an option for Private and Public. Private in is an option even though I have it unchecked. Why?

Crash log too long to include

Process: Pro Tools [2132]
Path: /Applications/Digidesign/Pro Tools/Pro Tools.app/Contents/MacOS/Pro Tools
Identifier: com.digidesign.ProTools
Version: 9.0.3 (9.0.3f81)
Code Type: X86 (Native)
Parent Process: launchd [139]

Date/Time: 2011-06-25 20:52:12.714 -0700
OS Version: Mac OS X 10.6.7 (10J869)
Report Version: 6

Interval Since Last Report: 167363 sec
Crashes Since Last Report: 35
Per-App Interval Since Last Report: 16105 sec
Per-App Crashes Since Last Report: 30
Anonymous UUID: C1C84D4D-5565-425D-AD95-CEE6C0AE2A98

Exception Type: EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGBUS)
Exception Codes: KERN_PROTECTION_FAILURE at 0x0000000000000001
Crashed Thread: 0 Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread

Thread 0 Crashed: Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread
0 libSystem.B.dylib 0x94caaeb9 wcscmp + 23
1 com.arturia..SparkRTAS 0x2e32f9a2 juce:perator<(juce::String const&, juce::String const&) + 34
2 com.arturia..SparkRTAS 0x2e1899cf ARTURIA::ArturiaPreset::GetAttribute(std::multimap <juce::String, juce::String, std::less<juce::String>, std::allocator<std:air<juce::String const, juce::String> > >&, juce::String const&) + 59
3 com.arturia..SparkRTAS 0x2e17a611 ARTURIA::ADSPreset::GetInstrumentAttribute(unsigne d char, juce::String const&) + 39
4 com.arturia..SparkRTAS 0x2e17167c ARTURIA::ADSPresetManager::GetMotionTypeName(int, int, ARTURIA::ADSPreset*, ARTURIA::AJGuiInterface*) + 200
5 com.arturia..SparkRTAS 0x2e0ce7b0 ARTURIA::ADSInstrumentSelectSection::UpdateParamet ersName(int, int) + 632
6 com.arturia..SparkRTAS 0x2e0cf226 ARTURIA::ADSInstrumentSelectSection::ChildInternal Update() + 1548
7 com.arturia..SparkRTAS 0x2e0cfbbd ARTURIA::ADSInstrumentSelectSection::setGuiParamet er(int, float) + 895
8 com.arturia..SparkRTAS 0x2e0cf838 non-virtual thunk to ARTURIA::ADSInstrumentSelectSection::setGuiParamet er(int, float) + 40
9 com.arturia..SparkRTAS 0x2e187f3a ARTURIA::AJParameterMessenger::broadcastSetGuiPara meter(int, float) + 134
10 com.arturia..SparkRTAS 0x2e187c67 ARTURIA::AJParameterMessenger::handleMessage(juce: :Message const&) + 67
11 com.arturia..SparkRTAS 0x2e201b9a juce::MessageManager::deliverMessage(void*) + 138
12 com.arturia..SparkRTAS 0x2e35e7ca juce::AppDelegateRedirector::runLoopSourceCallback (void*) + 186
13 com.apple.CoreFoundation 0x962f94cb __CFRunLoopDoSources0 + 1563
14 com.apple.CoreFoundation 0x962f6f8f __CFRunLoopRun + 1071
15 com.apple.CoreFoundation 0x962f6464 CFRunLoopRunSpecific + 452
16 com.apple.CoreFoundation 0x962f6291 CFRunLoopRunInMode + 97
17 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x94397e04 RunCurrentEventLoopInMode + 392
18 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x94397bb9 ReceiveNextEventCommon + 354
19 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x94520084 _AcquireNextEvent + 54
20 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x94515d40 RunApplicationEventLoop + 228
21 com.digidesign.framework.DFW 0x031510e9 DFW_EventLoop::RunApplicationEventLoop() + 11
22 com.digidesign.framework.DFW 0x0303865b TApplication::Run() + 45
23 ...gidesign.framework.ProTools 0x01dc6ebf LaunchProTools + 4774
24 com.digidesign.ProTools 0x0000f5a2 0x1000 + 58786
25 com.digidesign.ProTools 0x0000e5b7 0x1000 + 54711
26 com.digidesign.ProTools 0x0000e4e5 0x1000 + 54501

Model: MacPro4,1, BootROM MP41.0081.B07, 8 processors, Quad-Core Intel Xeon, 2.26 GHz, 6 GB, SMC 1.39f5
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GT 120, NVIDIA GeForce GT 120, PCIe, 512 MB
Memory Module: global_name
Bluetooth: Version 2.4.0f1, 2 service, 12 devices, 1 incoming serial ports
Network Service: Ethernet 1, Ethernet, en0
PCI Card: pci-bridge, sppci_pci2pcibridge, Slot-3
PCI Card: pci137a,5, sppci_audio, Slot-3@4,0,0
PCI Card: pci-bridge, sppci_pci2pcibridge, Slot-4
PCI Card: pci-bridge, sppci_pci2pcibridge, Slot-4@6,2,0
PCI Card: pci-bridge, sppci_pci2pcibridge, Slot-4@6,1,0
PCI Card: pci-bridge, sppci_pci2pcibridge, Slot-4@9,0,0
PCI Card: pci1033,e0, USB Enhanced Host Controller, Slot-4@10,0,1
PCI Card: pci1033,35, sppci_usbopenhost, Slot-4@10,0,0
PCI Card: pci-bridge, sppci_pci2pcibridge, Slot-4@6,0,0
PCI Card: pci-bridge, sppci_pci2pcibridge, Slot-4@7,0,0
PCI Card: pci104c,823f, sppci_ieee1394openhci, Slot-4@8,0,0
PCI Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 120, Display, Slot-1
PCI Card: MOTU HDX-SDI, sppci_video, Slot-2
Serial ATA Device: HL-DT-ST DVD-RW GH41N, 408.7 MB
Serial ATA Device: WDC WD6400AAKS-41H2B0, 596.17 GB
Serial ATA Device: WDC WD1600AAJS-00L7A0, 149.05 GB
Serial ATA Device: Hitachi HDS722020ALA330, 1.82 TB
USB Device: Hub, 0x0409 (NEC Corporation), 0x005a, 0xfa200000
USB Device: 15 in 1 MEDIA READER USB 2.0, 0x050d (Belkin Corporation), 0x0211, 0xfa220000
USB Device: iLok, 0x088e, 0x5036, 0xfa230000
USB Device: CFUDMA_SD Reader, 0x05dc (Lexar Media, Inc.), 0xb035, 0xfa210000
USB Device: Keyboard Hub, 0x05ac (Apple Inc.), 0x1006, 0x20100000
USB Device: Plantronics .Audio 646 DSP, 0x047f (Plantronics, Inc.), 0xc001, 0x20110000
USB Device: USB Optical Mouse, 0x046d (Logitech Inc.), 0xc064, 0x20130000
USB Device: Apple Keyboard, 0x05ac (Apple Inc.), 0x0220, 0x20120000
USB Device: Spark Controller, 0x1c75, 0x0301, 0x1d100000
USB Device: Express 128, 0x07fd, 0x0001, 0x3d100000
USB Device: BRCM2046 Hub, 0x0a5c (Broadcom Corp.), 0x4500, 0x5a100000
USB Device: Bluetooth USB Host Controller, 0x05ac (Apple Inc.), 0x8215, 0x5a110000
FireWire Device: Duende Mini board, Solid State Logic, Up to 400 Mb/sec
FireWire Device: built-in_hub, Up to 800 Mb/sec
FireWire Device: Hard Drive FW/USB, LaCie, Up to 400 Mb/sec
FireWire Device: 934DS Drive 0, Oxford, Up to 800 Mb/sec
__________________
-chris
____
To do is to be!
To be is to do!
Do be do be do!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-27-2011, 08:25 AM
promixr promixr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 859
Default Re: Arturia Spark and Pro Tools 9.0.3

Why do you have both the USB connection from the Spark to your computer AND the MIDI cables hooked up?

MIDI should be handled exclusively by the USB connection. Remember that just like your 128, the Spark *is* a USB MIDI interface.

Also- how long have you had the Spark?
__________________
Eddie Sullivan
Long Island Mac Tech
http://long-island-mac-tech.com
long.island.mac.tech@gmail.com
631 786 3924

Freelance Mac/Pro Tools tech for hire. Metro New York Area.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-27-2011, 11:59 AM
bluskiff bluskiff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: canada
Posts: 6
Default Re: Arturia Spark and Pro Tools 9.0.3

Protools 9.0.3 does not work at all . will open and thats it will not play
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-27-2011, 02:48 PM
papacriss papacriss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tucson Arizona
Posts: 7
Default Re: Arturia Spark and Pro Tools 9.0.3

Actually I'm not running with both cable sets plugged in, I'm try to get it to work with either usb or midi cables plugged in. To use the midi cables i have to use the power adapter, although I have tried it with both midi and usb plugged in as well. Surprisingly that actually worked better than via USB or MIDI alone.

I've had the spark since the 3rd week of May and have run into one issue after another in PT. The PT 9.0.3 update fixed some nasty stability errors which helped but the Spark is still not a team player. I got an email from Arturia a few hours ago. They recognize that they have an issue with Pro Tools 9.0.3 and are working on a new update that should be out next week. Once that happens we'll see what we can do. If it's still an issue i'm thinking it gets returned and we lay out $1700 for this guy. http://www.elektron.se/products/octa...section=sounds Someone had posted this link on the Arturia forum.

Anyway, thanks for the input.
__________________
-chris
____
To do is to be!
To be is to do!
Do be do be do!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-19-2017, 03:17 PM
artful dodger artful dodger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: nottingham
Posts: 5
Default Re: Arturia Spark and Pro Tools 9.0.3

I would echo what Bluskiff comments upon above. Now, the same thing is happening with SPARK le purchased 10 months ago, which unmitigatingly causes PT 9 to crash. Took me 10 hours to realise this was a bug, not me, I am speaking to ARTURIA technical lot who just make 'off the cuff' comments to 'shove-yer' midi 'here and there' and it should work. IT DOES NOT WORK, I am just as, if not more qualified than, brother PAPACRISS. I also bought MINILAB mk 2, and THAT does not sit in PT 9 either. This needs correcting ARTURIA, urgently. The manuals for Spark Le and MINILAB are a celebration word salad, written as if they explain the workings of the universe but in fact they are near vacuous. Was, for example, told to 'look on P72', where it is all explained - nonsense. Lots of poorly conjoined babble. This has to stop - manufacturers copying the style of top manuals (such as Avid Protools) but really listing dozens of tea makers to merely run up the credibility factor whilst giving all but little in the content. This is all consistent of the age we live in, so please get back to honest engineering and plain English. I look forward to ARTURIA having a good mental clearout (?), their products really could be world beaters. Cannot justify buying any more ARTURIA products until I see glowing software control comments in the fora (forums).

Last edited by artful dodger; 10-19-2017 at 03:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Arturia Spark reduces other Track Volumes when not muted. kirstencrom@gmail.com AAX Plug-ins 4 12-16-2013 04:37 AM
ARTURIA SPARK WORKING in PT 11 cstars AAX Plug-ins 0 08-02-2013 10:37 AM
Blue Spark DIGITAL not werking in pro tools? PT10user101 Pro Tools 10 Discussion 0 03-23-2013 01:10 PM
Arturia Spark Problems In Pro Tools 9 Help ! 15th SINE Virtual Instruments 1 10-29-2012 03:13 PM
has anyone tried spark xl to use vst plug-ins in pro-tools graphite 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 10-26-2001 07:41 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com