Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 01-21-2018, 03:30 PM

Default OMF Import Track Offset Problem

Hey All,

So I'm a little new to the Post game. Though I've turned in a successful feature in the past and several short films and a TV doc. I'll preface by saying that I still have much to learn. I'm having an issue with an OMF import and more specifically the Track offset settings, partially grasping the exact purpose, and more importantly executing my import successfully. To this date i haven't received a session that required this. Even from the same organization.

The person who sent me the OMF won't be in the office for a few days and so I am trying to figure this out on my own so that I can get started on dialogue. His accompanying instructions were as follows:

Make sure your Pro Tools settings match the export settings.
Check below for error messages
Start Time is: 09:59:46:03
ProTools Offset value is: 600:22.111
Frame Rate is: 23.976 fps
You can set this in Track Offset Options in Pro Tools

I have to assume that the value 600:22.111 is in minutes/secs
I have input the following settings in the attached Photo.

After importing, everything is way off on the timeline, and in reference to the timecode stamp on the Reference vid. It has shifted the location of my 2 pop which should fall at 9:59:46:03 to 19:59:44:03 (which makes no sense to me)

If I disregard the requested import settings and leave no track offset everything is fine.
Start time of 9:59:46:03
2 pop lands on 9:59:58:00 as it should.
And as far as I can tell all audio is in sync with picture just fine. So therefore all is well?