Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-26-2020, 04:52 PM
dg27's Avatar
dg27 dg27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 331
Default Re: XLR versus TS

Thanks--that's what I was looking for: whether it was electrically the same.

I opted for XLR to XLR for the reason you stated. These will be connected at all times and the TRS worried me because they're in the front (in the rear didn't matter much).

Thanks again.
__________________
Dell Studio XPS 9100; Win 10 Pro 64X, i7 960@3.2GHz, 24 GB RAM, Samsung 840 Pro 512 GB SSD boot, Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB dedicated audio drive, Samsung 860 EVO 1 TB PT archive drive, 2X WD Caviar Black 2 TB storage drives, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 (EVGA), 2X 24" HP Dreamcolor LP2480zx Professional Display

Pro Tools 2020.3, PreSonus 26C, PreSonus Bluetube v2, PreSonus HP4, JBL LS305 monitors, Sennheiser HD 650 headphones
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-26-2020, 04:53 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,315
Default Re: XLR versus TS

No problem
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-26-2020, 05:11 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,333
Default Re: XLR versus TS

The 26c line inputs are accessed via the TRS part of the combo jack. The XLR part is mic level only. Therefore, the appropriate cable from the preamp to the interface should be XLR-TRS.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.4.

Pro Tools HD Native 2020.3, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-26-2020, 05:16 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,315
Default Re: XLR versus TS

Are you sure?

Those look like Neutrik combo connectors which mean they only have 3 pins out of the connector, not 6 -- so whatever you plug in is electrically just the same. Software changes between mic/line/inst levels
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-26-2020, 05:36 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,397
Default Re: XLR versus TS

Off topic:
One pluss for TRS over XLR: on a TRS patchbay output you can insert the jack half way and not break the flow thru the patchbay, like a "tap".
Added: TRS inserts on audio interfaces and mixing desks also work this way. It provides a kinda "secondary output" for the channel that can be very useful, and I think many aren't aware of it.

Last edited by Ben Jenssen; 04-28-2020 at 05:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-26-2020, 06:05 PM
dg27's Avatar
dg27 dg27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 331
Default Re: XLR versus TS

Thanks for the clarification. I changed my order to TRS, which is what I've been using in this context for years.
__________________
Dell Studio XPS 9100; Win 10 Pro 64X, i7 960@3.2GHz, 24 GB RAM, Samsung 840 Pro 512 GB SSD boot, Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB dedicated audio drive, Samsung 860 EVO 1 TB PT archive drive, 2X WD Caviar Black 2 TB storage drives, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 (EVGA), 2X 24" HP Dreamcolor LP2480zx Professional Display

Pro Tools 2020.3, PreSonus 26C, PreSonus Bluetube v2, PreSonus HP4, JBL LS305 monitors, Sennheiser HD 650 headphones

Last edited by dg27; 04-26-2020 at 07:07 PM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-26-2020, 06:40 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,333
Default Re: XLR versus TS

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Are you sure?

Those look like Neutrik combo connectors which mean they only have 3 pins out of the connector, not 6 -- so whatever you plug in is electrically just the same. Software changes between mic/line/inst levels

Yeah. The Neutrik combo jacks have 5 pins. The signal contacts are separate and the ground is common. At the very least, manufacturers will put blocking caps on the TRS portion to block phantom. In this instance, Presonus also added a switchable
pad on the TRS part to bring the input gain into the line level range.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.4.

Pro Tools HD Native 2020.3, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-26-2020, 09:01 PM
dg27's Avatar
dg27 dg27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 331
Default Re: XLR versus TS

Thanks for the useful education!
__________________
Dell Studio XPS 9100; Win 10 Pro 64X, i7 960@3.2GHz, 24 GB RAM, Samsung 840 Pro 512 GB SSD boot, Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB dedicated audio drive, Samsung 860 EVO 1 TB PT archive drive, 2X WD Caviar Black 2 TB storage drives, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 (EVGA), 2X 24" HP Dreamcolor LP2480zx Professional Display

Pro Tools 2020.3, PreSonus 26C, PreSonus Bluetube v2, PreSonus HP4, JBL LS305 monitors, Sennheiser HD 650 headphones
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-27-2020, 04:33 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,315
Default Re: XLR versus TS

Yea, always good to learn something
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-28-2020, 06:23 AM
dg27's Avatar
dg27 dg27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 331
Default Re: XLR versus TS

I had sent a query to PreSonus tech support at the same time I posted here, but knew I wouldn't hear from them right away.

I asked:

When connecting the Studio26c Mic/Inst/Line to the BlueTube (preamp), does it make any difference whether the connection to the 26c is TRS or XLR? I've always used an Unbalanced 1/4" TRS Male to 3-Pin XLR Female Audio Cable. Would it be better to use an XLR M to XLR F Microphone Cable?

They replied:

Yes it does, TRS is for Line Level and XLR is Mic level. You would need to use TRS for this connection.
__________________
Dell Studio XPS 9100; Win 10 Pro 64X, i7 960@3.2GHz, 24 GB RAM, Samsung 840 Pro 512 GB SSD boot, Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB dedicated audio drive, Samsung 860 EVO 1 TB PT archive drive, 2X WD Caviar Black 2 TB storage drives, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 (EVGA), 2X 24" HP Dreamcolor LP2480zx Professional Display

Pro Tools 2020.3, PreSonus 26C, PreSonus Bluetube v2, PreSonus HP4, JBL LS305 monitors, Sennheiser HD 650 headphones

Last edited by dg27; 04-28-2020 at 06:24 AM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
7.3 versus 7.1 on G4? Moz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-02-2008 09:45 AM
Mac G4 versus G5 versus Windows XP progress88 General Discussion 22 09-08-2003 09:45 AM
M-149 versus? DougP General Discussion 15 10-03-2000 06:38 PM
OS 9.0.4 versus 8.6 dodged forgottenn Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-02-2000 07:21 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:17 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com