Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-28-2013, 04:00 PM
kieran.mia kieran.mia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Brisbane / Australia
Posts: 1
Default H/W Buffer Error (pro tools error -6104) Only 1 audio track running.

Hi Guys,

This is my first time posting here, if anyone could be of assistance that would be fantastic!

I recently got myself a new system: 8 core Ivy Bridge i7, 16 GB ram running Mountain Lion. I use Pro Tools 9 and initially it wasn't able to run in mountain lion but I found out that people were able to make it run with the 9.0.6 update, so I did the update and got pro tools to run (Yay :'D)

I then imported a song into pro tools to test my I/O to see if I had audio coming through etc and a split second after I hit play i had the H/W Buffer Error (pro tools error -6104) window pop up. The msg said that I should reduce the amount of tracks and/or plug-ins that I was running, though I only had 1 audio track up with no plug-ins running. Now I don't by any means have an under powered system, and I tried reducing the amount of cores I was using, and I also reduced the max CPU usage down to 65%. Nothing changed. I'm absolutely stumped. If anyone could be of some assistance that would be amazing, this error is the bain of my existence at the moment ):
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-29-2013, 02:39 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,606
Default Re: H/W Buffer Error (pro tools error -6104) Only 1 audio track running.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kieran.mia View Post
Hi Guys,

This is my first time posting here, if anyone could be of assistance that would be fantastic!

I recently got myself a new system: 8 core Ivy Bridge i7, 16 GB ram running Mountain Lion. I use Pro Tools 9 and initially it wasn't able to run in mountain lion but I found out that people were able to make it run with the 9.0.6 update, so I did the update and got pro tools to run (Yay :'D)

I then imported a song into pro tools to test my I/O to see if I had audio coming through etc and a split second after I hit play i had the H/W Buffer Error (pro tools error -6104) window pop up. The msg said that I should reduce the amount of tracks and/or plug-ins that I was running, though I only had 1 audio track up with no plug-ins running. Now I don't by any means have an under powered system, and I tried reducing the amount of cores I was using, and I also reduced the max CPU usage down to 65%. Nothing changed. I'm absolutely stumped. If anyone could be of some assistance that would be amazing, this error is the bain of my existence at the moment ):
Hi,

What interface are you using?

What's the hardware buffer set to?

Have you set it to use 7 cores in the playback engine?

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 11 - CPU usage holding off USB Audio Error -6104 gregoryl Pro Tools 11 144 01-25-2020 10:49 PM
Pro Tools Error (-6104), CPU usage is holding off USB audio xstortionist macOS 13 10-17-2012 11:51 AM
CPU Usage Holding off USB Audio -6104 error Mark Mangini 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 09-11-2010 08:05 AM
USB Audio...HW Buffer Size error 6104 problem? dewald 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 05-15-2008 11:21 AM
cpu usage error with single track eror -6104 Rowdyb 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 05-24-2007 09:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com