Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-16-2017, 11:19 AM
charlzm charlzm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 27
Default Copy/paste time signature changes

I have a very complex piece of music I am trying to arrange. The time signature changes every bar or two.

I have been unable to duplicate or copy/paste the "meter" bar along with measures, tempo and audio.

The first time I tried, I got an error pop-up saying that the conductor was interfering with copying my time signature track but that everything else would be copied and pasted, which it was.

I tried again and this time I can't highlight any additional tracks other than audio. A third attempt resulted in not being able to duplicate anything.

I could copy and paste the audio then laboriously go through and duplicate about 50 bars of time signature changes, but there has to be an easier way to do this.

Last edited by charlzm; 06-16-2017 at 08:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-16-2017, 04:41 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,768
Default Re: Copy/paste time signature changes

Quote:
Originally Posted by charlzm View Post
I have a very complex piece of music I am trying to arrange. The time signature changes every bar or two.

I have been unable to duplicate or copy/paste the "meter" bar along with measures and audio.

The first time I tried, I got an error pop-up saying that the conductor was interfering with copying my time signature track but that everything else would be copied and pasted, which it was.

I tried again and this time I can't highlight any additional tracks other than audio. A third attempt resulted in not being able to duplicate anything.

I could copy and paste the audio then laboriously go through and duplicate about 50 bars of time signature changes, but there has to be an easier way to do this.
sounds like a good Suggestion .. i just checked and you cannot Move / Duplicate / Copy any Meter changes .. only Delete using Option Key

can you do that in another DAW ?? are you coming from a different DAW and expect this behavior ?? curious !!

john
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD -OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 2019.6 last version
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.14.6 - PT 2019.6 Ended here ..
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-16-2017, 08:53 PM
charlzm charlzm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 27
Default Re: Copy/paste time signature changes

I have only worked in Pro Tools for the last ten years. Many of the years were very light use, I'll admit.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-17-2017, 04:36 AM
remute remute is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 310
Default Re: Copy/paste time signature changes

With you mouse select the timeline/meter range you want to copy.
Hold Shift and tap the semicolon key repeatedly to then highlight all of the tracks you want to copy.
Duplicate away.

Quote:
Originally Posted by charlzm View Post
I have a very complex piece of music I am trying to arrange. The time signature changes every bar or two.

I have been unable to duplicate or copy/paste the "meter" bar along with measures, tempo and audio.

The first time I tried, I got an error pop-up saying that the conductor was interfering with copying my time signature track but that everything else would be copied and pasted, which it was.

I tried again and this time I can't highlight any additional tracks other than audio. A third attempt resulted in not being able to duplicate anything.

I could copy and paste the audio then laboriously go through and duplicate about 50 bars of time signature changes, but there has to be an easier way to do this.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-17-2017, 06:56 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,768
Default Re: Copy/paste time signature changes

Quote:
Originally Posted by remute View Post
With you mouse select the timeline/meter range you want to copy.
Hold Shift and tap the semicolon key repeatedly to then highlight all of the tracks you want to copy.
Duplicate away.
hi, what if you ONLY want to copy the Meter ??? not any tracks at all .. i could not get Shift to do anything .. please clarify

john
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD -OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 2019.6 last version
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.14.6 - PT 2019.6 Ended here ..
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-17-2017, 07:21 AM
remute remute is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 310
Default Re: Copy/paste time signature changes

Select the range on the Meter Ruler and either Duplicate or Copy/Paste

Quote:
Originally Posted by john1192 View Post
hi, what if you ONLY want to copy the Meter ??? not any tracks at all .. i could not get Shift to do anything .. please clarify

john
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-17-2017, 08:02 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,768
Default Re: Copy/paste time signature changes

Quote:
Originally Posted by remute View Post
Select the range on the Meter Ruler and either Duplicate or Copy/Paste
got it .. thx for the reply !!
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD -OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 2019.6 last version
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.14.6 - PT 2019.6 Ended here ..
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-18-2017, 10:18 AM
charlzm charlzm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 27
Default Re: Copy/paste time signature changes

Quote:
Originally Posted by remute View Post
With you mouse select the timeline/meter range you want to copy.
Hold Shift and tap the semicolon key repeatedly to then highlight all of the tracks you want to copy.
Duplicate away.
When following these exact directions in Windows, literally nothing pastes at all when I go "downstream" to the place I want to append the data. It works with duplicate, though, but that screws up the structure of the song.

Conductor is off, all tracks are ticks, absolute grid is on.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-18-2017, 10:58 AM
remute remute is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 310
Default Re: Copy/paste time signature changes

When you go "downstream" are you:
Selecting, in the Meter Ruler, the area to copy to
The using Shift+semicolon to also highlight the same area in the tracks below?

Quote:
Originally Posted by charlzm View Post
When following these exact directions in Windows, literally nothing pastes at all when I go "downstream" to the place I want to append the data. It works with duplicate, though, but that screws up the structure of the song.

Conductor is off, all tracks are ticks, absolute grid is on.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-18-2017, 11:09 AM
charlzm charlzm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 27
Default Re: Copy/paste time signature changes

I have found a solution, though it is far from intuitive or simple.

  • Select where I want the repeated section to begin, then select all tracks and rulers, making sure to get everything to the right of this in the session, all the way to the end.
  • Duplicate.
  • Clear everything after the desired section.
Sure would be easier to do a simple copy and paste.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Copy... Paste... Paste... Paste...? accession 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 02-14-2017 04:46 AM
Copy/cut/paste and maintain time ilee Tips & Tricks 6 01-19-2014 03:37 AM
Copy works paste doesnt paste??? SoMedia Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 12 01-04-2011 02:19 PM
Shuffle doesn't shift volumes - copy & paste doesn't copy automation marcnyc Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 03-12-2010 01:46 AM
Time signatures copy and paste? broken81 Tips & Tricks 1 04-18-2008 02:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com