Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-10-2018, 09:43 AM
_JJ_ _JJ_ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 49
Default Re: Installing Pro Tools On Mojave

That's a great machine and I don't think a temporary software conflict should cause you to return it.

As everyone pointed out, Mojave is not yet approved by Avid. However I'm running PT 18.7 (Ultimate) on my MBPro with Mojave 10.14 and it seems fine, at least for my minimal needs.

And we can presume that Avid is working to catch up to the current Mac systems so it's only a matter of (hopefully) a short time before they do.

I arrived at this combination through an OS update so I can't guarantee the current PT installer won't choke on Mojave, but I am able to launch the 18.7 installer and get through the first few steps...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-10-2018, 01:46 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,163
Default Re: Installing Pro Tools On Mojave

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReynaldoPena View Post
pretty sure it came with high sierra 10.13 (which avid pro tool requirements' site also states to not be pro tools ready). looking to somehow speak to avid about mojave compatibility before going back to best buy though. if anyone has another number than the support you have to pay for number, it'd be immensely appreciated.
Even if there was another number to get in touch with Avid it won't help as they stopped all development on PT10 years ago. There will NEVER be a fix for PT10 to work on Mojave. As you've been told you're going to have to move up to a current version of PT. I'd hold on to the Mac you got and get current with PT. You'll be happier in the long run.

Actually there's an option but it's going to require a bit of work. Get a used/refurbished Mac from OWC like a 5,1 cheesegrater desktop or a Mac Mini and monitor screen. And hopefully find a copy of the OSX 10.8.5 or OSX 10.9.5 installer somewheres (try Amazon). With that you'll still be able to run PT10.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mojave ? Riquier Pro Tools 12 5 09-29-2018 12:58 PM
Mojave 10.14 install mspin Pro Tools Software (Mac) 6 09-26-2018 08:27 PM
Mojave Audio MA 200?? H-man 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-19-2006 08:19 AM
Mojave Audio MA-200 fasttraxx Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 07-21-2006 03:59 PM
Mojave Audio mic - anyone tried one? JSM 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 05-08-2003 02:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com