Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-17-2003, 09:41 PM
maxserg maxserg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: St-Roch-de-l\'Achigan, Québec
Posts: 824
Default Best audio interface for a laptop G4/PT.

I guess that Mini Me(Apogee) is supported from ProTools.

But some solution exist for a little bit cheaper interfaces (MAudio?) I need good Mic preamp and AD converters(stereo).

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-18-2003, 12:39 AM
Bambison Bambison is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 222
Default Re: Best audio interface for a laptop G4/PT.

Where did you learn that the MiniMe is supported by PT?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-18-2003, 06:16 PM
maxserg maxserg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: St-Roch-de-l\'Achigan, Québec
Posts: 824
Default Re: Best audio interface for a laptop G4/PT.

That is just a guess because other interfaces "were" supported by Digi!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-18-2003, 07:30 PM
Shawn Simpson Shawn Simpson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 1,948
Default Re: Best audio interface for a laptop G4/PT.

No they weren't. In order to use Pro Tools (LE I'm assuming), you must use Digidesign hardware. There are a number of options for Pro Tools LE. You can find more information about the 002, 002 Rack, and MBox by clicking on these links.

By the way, if you're looking for information for Pro Tools LE, you should go to the LE Forum.

And for what it's worth, I have a MiniMe that I use with my HD3 and it's pretty cool, though not amazing. I do like the MiniDAC though. It sounds good and gives you a volume control.

Good luck with your decision.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-20-2003, 11:02 AM
maxserg maxserg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: St-Roch-de-l\'Achigan, Québec
Posts: 824
Default Re: Best audio interface for a laptop G4/PT.

Thanks for the info. I already use a Mix Plus/DSPFarm system. I sometime do some location recording but it is not practical to bring all this hardware(G4+ exp chassis/882-20. I'm planing to buy a IBook(G4) and an audio interface with or without mic preamps. I have a Millenia HV-3B and a pair of KM-184. I want to find the best software/ardware combo.

I would like to run on OSX too. Maybe Bias Peak should do it or Digital Performer(witch I already have). If Digi doesn't provide cheap(but good) solutions, then I'll switch application/hardware.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-20-2003, 01:04 PM
Paul Turpin Paul Turpin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bellingham, WA, USA
Posts: 352
Default Re: Best audio interface for a laptop G4/PT.

I'm in a similar situation. I've got two rigs running HD at the studio. But the digi interfaces for my laptop don't meet my needs. For one - I want 8 XLR outs. I also want good metering! I'm leaning towards getting a MOTU 896HD. My only hesitation is that I wish it was mLan compatible. The ProTools incompatibility isnt a big deal. I can run DP4 or Logic on the laptop and just export the work to ProTools later If I need. I think Digi would be smart to release a verision of ProTools that runs without hardware - just make it come with an iLok! But they are stubborn I guess. If I don't get and 896HD I might get a Yamaha O1x or even a Yamaha O1v96 with an mLan card. The O1X doesn't have 8 XLR outputs but you could add them via mLan!
__________________
Paul Turpin
Champion St Sound Studios
paul@championstsoundstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-21-2003, 04:22 AM
froyo froyo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 2,863
Default Re: Best audio interface for a laptop G4/PT.

By Paul Turpin
Quote:
I think Digi would be smart to release a verision of ProTools that runs without hardware - just make it come with an iLok! But they are stubborn I guess.
Hello. They are 'stubborn' about this as you say because Pro Tools is the only audio software that has not been and is not being pirated. Every other single piece of software has been, even with copy protection dongles and such. Until they can be 100% sure that this will not happen, I wouldn't think that they would ever change their mind on this.
__________________
froyo
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-24-2003, 07:48 AM
alexk2 alexk2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Coogee Australia
Posts: 7
Default Re: Best audio interface for a laptop G4/PT.

Hi there

There is another good reason why protools runs only with its hardware, it creates a (relatively) stable platform for audio hard disk recording, and a symbiotic relationship between hardware and software that I haven't come across when using other software (cubase, logic and cakewalk). I guess I use a mac for the same reason (don't flame me for this comment please I am sick of mac v pc - its my choice and i live with it ) Basically everything just works the way it should.

Cheers and merry xmas all

Alex Karolis
Binary Studio
Coogee Australia
__________________
amateurs built the ark
professionals built the titanic
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how do i switch sound fro integrated laptop speakers to audio interface?? thanatas007 Pro Tools 10 5 09-06-2012 11:13 AM
Pro Tools M-Audio 9 and Fasttrack Interface Not Working for Asus G73JW laptop EndlessRender Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 04-02-2012 06:20 PM
Audio Interface for ASUS Windows 7 Laptop Darzel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-27-2011 05:26 PM
Protools on Laptop without Audio Interface TCLguy1 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 08-11-2007 01:22 PM
Non-USB MIDI interface for laptop? Chucky 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-23-2004 11:52 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com