Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-09-2020, 03:17 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,239
Default Macintosh moving to ARM

"Apple will announce move to ARM-based Macs later this month, says report
An announcement is reportedly coming at WWDC 2020"

https://www.theverge.com/2020/6/9/21...rqvciNXYTtmzSc

How's are those new Mac Pro 7,1 payments going :-O
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-09-2020, 03:56 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,065
Default Re: Macintosh moving to ARM

Will take years until Pro hardware has it. Everything reads power efficiency so Air models will be first.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-09-2020, 07:05 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,239
Default Re: Macintosh moving to ARM

I agree in part, but do not underestimate the ARM architecture at the high end.

The A14 processor is hexacore supporting at least 3GHz. It's maybe already around MacBook Pro performance levels. And Apple is probably incented to get off Intel, and not put up with never ending processor issues they can't directly fix or manufacturing availability issues. And who knows what other part SKUs, and binning and packaging tricks Apple has in the works.

Supporting a tail of x86-64 processor when all the their products from watch to phone to ... are ARM is going to get expensive and become a boat anchor. So I expect Apple will be incented to crank out workstation class silicon fairly fast. And a lot may be possible there with chip packaging, cooling, repositioning of silicon design components, etc. Going to be fascinating to see what they do.

I hope Avid somehow manages to handle this transition well.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 06-09-2020 at 08:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-09-2020, 09:15 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,065
Default Re: Macintosh moving to ARM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Going to be fascinating to see what they do.
You got that right
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-10-2020, 05:04 AM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,970
Default Re: Macintosh moving to ARM

“According to today's report, though, Apple plans to transition its entire line, from MacBooks to the Mac Pro—albeit not all at once. The report doesn't indicate which machines will hit the market first, only that Apple plans to bring this change to all Macs at some point.”

https://arstechnica.com/gadgets/2020...-at-wwdc-2020/
__________________
Pro Tools 2020.5 and 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 5 Pro - Win10 64 Pro – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads & 433830U Docks – Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-10-2020, 05:12 AM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,970
Default Re: Macintosh moving to ARM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
.... And Apple is probably incented to get off Intel....
"Apple to reveal plans for using its own chips in Macs at WWDC, report says

The new chips, based on those that have powered iPhones and iPad for years, could reportedly lead to thinner, lighter Mac laptops."


https://www.cnet.com/news/apple-to-r...c-report-says/
__________________
Pro Tools 2020.5 and 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 5 Pro - Win10 64 Pro – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads & 433830U Docks – Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-10-2020, 08:25 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,239
Default Re: Macintosh moving to ARM

Oh yes, it is just a matter of timing. Intel is clearly dead to Apple, and may well have deserved that as a supplier. The amazing thing with modern silicon is how much stuff can be shared and repackaged. All those different Intel processors... many are the same actual underlying silicon, with clever stuff done to play with yield, performance binning and packaging options. And Apple with TSMC as a partner has the technical skills and volumes to do interesting stuff here.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-19-2020, 04:28 PM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,403
Default Re: Macintosh moving to ARM

Get ready to see lots of old software left behind... not sure if this will be as drastic of a change as PPC - intel transition was, but my guess is a lot of software that hasn’t been updated for a while will not make it onto the new hardware
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-21-2020, 11:53 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,239
Default Re: Macintosh moving to ARM

WWDC starts tomorrow. Monday 22. https://developer.apple.com/wwdc20

This article claims the first Mac models to feature ARM CPUs will be a next-generation 13.3-inch MacBook Pro and a new redesigned 24-inch iMac... as soon as Q4 this year.
https://9to5mac.com/2020/06/21/kuo-1...l-imac-launch/

I can guess which one of my favorite two DAWs will have support on day one
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-22-2020, 12:05 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,065
Default Re: Macintosh moving to ARM

2 years transition, UB & Rosetta like the last time
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
003 Macintosh Audio JoeyBoomBox 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 06-21-2007 10:41 PM
macintosh processors... pinstudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-10-2005 12:37 PM
macintosh processors... pinstudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 09-10-2005 10:14 AM
MacIntosh Plus??? j old school 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 08-29-2002 07:57 AM
Macintosh USB Audio In N9YTY Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 02-13-2001 08:21 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com