Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-05-2012, 03:08 PM
thanatas007 thanatas007 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: cologne
Posts: 3
Default how do i switch sound fro integrated laptop speakers to audio interface??

Hello I'm having trouble with my audio interface.

i can't switch the sound from integrated laptop speakers to the audio interface- where my speakers and my headphones are jacked in.

i tried I/O set up and stuff but nothing worked

i got m audio fast track pro and pro tools 10
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-05-2012, 03:16 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,248
Default Re: how do i switch sound fro integrated laptop speakers to audio interface??

Quote:
Originally Posted by thanatas007 View Post
Hello I'm having trouble with my audio interface.

i can't switch the sound from integrated laptop speakers to the audio interface- where my speakers and my headphones are jacked in.

i tried I/O set up and stuff but nothing worked

i got m audio fast track pro and pro tools 10
In Pro Tools go to Setup>Playback Engine - and select the appropriate interface as the playback engine, or hold down the 'N' key while starting up Pro Tools and select the engine when prompted.

If you have any further questions you really need to provide some/any level of useful information, read the "Help us help You - Read this before posting" link above. Useful info includes the type of Computer, OS version, Pro Tools version, interface model, etc. etc.

Darryl
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-05-2012, 06:48 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,910
Default Re: how do i switch sound fro integrated laptop speakers to audio interface??

As Darryl said, you have provided very little information so I will ask the obvious question;

Have you installed the latest compatible drivers for your audio interface?
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-06-2012, 08:25 AM
thanatas007 thanatas007 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: cologne
Posts: 3
Thumbs up Re: how do i switch sound fro integrated laptop speakers to audio interface??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
In Pro Tools go to Setup>Playback Engine - and select the appropriate interface as the playback engine, or hold down the 'N' key while starting up Pro Tools and select the engine when prompted.

If you have any further questions you really need to provide some/any level of useful information, read the "Help us help You - Read this before posting" link above. Useful info includes the type of Computer, OS version, Pro Tools version, interface model, etc. etc.

Darryl

that was it . now its working! thanx man
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-06-2012, 10:41 AM
barlevy barlevy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Israel
Posts: 132
Default Re: how do i switch sound fro integrated laptop speakers to audio interface??

If you're on a MAC just press ALT+speaker icon on top...and magic...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-06-2012, 11:13 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,248
Default Re: how do i switch sound fro integrated laptop speakers to audio interface??

Quote:
Originally Posted by barlevy View Post
If you're on a MAC just press ALT+speaker icon on top...and magic...
Ah no. He was not asking how to configure core audio/systems sounds, he was asking how to get Pro Tools to use the interface.

Darryl
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
problem with sound output to interface/external speakers jessiful macOS 8 04-24-2013 01:34 PM
Audio out re-routes to laptop speakers? Earfatigue macOS 2 09-08-2011 10:19 AM
New Laptop Question - Integrated GFX or Discreet GFX??? stev 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-05-2010 08:33 AM
Is there a way to switch sound cards in a laptop???? Alexrkstr 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-28-2007 01:24 AM
Looking for audio switch to share speakers.... superpenguin79 General Discussion 7 08-13-2006 01:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com