Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-23-2011, 10:05 AM
anackman's Avatar
anackman anackman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 191
Default PT 9.0.5 - so unstable

Guys,

I've been getting so many errors over the last few weeks with Lion 10.7.1 and PT9.0.5. I get the "buffer engine" error, the underflow error, and of course the awful play/pause thing. My workflow is so interrupted that it ends up taking hours to do small things.

Am the only one? I really hope not. I have a kickass i7 MacBook pro with 8GB ram. it's very powerful, but as soon as I open up two stereo tracks both with an instrument plug-in like Xpand or Boom, my computer can't handle it and I get all the PT errors.

Now Avid wants us all to play $300 to upgrade to PT 10 when they haven't even made PT 9 stable with Lion. I've only had PT9 for 3 months.
__________________
10.11 OSX El Capitan
PT 12.4
Mac Pro Quad Core (Studio) + Mac Mini (Home)
UAD Apollo Duo
UAD Satellite Quad
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-23-2011, 02:54 PM
Bill_Palmer Bill_Palmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Gold Coast - QLD, Australia
Posts: 68
Default Re: PT 9.0.5 - so unstable

9.0.5 is a hoax. If possible, roll-back to 9.0.2 or 0.3
Do a search here, plenty of people had had drama with that release and it doesn't seem to matter whether it's OSX or W7 platforms. Bottom line, stay away from it.

Avid has no business putting out such unstable releases and it's hard to reconcile why exactly they'd do this. I could understand if the bugs were limited to Windows users alone but it seems to be cross platform so that suggests incompetence more than anything else.

Engineered to fail so you'll jump at the next "paid upgrade?" That thought has crossed my mind :)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-23-2011, 03:01 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,572
Default Re: PT 9.0.5 - so unstable

Quote:
Originally Posted by anackman View Post
Guys,

I've been getting so many errors over the last few weeks with Lion 10.7.1 and PT9.0.5. I get the "buffer engine" error, the underflow error, and of course the awful play/pause thing. My workflow is so interrupted that it ends up taking hours to do small things.

Am the only one? I really hope not. I have a kickass i7 MacBook pro with 8GB ram. it's very powerful, but as soon as I open up two stereo tracks both with an instrument plug-in like Xpand or Boom, my computer can't handle it and I get all the PT errors.

Now Avid wants us all to play $300 to upgrade to PT 10 when they haven't even made PT 9 stable with Lion. I've only had PT9 for 3 months.
Hi,

Have you got your processors for rtas playback set to an odd amount?



Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-23-2011, 07:09 PM
anackman's Avatar
anackman anackman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 191
Default Re: PT 9.0.5 - so unstable

Quote:
Hi,

Have you got your processors for rtas playback set to an odd amount?
I've got them set at max -1 (so 3 processors out of 4 in the buffer h/w engine dialog). Is there another setting you're referring to?

I get the underflow error and the j/w buffer engine error all the time, even when very few plug-ins are being used. I do sometimes use multiple instrument/midi channels with Xpand, Boom, etc on them, but I would think my i7 and 8GB ram could handle this.
__________________
10.11 OSX El Capitan
PT 12.4
Mac Pro Quad Core (Studio) + Mac Mini (Home)
UAD Apollo Duo
UAD Satellite Quad
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-24-2011, 01:09 PM
pinnacle pinnacle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: sydney
Posts: 204
Default Re: PT 9.0.5 - so unstable

I have lion 10.7.1 with 9.0.5 and use approx 10 instrument plug ins plus effects and so far the only problem I get is the play pause thing so I change buffer size and it fixes it for 20 minutes. Also yesterday had a step input issue. When inputting 1 bar step it was making 1.5 bars so had to trash new session and start new one. Apart form that seems ok but not using any interface etc yet so we'll have to see if more issues occur when I do.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why is PT so unstable for me? typhy macOS 1 07-31-2012 12:55 PM
Why is PT 9 so unstable? tblythe.sound macOS 44 05-07-2011 02:19 PM
Unstable HDK_Ent 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 27 03-11-2010 09:02 PM
AAF unstable? jackisdead Post - Surround - Video 2 08-26-2008 03:01 PM
Mac? Unstable? link 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 05-05-2000 03:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com