Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-13-2006, 11:14 PM
newburyohio newburyohio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: California
Posts: 9
Default projectmix i/o

Anyone else having trouble getting midi external instruments working? I can get them to play properly but have tried a drum machine and synth and midi input is intermittent. When I repeatedly play a note on the synth I can watch the activity meter and it skips about every third note. In "test setup" on AMS the send to the synth triangle lights up but the return line to PM does not. Any suggestions?
__________________
G5 1.8 revA - 2.5 gig ram - 10.4.5
http://mikesgig.com/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-22-2006, 02:21 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,762
Default Re: projectmix i/o

What MIDI interface are you using? What model of synth?

Any more info you can provide about how this is all hooked up and any testing you've done would be helpful.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-24-2006, 01:08 PM
newburyohio newburyohio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: California
Posts: 9
Default Re: projectmix i/o

Thanks -
Roland R-70 and Kawai Z1000.

I have tried every possible permutation. All have the same result. I can play midi to the devices but cannot record reliably.
__________________
G5 1.8 revA - 2.5 gig ram - 10.4.5
http://mikesgig.com/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-24-2006, 01:10 PM
newburyohio newburyohio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: California
Posts: 9
Default Re: projectmix i/o

The only midi interface is the PM I/O.
__________________
G5 1.8 revA - 2.5 gig ram - 10.4.5
http://mikesgig.com/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-03-2006, 03:44 PM
newburyohio newburyohio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: California
Posts: 9
Default Re: projectmix i/o

Fixed the problem!!!

I went and bought a midisport 4x4, plugged in my gear, setup midi studio and everything works like it should. The midi in/out on the PM does not want to work properly, or I don't know how to set it up. Never did hear back from tech support which is the frustrating part. Maybe one day they will tell me how to make it work. I emailed both digi and m. They did not respond and thats when I went to the DUC. I wish I could have made it work without spending more money but I figure I will need the added ports. So far I am liking the sound quality and all other functions appear to work as needed.

I discovered that I can use the PM to playback Itunes. Feeds through the firewire cable. Control it with the master volume knob. Also you can use the audio inputs even when Protools is not on, but not the sliders.
__________________
G5 1.8 revA - 2.5 gig ram - 10.4.5
http://mikesgig.com/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-15-2006, 10:56 PM
newburyohio newburyohio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: California
Posts: 9
Default Re: projectmix i/o

I still wonder if one day tech support will respond to my email of March 21. But what does it matter?
__________________
G5 1.8 revA - 2.5 gig ram - 10.4.5
http://mikesgig.com/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-16-2006, 10:26 AM
bassntreble bassntreble is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 448
Default Re: projectmix i/o

wow....i've been finding digidesign and m-audio very disappointing as of late. i've been using digi products for over 10 years and have done numerous installations. for as much as PT has improved over the last year, the gains are still too little to late i think sometimes.

I wanted to buy a project mix this summer, but after doing a little research, i guess it's not really the interface i had anticipated it was going to be.

with dp5's editing features, it looks like a great alternative to PT right now. it's a contender...hopefully it'll have less efficiency issues than PT. If it did, i think i'd jump.

__________________
G5 1.8X2/3gigRAM/Mbox/7.4 (retired)
MBP C2D 2.4/4GigRAM/Mbox/8.0.1
iMac i7 3.4/16GigRAM/10.0.1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Projectmix gig bag MaxV Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 01-05-2013 08:06 PM
Projectmix help Nightworker Pro Tools 9 19 08-03-2011 03:32 PM
ProjectMix with PT9 skewave Pro Tools 9 0 11-20-2010 03:09 PM
Projectmix I/O 007tubarunner Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 04-18-2008 12:05 PM
ProjectMix + Mac Pro joemusic Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 12-21-2006 08:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com