Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-01-2020, 04:55 AM
mikes-music mikes-music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 17
Default Talkback didn't work?! Internal AND external!

Hi!

For 5 days ago my talkback from my D-Control didn't work. For 2 years it was ok - it works without any problems.

But now: Nothing!

Today I want to use an external Mic on te seperate connectors. But there's the same: No talkback - no signal on headphone or in the Cue-Channels...

Maybe the X-Mon is broken? Or anyone have an idea to fix it?

Kind regards from germany
Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-01-2020, 10:14 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,722
Default Re: Talkback didn't work?! Internal AND external!

Testing the switch would be the first step(if those switches get a ton of use, they can wear out). Personally, I got sick of reaching for a talkback switch and sick of "producers" that would always start talking before I reached it(or would forget to push the button I gave them), so I automated the whole process. SoundRadix has a free plugin called Mute-o-Matic. Put the plugin on an AUX track, set the AUX track input to one of your preamp outputs and plug in any mic that can sit nearby. When you roll transport(to play or record), the plugin mutes the mic. When you stop, the mic is on for talkback.

I actually ran 4 instances with mics in CR(boundary mic on the desktop), drum room(boundary mic on the ceiling), Main room(boundary mic on the wall) and producer's desk(boundary mic on that desktop). Its also easy to insert compressors to control levels, or EQ to increase intelligibility. I know some that will cringe at the idea of talkback being open(non-switched), but everyone got so used to it that it was never an issue here
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-01-2020, 04:42 PM
Led Led is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 315
Default Re: Talkback didn't work?! Internal AND external!

checked all the obvious stuff - internal/external selector switch...talkback levels pot...? I know it's obvious..
__________________
Andy Evans
Sound Designer/Composer/Mixer
Melbourne, Australia
www.mud.net.au
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-02-2020, 06:26 AM
mikes-music mikes-music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 17
Default Re: Talkback didn't work?! Internal AND external!

Ok - the level and the routing is alright. The config must be fine.

But nothing...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-02-2020, 06:27 AM
mikes-music mikes-music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 17
Default Re: Talkback didn't work?! Internal AND external!

Take a look:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 05282046-F2FE-439A-A44F-49CCE48FC786.jpg (62.9 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-02-2020, 06:18 PM
Led Led is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 315
Default Re: Talkback didn't work?! Internal AND external!

I have a D-Command and by the talkback level there are 2 switches for selecting internal and external talkback..looks different on the D-Control.
Have you tried setting it to auto talkback and seeing if that work and the talkback button lights up when the transport is stopped? Might show if the problem is the talkback switch?
__________________
Andy Evans
Sound Designer/Composer/Mixer
Melbourne, Australia
www.mud.net.au
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-03-2020, 03:29 AM
mikes-music mikes-music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 17
Default Re: Talkback didn't work?! Internal AND external!

Yes, I know that „auto-talkback“ Mode.
I tried that for manytimes in the past - it works.

But no also that function didn’t works!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-05-2020, 11:05 PM
Led Led is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 315
Default Re: Talkback didn't work?! Internal AND external!

I'm a bit out of ideas...there's other things you could try...try a different control cable between the control and the xmon..if other features on the xmon like cue sends are working it;s probably not that.... you could try a reset on the D Control, maybe save all your preferences as a session first if you have a lot you've changed from the factory setup..
It sounds like it might be the switch as albee suggested...
Sorry can't help more. It;s such a drag when things that work reliably suddenly don't..
good luck
__________________
Andy Evans
Sound Designer/Composer/Mixer
Melbourne, Australia
www.mud.net.au
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-08-2020, 04:46 PM
Led Led is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 315
Default Re: Talkback didn't work?! Internal AND external!

If it is your switch, i came across a new one on ebay...
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/1x-AVID-...frcectupt=true
__________________
Andy Evans
Sound Designer/Composer/Mixer
Melbourne, Australia
www.mud.net.au
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hum in MBox inputs... Hum Eliminator didn't work, blnced cables didn't... dl0banter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 02-17-2011 07:55 PM
Internal Talkback mic how to set it up Amr Mahmoud ICON & C|24 2 11-06-2008 04:43 PM
D-Command (Internal Talkback) Craig Timmis ICON & C|24 8 12-04-2007 01:09 AM
External talkback disables internal? soundguydave ICON & C|24 1 03-21-2006 12:44 PM
Live band didn't record to PT internal metronome... now what? Burton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 12-19-2001 12:23 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com