Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-13-2015, 07:28 AM
HuddUni HuddUni is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2
Default Compatible Pro Tools 12 Interfaces [solved]

Hi there,

I'm currently running Pro Tools 10 with a Digidesign 192 and 96 interface.

Do these interfaces work with Pro Tools 12? And if not can anyone suggest a similiar interface with at least 16 ADATs and a couple of analogue inputs

Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-13-2015, 08:37 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,735
Default Re: Compatible Pro Tools 12 Interfaces

AFAIK, there has been no change regarding interfaces.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-13-2015, 08:55 AM
jasonthurley's Avatar
jasonthurley jasonthurley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New York NY
Posts: 1,451
Default Re: Compatible Pro Tools 12 Interfaces

I thought I heard that as of PT11 that the old Blue I/O's were no longer supported and needed to be updated to the purple HD boxes???

No?

Id assume that carries over to 12?

Or is this another "Not supported by Avid" anymore thing
__________________
-Systems Engineer, Systems and Sound Designer, Recording and Mixing Engineer
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-13-2015, 09:17 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Compatible Pro Tools 12 Interfaces

Quote:
Originally Posted by HuddUni View Post
Hi there,

I'm currently running Pro Tools 10 with a Digidesign 192 and 96 interface.

Do these interfaces work with Pro Tools 12? And if not can anyone suggest a similiar interface with at least 16 ADATs and a couple of analogue inputs

Cheers!
the interfaces work but if you're using old HD cards those will not work
you'll need a HDN or HDX card
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-13-2015, 09:32 AM
bashville bashville is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 1,150
Default Re: Compatible Pro Tools 12 Interfaces

Yes, blue Digi 192 and 96 boxes "not supported" but still work. My 192 is working fine in PT12. But the old TDM core cards definitely no longer work, you need an HD-Native or HDX card.
__________________
HD Ultimate (HD Native), PT2019.12, OWC PCI-ext. TB2, Blue 192, 2018 MacBook Pro, 32 Gig, Mojave 10.14.6
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-14-2015, 01:20 AM
HuddUni HuddUni is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2
Default Re: Compatible Pro Tools 12 Interfaces

Thanks for the help everyone!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-14-2015, 02:03 PM
jasonthurley's Avatar
jasonthurley jasonthurley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New York NY
Posts: 1,451
Default Re: Compatible Pro Tools 12 Interfaces [solved]

Yup, I figured as much.

However the reason I was told I needed to upgrade is because the Blues are no longer available for support plans (hardware) and that is something as a large production company, we definitely need.
__________________
-Systems Engineer, Systems and Sound Designer, Recording and Mixing Engineer
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-15-2015, 10:10 AM
Javier90mfc Javier90mfc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: City
Posts: 12
Default Setting up pro tools 12

I want to buy pro tools 12 but I have no prior experience with pro tools or the hardware it's compatible with. Right now I have a: Mac G5, 24 channel trident board, and a digidesign 192.

Is pro tools 12 compatible with the digidesign 192? And how Would I go about figuring out how to wire everything? Noob question,
I know, but any help Would be appreciated and thank tou in advanced
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-15-2015, 11:00 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,336
Default Re: Setting up pro tools 12

Welcome to the PT community.

Please read the following KB Article for a list of compatible computers, hardware and software.

Pro Tools 12 System Requirements

If you have any further questions, please post them here and we will try to get you the answers you need.
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-15-2015, 11:16 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,183
Default Re: Setting up pro tools 12

The 192 interface is only compatible with the HD version of Pro Tools.

Pro Tools 12 will not run on a G5.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro tools 10 is compatible with multiple audio interfaces? elsanto Pro Tools 10 6 01-17-2015 11:48 AM
Interfaces compatible with PT 10 / 11 TruestPain FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 3 04-28-2013 03:10 PM
compatible interfaces? K2warcrew 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-10-2007 10:53 PM
Compatible Interfaces JRainone ICON & C|24 0 05-31-2003 03:42 PM
PRO TOOLS COMPATIBLE INTERFACES boya Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 06-21-2002 12:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com