Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-17-2008, 11:43 PM
JWalkerPostAudio JWalkerPostAudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 439
Default My first complaint about PT 8 is...

I like the new stuff digi made, very slick. But, I have one issue out of the box that I noticed almost immediately:

Shift+scroll wheel is way slow!

Is it just me? I remember navigating a lot faster across my timeline with PT 7. Is there any way to adjust the sensitivity?

-Justin
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-17-2008, 11:51 PM
Matt Whritenour Matt Whritenour is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Posts: 2,031
Default Re: My first complaint about PT 8 is...

I've been annoyed since PT 7 when they added all the right click menu's in. Slow's down my work flow. I used to hold control or Alt and left or right click things to do different commands and now when I try to do a lot of this stuff I have to right click and choose from the drop down menu which is a lot slower. I do like how they fixed the record enable button. In PT 6 it used to be just a Circle that you would click and it would turn red, then I believe in 6.4 they changed it to a box with an R in it which was really cheesy. I haven't tried Shift + scroll wheel yet.
__________________
www.klarityrecordingstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-18-2008, 12:21 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,875
Default Re: My first complaint about PT 8 is...

One huge problem:

Upon instantiation PT 8 doesn’t remember the shutdown screen configuration like PT 7 did. It keeps trying to open on the far left monitor (I have 3 and the far left is for plugs). PT 8 opens in the maximize setting and won’t automatically stretch itself across the two monitors I use for edit and mix. If there is a way to get start-up screen memory please let me know.

The startup splash screen opens in the correct monitor (the primary one) but the program doesn’t.

Thanks so much,

Tom
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-18-2008, 12:34 AM
mano111 mano111 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,267
Default Re: My first complaint about PT 8 is...

This is happened in 7.4 as well.
Have you tried setting the windows like you want and then closing PT using Alt+F4?
this worked for me in 7.4
__________________
i7 2600K @ 4.4GHZ -- Intel DP67BG B3 -- 8GB DDR3 1600 -- Crucial SSD
PTLE 8.0.4cs2 -- DIGI 003R -- DV toolkit -- Waves 9
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-18-2008, 12:45 AM
Matt Whritenour Matt Whritenour is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Posts: 2,031
Default Re: My first complaint about PT 8 is...

Quote:
Originally Posted by JWalkerPostAudio View Post
Is it just me? I remember navigating a lot faster across my timeline with PT 7. Is there any way to adjust the sensitivity?

-Justin

I just tested this out, and it is moving very slow for me also, I already know it's going to piss me off when using Sound Replacer.
__________________
www.klarityrecordingstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-18-2008, 01:05 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,875
Default Re: My first complaint about PT 8 is...

Quote:
Originally Posted by mano111 View Post
This is happened in 7.4 as well.
Have you tried setting the windows like you want and then closing PT using Alt+F4?
this worked for me in 7.4

Thanks!! That did it, kind of odd but that did it, at least for now.

It seems now I can try to understand why I'm using so much more cpu power (about 20%) than in 7.4 on the same session... At least it seems to be stable so far.

Thanks again,

Tom
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-18-2008, 03:10 AM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,535
Default Re: My first complaint about PT 8 is...

Quote:
Originally Posted by JWalkerPostAudio View Post
I like the new stuff digi made, very slick. But, I have one issue out of the box that I noticed almost immediately:

Shift+scroll wheel is way slow!

Is it just me? I remember navigating a lot faster across my timeline with PT 7. Is there any way to adjust the sensitivity?

-Justin

I agree...way to slow. You might even notice the new fine control to make it even slower. Shift+Win

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-18-2008, 03:13 AM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,535
Default Re: My first complaint about PT 8 is...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Whritenour View Post
I've been annoyed since PT 7 when they added all the right click menu's in. Slow's down my work flow.
I am very much anti right click anything. That was a computer trend that started in the 90's and needs to stay there. Apple decides to create a new two button mouse and Digi goes right click crazy. Keep that old and dated computer trend forgotten in the 90's and advance with something new. Shortcut keys will always be faster.

shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-18-2008, 06:17 AM
AlexLakis AlexLakis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,233
Default Re: My first complaint about PT 8 is...

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
It seems now I can try to understand why I'm using so much more cpu power (about 20%) than in 7.4 on the same session... At least it seems to be stable so far.


I was hoping that since they "removed the GUI from the rest of the code" that it would result in faster operation and increased stability. It would seem that, from your experiences so far, the former maybe have been a false hope...hope the second isn't.

Shane, how's your CPU load?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-18-2008, 10:20 AM
Matt Whritenour Matt Whritenour is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Posts: 2,031
Default Re: My first complaint about PT 8 is...

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
It seems now I can try to understand why I'm using so much more cpu power (about 20%) than in 7.4 on the same session...
check out this thread by Shane
http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread.php?t=233805

Does the session you open have Dverb on it? with the new Dverb having a chorus feature added it uses up more CPU.
__________________
www.klarityrecordingstudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Complaint about my experience... TheatreWeasel General Discussion 14 10-17-2012 09:00 AM
A complaint sbag 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 07-18-2010 07:50 PM
My first PT 8 complaint is... JWalkerPostAudio Post - Surround - Video 9 12-24-2008 03:44 PM
Another WUP complaint thread Tim R. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 52 04-14-2006 07:50 AM
One little free complaint uno1234 General Discussion 3 10-27-2000 12:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com