Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 05-11-2016, 08:53 AM

Default Bounced file sounds bad

Hi...I'm totally new to PT, so forgive my ignorance. I have PT 12.5 and am running Windows 10. My mix sounds great when I'm in PT. After I bounce to disk in wav and mp3 format, the resulting files sound terrible. I've tried different players on my computer and they all sound the same. When I bring the bounced file back into PT, it sounds just like it's supposed to.

I found a similar thread here
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t...ghlight=bounce

He said it had something to do with his drivers. Does PT not use some drivers on a computer that a music player may use? I have a Sound Blaster Audigy FX sound card.

Thanks for any suggestions.
Old 05-11-2016, 09:58 AM

Default Re: Bounced file sounds bad

People cannot guess what "sounds bad" means to you.

Or how you are bouncing with what exact parameters. (Screenshots help)

Or what monitors/headphones you are monitoring on or what exact players you are comparing to and how you have them set up (e.g. Any EQ or compression settings disabled).

Be careful with playback level matching, A/B these things to get the same heard levels before making any conclusion.
Old 05-11-2016, 10:00 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gillis View Post
Hi...I'm totally new to PT, so forgive my ignorance. I have PT 12.5 and am running Windows 10. My mix sounds great when I'm in PT. After I bounce to disk in wav and mp3 format, the resulting files sound terrible. I've tried different players on my computer and they all sound the same. When I bring the bounced file back into PT, it sounds just like it's supposed to.

I found a similar thread here
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t...ghlight=bounce